2000 Chevrolet Impala Base model 3.4L. V6 from North America


Best car Chevy has built in many years.


Rattle in steering column developed at about 40,000 miles. Solution was to remove steering column from the car, take it apart, and inject a tube of grease into it, then reassemble and install. Cost was $110. I was informed that this was a common complaint with Impalas and Chevy Pickups. Too bad GM won't cover it with a recall.

Otherwise, I have had no other issues with this car and it is a joy to drive.

General Comments:

This has been a very dependable car, with no issues except as noted above. It's very economical, especially on the highway. We have gotten as much as 34 mpg with this car, at 75 mph. It made a trip from Illinois to San Diego this summer, and performed wonderfully, as we expected.

It gets regular maintenance, contributing to it's reliability.

Only thing is, you see yourself coming and going all the time, because there are so many of them out there. If you don't mind driving something everyone else has, it's a good buy. I highly recommend it for its durability, style, and reliability.

It's no BMW, but then I didn't pay that kind of price, either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Impala LS V6 from North America




We have had a "grinding" noise in the engine for over a year now. We took it to the dealer and they said it was the alternator. Because of a more competitive price we took the vehicle to a private garage and had the alternator replaced. Noise did not go away. We have had back to two different garages, but no one can find the problem. The noise was not there for 3 years so we know there is a problem. We went to check the steering fluid thinking that the steering was grinding, but cannot find the steering fluid reservoir! Thinking we were idiots we had two other mechanics look for it and they read the manual that came with the car, but they could not find it either!!

Stumped, any help? Standover@cox.net.

General Comments:

Overall we have enjoyed the vehicle when it was not in the shop. We have had this vehicle to the dealer 22 times under warranty and now it is out of warranty and we are about to give up. (We purchased the extended warranty and that was well worth it)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

4th Apr 2006, 20:32

The power steering reservoir is located on the back passenger side of the engine below the alternator. It's pretty hard to get at, but it's there. You can only get to it from the top and there will be enough room to get your arm down there. Wow I can't believe two different techs had to even look in the owners manual and still couldn't even find it. Wow.

2000 Chevrolet Impala Ex-Police 3.8 V6 from North America


Family sedan, but hot pepper


Battery was discharged once overnight without known reason.

Rear ammos changed right after safety certification.

Water is leaking during rainy days. It falls to the front passenger floor through the heater unit.

General Comments:

For seven thousands Canadian dollars it was the best. Fuel economy is great compare to the engine size. Plus it runs on regular gas. Police package is useful for heavy commuting. Excellent on highways and rough roads. Good internal size for big guys. Basic car with big engine. Winter tires will be very reasonable option for snow. With regular tires it is difficult to control if snow is getting deep. Some time will generate Check Engine alarms. Easy to cancel with standard radio. Good acoustics for basic radio. Good sensitivity for AM/FM. Painting quality is not really good. Looks like they forgot to put primer coating. Paint code in invoice is wrong one. Very cheap for insurance in Canada.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

13th Apr 2005, 08:46

After curb hitting at 40 km/h car was drivable until service was done.

Lower Right Arm - 300 CAD, Hub - 400 CAD, 1K CAD in total.

The reason for high total is in spare parts and design policy. They are available as whole piece only. Easy to assemble for people at GM plant and in local garage. But you have to pay for it.

18th Feb 2006, 22:03

After two years of ownership... I find the bullet under driver's seat. I let police to have it.

It is 225500KM now. C-Engine light is on for last 25K. But nothing bad. Still getting 10L/100km no matter city or 401 highway (which is long 16-lines wide parking lot during week days)

Now, if you have this car and getting winters. Just go and get winter tires. If not - it is not safe at all.

23rd Dec 2007, 08:06

Also on the police car, aluminum oil pan. I know, because mine was just changed (steel) $350. can. tax included

About hitting a curb, during a snow storm, I hit a curb, right side front. After all the repairs =$ 1100. That includes a second hand mag.

30th Sep 2009, 21:53

Maybe the bullet came from one of your fares. Either that or some cop had to explain why he was short on ammunition at the end of the day :)