2006 Chevrolet Cobalt Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS 2.0L Supercharged from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L Supercharged Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carDodge Stealth

Summary:

Good looks, needs more power!

Faults:

Check engine light came on at 1000kms..Dealership replaced fuel cap hasn't come on since.

General Comments:

I bought this car almost fully loaded, only option I didn't get was the Recaro seats and limited slip.

Well this car handles like a real sports car and the Pzero tires that come from the factory on the 18"wheels make it stick to the ground when cornering.

Acceleration feels underpowered, this car is not fast by any means... i was disappointed in its performace (should of gotten an SRT-4) but I will soon be purchasing the stage2 chip from GM that supposively gives you an extra 50hp.

The tires have a lot of wheel spin and are narrow (only 215wide I believe). I test drove a demo car at the dealership with limited slip and it didn't make much of a difference.

Suspension is great... rides a lot smoother than I thought it would. Not rough at all.

Interior is nice I have the black leather and seats are supportive/comfortable.

So for the sticker price of $24000 canadian it came to just over $30000 after taxes... I would NEVER spend this much on a car like this. So whoever is in the market to buy one get used!!! I'm sure in a year or two the price of a used SS will be lower than $20000 easily. GM cars never hold there value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2006

30th Sep 2006, 15:58

I myself wouldn't own a Cavelier/Cobalt. I have a friend that made the mistake of buying a new one, nothing, but headaches. Talk about slow, poor handling, and sloppy driving... he drove my brother's Scion TC and will be trading the GM thing soon at the Toyota dealer.

1st Oct 2006, 15:16

My friend had a toyota. He said it was slow, a chick car, an appliance, couldn't handle, and it sounded like a dying chicken. My friend is also every domestic manufacturer's advertising manager so you can see he's quite biased.

Sooooooooooooooooooooo

(don't put down a car you've never driven or owned!)

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LS 2.2 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very inexpensive, both purchase cost and running cost

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Have had the car for about a month. So far nothing has gone wrong. I drive about an hour to work and have been averaging 35 miles per gallon, with it reaching 40 miles a gallon on the highway.

The inside is comfortable enough for a long drive, the stereo system is pretty good for a base model and the air conditioning is very cold.

I have three young daughters (six years, 3 years, and 7 months) and they all fit in the back alright, surprisingly.

So far I am very pleased with the car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

16th Mar 2009, 14:37

I am the original poster. I have had the vehicle for over two years now. The car has 55,000 miles and is still running great.

I have not had any issues besides the key getting stuck in the ignition. The dealer replaced the shifter about a year ago and since then have not had any problems.

I am still averaging around 35 mpg. I guess I am one of the lucking ones, based on a lot of the comments regarding the Cobalt.

2006 Chevrolet Cobalt LT from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired93 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I am really enjoying my COBALT LT with SPORTS PACKAGE. I am liking it much more than I originally thought. Very comfortable and good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2006

21st Jan 2008, 15:22

Update, I have now had this vehicle for almost two years and not one issue since we bought it. It was purchased as the family's second car and it has quickly become the most popular. It is fun to drive and responds very well. My only complaint is that I don't think it is as sturdy a body as the imports. I feel my cobalt rattles alittle too much on harsh roads, but otherwise I am very pleased with it!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 24 reviews