1986 Chevrolet Celebrity Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity SW 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

A tank that gets you there

Faults:

Oil Leaks, slow response time, sucks up lots of gas, brake line on front driver side went out, bumper mushed in a bit, universal joint going out/rattles on driver front.

General Comments:

Car gets you from point a to point b, medium reliable, you can hit things with it (Trash cans, Mailboxes, exc...) another words a solid tank, put some subs and tint the windows and its all good, the back seat is good for... having fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity Estate Station Wagon V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

A very expensive to maintain average old car; get an import

Faults:

Replaced the radiator at 60,000 miles.

Replaced the alternator at 78,000 miles.

I had the belts, hoses, water pump, and gasket replaced at 82,000 miles.

The front brake pads went at 82,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has a nice quilted interior and runs well when it is not in the shop. But the repairs I've had to do on it have exceeded the worth of the car.

Also, it gets lousy mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

6th Jan 2012, 23:42

Well geez, while that's a bit off the top, the car was old when you got it. I've had 3 Celebs and a Ciera, that have lasted me anywhere from 196,000 to 348,000 miles, without any real problems, other than the occasional worn out part.

Buy and import? I had a Celica, ate parts on a regular basis, and our '90 Camry never wanted to run right if it was damp out, and finally went up in flames at 138,000. The Hyundais and our friends' Hondas have had their issues, and in the end were just as expensive to maintain.

7th Jan 2012, 14:19

Great cars - the reviewer's experience is not typical. Also, he hasn't really explained what he means by 'always in the shop', having listed only one or two minor repairs that would be normal for any older car, import or native.

13th Jun 2012, 01:37

Probably expensive due to a shop charging labor to do all the work. Those parts are typical maintenance items, especially for a car this age, and hardly costs a thing.

4th Aug 2012, 22:23

Belts & hoses OK... a RADIATOR and ALTERNATOR are not "maintenance"; they're repairs because they BROKE... PREMATURELY at those mileages.

6th Aug 2012, 12:38

The Celebrity, like all GM cars of the 80's, was an incredibly rugged and reliable car. My late brother had one and it never had a single repair. One of my best friends traded his reliable American car for a used Camry with 80,000 miles on it. In three months the Camry's transaxle went out and the shop told him the car was not worth repairing. He bought an old Celebrity wagon for $250 that had over 200,000 miles on it, and drove it for several more years with no problems. I'd never, ever recommend any import. We had horrible experience with ours.

1986 Chevrolet Celebrity Eurosport wagon 2.8 litre V6 FI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 litre V6 FI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

You will never go wrong with this wagon, just get the 2.8 model

Faults:

Well, The starter will need to be replaced, but is the original, so I am happy it will not be expensive to replace.

The power window switches also need replacing, but the driver door window still works thankfully.

The front seat belts are locked in place and might need to be undone, or replaced, with another set.

When I had purchased the car only a week ago, I went through all the repair receipts, and shows the car went through mufflers, and distributors within the past 4 years.

General Comments:

I had purchased the car for only 300 dollars from a parts dealer, next to where I work as a parts driver. The manager had purchased the car from the no.2 owner, who had kept all the repair notes, therefore keeping me alerted to the repairs it needed. The wagon was kept up, cause it was a delivery car, and if it broke down, there was no way to work. And the previous owner had decided to sell it to me, cause I near begged for it. :)

The first owner's had the car garage kept, and covered, till 1991, when it was sold, and only had 44 thou on it.

I had a 85 Eurosport wagon back in 95, both doors were badly rusted and the header panel was bad from a previous accidents. But I loved it till water pump went and destroyed the motor on way home from church, about 25 miles away, and vowed to get another.

The car is a favorite of mine, and I am always impressed with the power of the V6, and love the muffler rumble. In the summer, I would drive with the wing windows open to hear it better.

The color is white with the black grill, accents, and the early styled wheels, the x11 Citation style, tho I might go to the 5 spoke smooth style of the 87 up Euro's, so if anyone has a set for sale, let me know? And of course, id love to have the white letter tires as well, just loved that look.

The car will be slowly modified, turned into a Eurosport sedan delivery van, with painted rear windows, and new paint, called Harlequin, where the color change is vivid, between violet, green, blue, then red.

A possible 3.1 or 3.5 liter v6 with a supercharger is planned after the original motor goes, but with the care the car had gotten during its life, that will be a long time yet. And with the performance rumble of the 2.8, I was thinking of running no mufflers, and cat converters, it is legal to do so if the car runs clean without muffs, and just pipes, so I will let you know.

The interior is the split 60/40 deep cloth buckets, driver power, windows, and locks, tho the trouble with the switches and locks will be fixed. No car I had driven in, except the 85 I had, is more comfortable for a cruise, or long drive.

Overall, the car is excellent, and very good all around car for summer and winter, and after this wagon is customized, I will get another, all stock, to tinker with.

Any comments or emails? let me know.

I am also interested in finding the history of the Euro line for my site, which I will have Euro's on.

Thank you for your time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

13th Sep 2003, 10:29

I have an '87 Celebrity too, and I thought I would mention that you may be able to fix your stuck seat belts automatic withdrawal problem. Use a small screw driver or pocket knife to reverse the ratchet mechanism. Use a flash light. Just turn the reel to remove the jam in the ratchet.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews