2000 Chevrolet Impala LS 3.8 from North America


Excellent!!! Next, to try the SS model =)


Transmission blown at 160 000.

Sensors failed at 173 000.

New head gaskets at 330 000.

Intake at 460 000.

Starter at 420 000.

General Comments:

This car is amazing, when it doesn't have any problems... unfortunately which is rarely.

This car was an ex taxi, and had taken quite a beating but the power on this is amazing... Almost nothing can catch up to it on the highway.

The pickup is excellent.

Despite a few problems, this car is still a pleasure to drive and going strong at 480 000 km's.

It can still drive from Ottawa to Montreal and back in the same day with no problems.

Amazing car to own and a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2009

20th Aug 2009, 21:04

How is it so awesome if things kept going wrong with it? It was comfortable for the few times it actually worked?

2000 Chevrolet Impala LS Sport 3.8L from North America


Avoid it unless you can afford to maintain it


Traction control requires an ABS sensor of some sort to be working in each wheel hub. This sensor runs several hundred dollars. Many repair shops have said these sensors have a life expectancy of roughly 60-70k miles. 2 of the 4 on my Impala are in need of replacement with only 64,000 miles on it.

Also some hiccups, the car's outside temperature gauge doesn't work. The car used to stall out in first gear, but needed the engines computer reprogrammed. And I do not believe the auto dimming mirror is currently working.

General Comments:

Good MPG for such a large vehicle, yet costly to maintain at the same time. Very comfortable though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Impala from North America


I will never buy a GM vehicle as long as I live


I have owned a 2000 Impala since 2003, bought it used at 45,000 miles, now it has 110,000 miles on it.

It's a good looking car and it's gotten me through a hard time when I was unemployed. Thank god because everything before or after was a nightmare. I will never buy a Chevy or GM vehicle for that matter ever again. No wonder they are going out of business. If I didn't have a warranty, I would be over 10,000 dollars in debt over this car.

I bought it certified used in Michigan, and as soon as I pulled it off the lot, the steering was horrible. I brought it back, steering rack needed to be replaced. Then I got charged for an air filter. I asked don't they change that for a certified used vehicle, and they said no, so I paid for that.

It just went downhill from there.

Transmission dropped, so a brand new tranny.

Changed batteries three times in six years.

Have had to have every flush at least twice.

New ignition wires, new spark plugs, new serpentine belt, car leaks on passenger side through the window, or something leaks in the intake gasket.

Air conditioning and heat work only on level 5, fuel gauge always says full, drivers side window won't go back up.

Believe it or not that is half. I paid more for repairs than I paid for the car itself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2009

28th Sep 2010, 23:33

I own a 2003 Impala LS. The steering rack has been replaced three times in 30,000 miles. There should be a recall on this, because the rack and pinion steering racks do not last, and are poor quality.

29th Sep 2010, 15:32

Finally some honest reviews about GM's lack of quality!

30th Sep 2010, 16:46

My family members have driven Impalas since the 90's. None of them has ever had ANY problems. I strongly suspect the reviewer got a horribly abused car, and a dealership that has done much unnecessary work. Our current GM vehicle is coming up on 100,000 miles and has not even had a brake job yet. All we have done since buying it in 2003 (new) is replace the battery and original tires, and one light bulb. It is like brand new and has not a single rattle or squeak. We are sold on both GM and Ford. Never any problems with either.

30th Sep 2010, 22:07

Why is it that domestic car fans always cite abuse and dealers that rip people off as reasons the cars break all the time? My GM vehicles were brand new and were junk all the way. I also tracked every repair as to the cost and the parts needed. They were all right on the money.

If domestic dealers all want to do unnecessary work and charge people extra money for nothing, well then you just convinced me even further that I am doing right buying imports. See, I have never even been to ONE import service center in all of the years I have owned my imports, so I guess it would be pretty tough to rip me off huh? They just don't break! I've never even replaced a light bulb on any of mine before 100K miles... just normal wear items like tires and brake pads.

2nd Oct 2010, 01:22

I have a 2000 Impala, which has 126,000 on it, and I have nothing but good things to say. The only thing I have had to replace since buying it is driver's control for the power windows.

As for complaining about having to flush the systems, that is just routine maintenance, and should be done at least every 30,000 to 50,000 miles.