2000 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8L V6 from North America


Decent reliability with an uncomfortable ride


The last set of tires I had developed bald spots very quickly. I rode for several months like that. When I finally took it to a shop, I was told my alignment was off. I had the car aligned and got brand new tires all the way around. The new tires have developed bald spots within 2k miles. I'm thinking bad shocks, but haven't had the car looked at further yet. The car has gone through tires quickly and hasn't rode perfectly since I got it at 20k miles.

The engine surges during medium acceleration/slight uphill pull. This developed at around 55k miles - still needs fixed.

The turn signals will not work about once a week. If you shut the car off and back on, they are fine.

General Comments:

Overall I haven't had many problems, but more little things are starting to go wrong now.

The car handles good and is fairly quick.

The seat comfort level leaves something to be desired.

I like the steering wheel mounted controls for the radio, but wish it had a CD player.

The value of the car dropped rapidly. I am several grand upside down currently, and would never be able to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

21st Mar 2006, 22:18

My friend bought a cadillac once and had the same problems with the tires that you do now, it ended up the car had been in an accident and had a bent frame. maybe that is your problem I would try to check the history of the vehicle if I were you.

2000 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.4 from North America


I will never purchase the same make again


My sun roof broke at 20,000 miles.

I had to replace my radio at 32,000 miles.

My side air was replaced at 33,000 miles.

For no reason my tire monitor reads "Low Tire Pressure".

The steering column makes clunking noise. And my head gasket is leaking.

General Comments:

The car is beautiful and comfortable.

I am unhappy with all it's problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8 from North America


Great car for the price


The signal light fuse broke at 25000km and it is OK after replacement.

General Comments:

This car was solidly built. I owned it for almost three years from brand new. Everything works except the signal light¡¯s fuse broken once and after replacement, it is OK.

It is a really comfort car for the highway driving. The leather seats are well designed and that's why I brought Impala rather than Taurus two and half years ago.

All the control panel and buttons on the wheel are well designed and easy to access.

The music system is great with CD & cassette and radio. When you play pop music, you can feel the power of it.

The acceleration is good at high speed, but it is not as good as those compact cars because it's weight.

The OnStar system is good, but it needs money to run it. Anyway I have already found a way to tap it out and connect it to my laptop with Microsoft Streets & Trip. It works great and I don¡¯t worry any more when I visit a new city. Most import, I don't need to pay OnStar company any money for the service.

It squeaks when it softly brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Impala Base 3.4 liter from North America


Not bad, but some improvements


41k-When I first got the car, all the brakes were bad. They replaced the front rotor at no cost. Beginning to hear the all familiar clunk from the front end.

42k-The fuel pressure regulator leaking gas into engine compartment. Clunking sound checked, nothing wrong.

45k-The blower for the a/c-heater would only work on 5. Replaced resistor under warranty.

47-Had the clunking fixed, warranty wouldn't pay for it. 143.00 to lube it. They had to take it out, lube it and put it back in... if they took it out... why not put a new one in??? Clunking sound gone.

48- shaking while driving down the road. Had alignment done and balance and rotate. Still there! Took it to the dealer, said they couldn't feel it. I then took it somewhere else, they said it was the tires. Replaced, problem fixed.

51k- airbag light keeps coming on and then back off. I replaced the stock radio and put in a stock CD player, light hasn't come on since. Transmission kicks rather hard when trying to up-shift. Also makes the car jerk when going into overdrive. They changed the transmission fluid. Seems to be OK.

53k-Engine is starting to miss and want to stall out. I'm thinking spark plug, or maybe fuel filter. Will fill you in.

General Comments:

The car rides great, and it's very comfortable. These cars hold up awesome in car accidents. I'm an EMT and have seen the cars just mangled, but the main cabin in the car is intact! The crumple zones are very well designed. This thing should have a five star crash rating.

I drove some nice loaner cars, I like the style of the car. As long as I have a warranty, I'm all set:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2003

7th Jan 2008, 14:32

Good is good.

26th Oct 2009, 22:34

I just got my 2000 Chevy Impala, and I like it. There was only one owner to this car, and they took real good care of it from what I see so far.

The best thing to do with any car is to keep it maintained as much as you can, and keep the fluids flushed and any car will run. It's like taking care of a child; feed em, cloth em and comfort em.

So I have to make my own judgment within a year. I have only had the car a week come Wednesday October 28th 2009.

8th Aug 2010, 12:47

186000. My 3.4 is running strong.

29th Sep 2010, 03:52

If you know how to take care of a car, the 3.4 is a good car.