2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 3 of 7

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Never buy again, junk, engine good however

Faults:

Had the cloth seat on drivers side replaced three times. It is still bunching and wrinkled.

I had the door liners replaced twice.

Seat belt button that holds the seat belt lock front slider fell off. I used CRAZY GLUE to repair it. Fine now.

Front struts went at 61,000 miles and so did front bushings. Cost 700 to repair with State tax.

Fan rattles when placed on selector 2 or higher.

General Comments:

Very average basic transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2009

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired24200 kilometres
Most recent distance39100 kilometres

Summary:

Good, just like it!

Faults:

Nothing gone wrong, the only exception was the front suspension bushings. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Car is a four-door base model with manual transmission. 2006 model, got it used in 2008. Now in 2009 Chevrolet is offering the Cobalt XFE, a base model with even better fuel economy than my 2006.

Good service from my local GM of Canada dealership. Went for an oil change, for the suspension bushings, also they added some extra lubrication somewhere on the gear shift linkage, making it smoother.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2009

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cobalt

Summary:

Sucks

Faults:

About 5 month ago started hearing a loud thumping noise in the front end, and when we would go over a bump, it sounded like the whole car was bottoming out. Finally was able to get into the garage and have it looked at. The repair guy said it was the lower control arms and that it would cost about $600.00 to replace. We went ahead and did it. When I went to pick up my car, the repair guy showed me the lower control arms and one of the bushings fell completely out when he removed it from the car, and the other one was about ready to fall out. He told me that I was lucky because if it would have happened while driving on the highway, I could have really been in big trouble.

The air conditioner is now starting to make a funny sound.

Had the same key problem as everyone else has had.

General Comments:

This car sucks, and I would not buy another one if it was the last one on Earth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2009

25th May 2009, 05:15

You've been ripped off. 600 for the lower arm?! At a honest DEALER (there is no such thing) or maybe at a corner garage, a decent price, parts included should have been 200-300. Check better from now on...

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

Everything everyone has said about this car is true. It is an absolute piece of crap. I too have had all the problems with the shifter and key, not to mention everything else.

The latest is the lower control arm bushings are gone.

General Comments:

Its hard to feel sorry for Chevy's plight when I have to pay more than my lease payment to fix the stupid thing. This car is garbage..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th May, 2009

22nd May 2009, 11:00

It's a first year. Never, ever buy a first year model. I have a 2008 Cobalt with 15,000 miles and have had no problems thus far.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LT from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25600 kilometres

Summary:

OK, but won't buy another

Faults:

Repaired front right bushing (under warranty) in Oct 08 because of loose rattling noise from front wheels.

Repaired front right bushing (not under warranty - $165) on March 09 because of loose rattling noise from front wheels. Last repair lasted 5 months. Dealer would not consider that a repair should last longer than 5 months

Steering column replaced (under warranty).

General Comments:

Average car, but seems to have repeated "loose rattle" issues (check out a google search for cobalt loose rattles on the net) that are being ignored by GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2009

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired302 kilometres
Most recent distance61000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Aveo

Faults:

Tranny went at 47000km.

2nd roller gear went, and the solenoid they said, and that's what they replaced.

Trunk lock replaced.

Link ends.

Ball joint.

Ignition changed.

Drivers door lock changed.

All done under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2009

24th Mar 2009, 18:28

Seems odd to give a car that had its transmission go out at such low mileage an 8 out of 10 for reliability.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews