1996 Chevrolet Lumina Base 3.1L from North America


Will eat your money in repair bills


Haven't had the car but only 4 months, and boy have I been sold a lemon!

1) Cooling fan not turning on. Mechanic says the computer is not communicating with the cooling fan. Didn't have computer money, so we wired the cooling fan to turn on as soon as you start the car. It now runs the entire time the car's running.

2) Tires can be easily worn down and bust if you like to turn corners quickly.

3) AC and heater will only blow out defrost.

4) Rear window defroster isn't working.

5) Had to pay a mechanic to re wire all my lights. I had brake lights and turn signal lights that would not turn on.

6) Cooling reservoir had rusted looking water inside it. Had to get a coolant flush.

7) Check engine light recently turned on. EVAP problem. Something to do with the gas tank releasing toxic fumes in the atmosphere.

8) EGR valves were clogged, check engine light came on for that.

I mean for 4 months of ownership, this is ridiculous. Problems, problem, problems.

General Comments:

I really do like the ride, very smooth ride. Large vehicle so it's safer. Very fast engine, great for passing. I like it, just don't like paying a mechanic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2010

12th Dec 2010, 20:33

AC and heat blowing out the defrost is a simple fix. On mine is was a vacuum hose that came unhooked from its reservoir in the driver's side fender. Coolant flushes should be done anyway to prevent the dirty water.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina Sedan 6 cylinder from North America


Comfortable car, but having tons of problems before 100k miles!


Purchased it in late November 2009. Had 72k miles. Belt tensioner and serpentine belt went out not even two months later with little use of the car.

The day after Easter this year, the head gasket blew before we even got to 74k miles when it had been sitting in the driveway for 4 days.

General Comments:

I have yet to decide if I'm keeping the car after repairing the head gasket -- even though I'm still paying on a 3 year note for the piece of crap. I might have to sell it for less than what I paid for it.

Last time I'll buy a GM product older than year 2000, because the orange antifreeze GM previously used in their new vehicles corrodes the head gasket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2010

1996 Chevrolet Lumina from North America


Average car


The car was good and reliable up until about 100,000 miles.

Replaced the front and rear brakes, battery twice, rear tail lights, starter, alternator twice, radiator, and water pump.

Brake lights would stick on, causing the battery to drain on numerous occasions. The dealer notified me that it was all my fault for having a thin plastic race pedal covering over the brake pedal. Once the plastic race pedal was removed, the brakes continued to stick. The dealer notified me that it was all my fault again, because I have a habit of pushing the floor mats up underneath the brake pedal, forcing them to stick.

The car left me stranded twice with a problematic alternator.

The fabric attached to the ceiling was unattached immediately after purchase, and hung low disturbing my passengers.

The radio buttons failed to illuminate. Changing the fuses did not correct the problem.

When the water pump went at 122,000 miles, I finally traded it in for a Kia.

General Comments:

Had very nice high quality fabric in the interior.

Was a large car and felt safe. Very roomy interior.

Attractive exterior appearance.

Okay radio. Okay gas mileage.

Started having too many problems after 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2010

10th Feb 2010, 12:48

My Lumina only made about 43,000. Had an engine failure right about then.

1996 Chevrolet Lumina LS 3.1 V6 from North America


Amazing machine, LOVE IT!


Nothing really except in 2003 we had to swap the block, because something happened I don't really remember.

And just recently I blew an oil pan gasket, but that comes with mileage.

And also the Lumina LS is notorious for having strange brakes...

General Comments:

This car has a lot of get up and go for a 13 year old Chevrolet. Was moms car, now it's mine, and I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2009

5th Oct 2009, 20:37

I sincerely hope you have better luck with your Lumina than I did with mine. It decided to throw a rod after 61,000 miles. I guess the 4 years of meticulous maintenance it received from me just weren't enough.

13th Nov 2012, 09:28

Looks like he already has - look at the mileage.