2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance48500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Faults:

The front and rear control arm bushings have went, have had continuous problems with the power locks and the alarm.

The interior door panels made of fabric leave a lot to be desired, because they are not easy to clean.

The electric power steering over steers constantly.

Both of the front struts are already leaking and need to be replaced.

General Comments:

Overall the car is cute on the outside and looks good, but just doesn't hold up. In my opinion this is a disposable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2009

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Control arm bushing.

Transmission solenoid.

Wiper blade mechanism.

Driver side window.

Numerous clunks from underneath.

Stalls upon stopping.

General Comments:

Biggest piece of unreliable crap, and a moving reason why unions stink.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LT 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Not a good bargain

Faults:

The car runs OK but is very cheaply made. Radio buttons are always sticking and the door locks won't open at times. I have to turn the key in the door several times before it will open. The seats are EXTREMELY uncomfortable. I would hate to take this car on a long trip.

General Comments:

Never buy a domestic vehicle brand new. I just went to trade it in and I am $6000 upside down so I am stuck with it for the next few years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2008

22nd Aug 2008, 11:18

So you consider it a terrible car because the radio buttons sometimes stick and you think the seats are uncomfortable? Apparently you've never owned a really unreliable car before. If those were my only complaints with a new car in 24k miles of driving, I'd be pretty content. I have to disagree about the seats. I found them very comfortable in a rental I drove.

12th Jul 2010, 10:30

I bought my car 2 years ago and have had nothing but problems with it. I had to replace the rotors twice and brakes twice. The gas light would come on every time it got to about a quarter of a tank, the gear shift pin inside would stick and as of 2 days ago, the air conditioner broke. It has to be replaced and is a decent amount of money. I have always bought Chevys, I thought they were reliable. I am now really reconsidering buying a different type vehicle.

I would not recommend this vehicle.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS Base 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles

Summary:

Peppy! 5000 Mile First trip to dealership. One of many? I hope not!

Faults:

Started having problems with the radio at about 4,000 miles. Just goes dead including interior lights when it cuts out. A new glitch (that's what I'm calling the problems-glitches) is hard starting. The car turns over like normal, but takes a lot longer to start. The hard starting glitch started just about 200 miles ago. Last glitch so far is the steering. The steering wheel vibrates and you hear weird noises from under the hood turning a corner at any speed, left or right. This started at about 3000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is surprisingly peppy.

Cramped passenger/legroom issue for friends in back.

For a low-end, base model chevy, What can you really expect for $14 grand?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th November, 2006

28th Nov 2006, 12:41

Sell that car before it buries you so deep in repairs that you won't know which way is up.

28th Nov 2006, 13:20

Drove one of these as a rental for a week. Acceleration was surpring and it was okay handling. But it was built to the lowest quality standards possible and things were already falling off of it.

And you obviously didn't shop around as there are a ton of better choices for $14K, starting with the Scion xB which had 1 problem in the three years my family had it. Even the small Honda Fit has similar interior room and better gas mileage, in addition to significantly better quality.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LT 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired185 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The best compact car Chevy has ever built

Faults:

The dome light switch would go it the door position correctly, had to wiggle it to get it come on when the door was open.

The stock tires wear very quickly and are not well handling. I had to replace my tires after just 30,000mi.

General Comments:

This car is great, especially for the price. I drive the car a lot, and for long distances and it is very comfortable to be able to sit in it for long periods of time.

The engine is very powerful for its size when you need to go it has it. The transmission is a very positive shift and the shifter is in a very comfortable position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2006

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews