1999 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 28 of 35

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Buy an extended warranty on this car because you'll need it

Faults:

Ignition problem, electrical.

Driver's seat fabric tore.

Theft system light kept coming on.

Air-conditioning/defroster problem.

Cooling system problems (leaking coolant into engine and bad water pump)

General Comments:

Based on my experience, the 1999 Malibu LS is not a well-made car. I have had several quirky problems (ignition problems, a/c and defrost problems, cooling system and water pump problems) and my car only has 39,000 miles on it. Although the dealership that services my car has been helpful, I do not have much confidence in the reliability of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Yet another GM lemon

Faults:

Head gaskets replaced at 53,000.

Spark plugs replaced 53,000.

Fuel injectors very dirty and cleaned at 53,000.

Dex-Cool sludge in cooling system.

Spark pug wires all replaced 53,000.

Brakes replaced twice.

Rotors replaced with last brake job.

Driver auto window intermit. works.

Loud wind noise.

AC shuts off at random times.

Severe rust on alloy wheels.

General Comments:

This car was supposed to be a nice alternative to a comparable Honda. Wrong. GM has now come out with a new add campaign admitting they made crummy cars in the 80s and 90s. This is one of them. This car is one of many that have problems with head gaskets. GM has yet to rectify the problem by issuing a recall. There are numerous class action lawsuits against GM pertaining to the head gaskets and particularly the Dex-Cool antifreeze which is nothing, but bad news. Overall a nice car until the warranty runs out and then your headaches begin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

24th Jul 2004, 16:07

My problems began well before the warranty ran out. Brakes seem to be a common failing in this car. If you get one used, take it to a non GM mechanic, have rotors turned and aftermarket good quality pads installed. Then make sure the tires are NOT the same ones the car came with, if so replace. These cars are a bargain on the used car market, this is for a reason.

25th Apr 2006, 21:59

I own a 1999 Malibu. It has 89K miles. I started having cooling problems at 50K. The “new and improved,” change-antifreeze once every 5 years system, couldn’t hold water long enough to drive up a full tank of gas. There were no obvious puddles of water under the car. It is a slow leak. At first, I replaced the radiator cap. That didn’t help. Next I had the head gasket replaced. I still get the low water warning light. I made my last payment a month before I had the engine overhauled.

According to my mechanic, the special orange antifreeze that GM uses in it’s cars, while not corrosive to aluminum, is extremely corrosive to steel and rubber. He also said that the material used for head gaskets is made from rubber/plastic products.

I will never buy another GM product again.

1999 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

Gets the job done, but nothing fancy

Faults:

A/C Control Chip went bad at about 10k. It was a fluke, replaced under warranty, and never another problem.

New pads and rotors at about 30k.

A/C needs recharging since about 60k.

Brakes need to be done again, very wobbly.

General Comments:

I've not experienced most of the problems mentioned by everyone else here. This car has been virtually maintenance free for me.

It does eat brakes a bit quickly I think, but at 85000 miles I don't think two brake jobs is beyond reason.

The engine light came on on the way to work today. Luckily I have a friend who has a code reader, so in the morning, I'll know what that is about. I'm guessing a sensor since the car still runs fine.

It's no Cadillac, but it runs fine, and is reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1-liter V6 (150-170hp) from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1-liter V6 (150-170hp) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54200 miles
Most recent distance64500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

This car IS a performer

Faults:

I purchased this car direct from a dealer auction in Atlanta, Georgia (USA) and it was a four year old leased vehicle that I got the day it was turned back in to the dealer.

I have had NO problems whatsoever with this car and it has been much more dependable than the JEEP and Toyota Camry I previously owned.

**The only thing I can find wrong about this car is the slight lack of power it has on large hills when the engine is cold. However, it has exceptional acceleration compared to other cars in its class (0-60mph in 7.5 seconds) and I have no trouble gaining speed when entering freeways or accelerating to change lanes. So I have NO complaints about speed or acceleration on this car... its fast, responsive, and sporty. The air conditioner is also very strong and during acceleration there is no decrease in performance or air flow like there usually is in 4-cylinders.

I have not had to make any repairs other than usual maintenance (new tires, oil and other fluids). The only repair I have made is replacing the low tone of the standard two-tone factory horn. Its not too bad to have to say your only repair to your car is spending $20.00 to replace one of your horns :-)

To sum this up, I cannot brag on this car any more. The comfort level is not Lincoln or Lexus quality, but it is definitely sufficient for long trips and there is very minimal cabin noise so it makes for a peaceful and quiet ride (except for my three screaming kids in the back seat). I thought the rear seats were very plush and comfortable, too. It came standard with CD and tape player and loads of automatic features (mirrors, locks, seat position, cruise control, everything).

A+ for this car; it lived up to my expectations and I would not hesitate to buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

8th Dec 2005, 13:57

While the 0-60 time may not be accurate, the "two-tone" horn is indeed used on GM vehicles. He doesn't mean that it plays Dixie when you press it, though, just that it uses two different tones to get the final horn sound. And the first commenter was so quick to repudiate the 0-60 comment, that I wouldn't be surprised to learn he conversely believes that an Accord gets to 60 in under 6 seconds, and the Civic does it in 4.5. So, in response, "I don't believe that a Japanese company (except maybe Toyota) can build a car with no problems." But, to each his own.

16th Jan 2007, 08:50

Lookup: Toyota oil gel program.

28th Jun 2007, 14:36

Just for the record, the 0-60 time is 8.5 seconds.

30th Oct 2007, 16:06

My ex wife's parents owned a 1999 Chev Malibu, We tested the car's acceleration (with a full tank and both of us in it, approx. 415 lbs total) after a couple of easy trial runs, we managed a 9.8 sec. 0-60 mph scorcher. Granted we were at 3400 feet above sea level. Fuel economy was something that did surprise me though, 24 mpg on the Hwy. To me that was good.

3rd Jun 2008, 16:08

We bought a 1999 Malibu. Gave about 3000 for it with 50000 miles on it. I have spent over 2000 on it fixing it, and recently repaired the head gasket problem they all seem to have reported about them.

Yeah it rides good, is good on gas, but it seems to have something break every other day.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 122 reviews