1996 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 liter from North America


The most reliable vehicle I ever owned


The paint started falling off at 120,000 miles.

Ball joints replaced at 150,000 miles.

Suspension bushings worn and clunking at 180,000 miles.

Driver door lock mechanism stuck and needed to be lubricated at 170,000 miles.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable, I have never been stranded.

Still has original exhaust system.

Oil and filter can be changed without jacking.

Limited left foot room for the driver.

Averages 26-28 mpg

Cruises comfortably at 80 mph

Great traction in snow with the OEM tires.

Has never needed a front end alignment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

22nd Jul 2003, 23:46

My 1996 Lumina cruised thru the 2002 Chicago winter, but after one month in the Arizona heat it died. Fortunately, it was just the battery (original) with 93,000 miles on it.

It runs great now! Only other gripe is my turn signal doesn't work unless I hold it down. Is it worth spending $18,000 to replace it? I don't think so. It has a little rust, a few dents, and some paint chips, but I feel very secure in my Lumina (It has 2 Howard Dean bumper stickers on it!)

1996 Chevrolet Lumina 3.1 from North America


This is a very good family car that can get up and go when you push on the petal


The brakes squeak a lot after being new. The driver seat squeaks probably because I am 6'3 and 320 pounds.

General Comments:

The car has great power and handling, comfort is good, style is good,and it runs very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2002

1996 Chevrolet Lumina Base 3.1 from North America


Great car for the money


I will be blunt, the alternators on the Lumina's basically stink. I replaced it twice, first time around 70,000 and again last year around 115,000.

The window motor on the passenger side went out around 128,000. Besides that, normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've had for the money and ride. My previous Subaru was dependable, but the interior noise was like riding a lawn mower and had poor pickup. Not with the Lumina, which is fast and quiet. I'm probably buy another on in a couple years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2001

15th Feb 2004, 17:08

1996 How funny! My Pass window motor went out @ 136K. Alt out @ 140K. This car is unbelievable in mileage, (35HWY), comfort, (Back problems), & handling, (mountain driving).

I too want a newer one and nothing else. I like the part where if out of water the car's mill will alternate between sets of 3 cylinders for 60 emergency miles to help.


17th Jun 2004, 21:35

I am the original author of this Dec 2001 review for the 1996 Lumina. I ended up selling that Lumina in April 2002 at 140,000 miles for almost half of what I paid for it when I bought it at 61,000 miles in 1997.

I ended up buying a 2000 Taurus collision salvage car which I fixed relatively cheaply. But it had enough problems (unrelated to the salvage fix) that when I look back at my previous Lumina, I wish I never sold the Chevy. I would have well over 200,000 by now on it. The newer Taurus was a better looking car... but now being over 40 years old, I wish I still had the Lumina. Oh well.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina Base 3.1 V6 from North America


Decent sedan with a torquey motor


High pitch squeak from the right side of the car. Still haven't identified it.

Power steering went out one day, then fixed itself. Quite random, possibly overheated.

General Comments:

Good car. The seats aren't great though. Being tall, there is no place for your left leg. A dead pedal would have been nice.

The engine has power though. Speed limiter supposedly at 112 mph, haven't seen it yet.

I get toasted at stoplights by Integras and such, but what are you to expect for a Lumina? It's nice though, to beat some cars. Like that poor guy in the Escort. LOL.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

1996 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1 V6 SFI from North America


Reliable V6 sedan with good performance


This car hasn't been in the shop for anything other than routine maintenance. My grandparents gave me the car with 51,000 miles, I have had the front brake pads replaced, and the two front tires replaced that were worn out. The 16 inch tires cost somewhat more, but the performance is worth it.

Other than that, no problems with this car at all...

General Comments:

I've had this car for a little over a year now, and I still love it.

It has pretty good performance for a V6 with an automatic.

It handles pretty well, and still looks sharp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2001