1999 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 34 of 35

1999 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2800 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Mirage

Faults:

Tail light meltdown. Air conditioner switch failure. Rotors and brakes replaced twice.

General Comments:

I love the speed and passing ability, but the small problems are a nuisance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 SFI V6 (170 HP) from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI V6 (170 HP) Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Excellent car for the money, way to go GM!

Faults:

I had to take the Malibu in because the horn didn't work, it turned out to be a loose wire. The battery had to be replaced, but that will happen in any vehicle.

General Comments:

I am a college student who commuted 30 miles to school on a 3 lane highway. This car has plenty of get-up-and-go, and is smooth as butter. I have driven this vehicle down from Massachusetts to Orlando, FL with no problems. The car was very comfortable and great on gas for a V-6 (I had a high of 32 miles per gallon on the trip). It seats 5 comfortably, and has plenty of cargo space. I found the climate and audio controls to be well placed and within easy reach. There is a nifty, handy drivers cup holder on the left side. Great for me, considering I'm a lefty. The power windows and locks function excellently. Two thumbs up from this 19-year-old male college student!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

This is a high maintenance car!

Faults:

I had to have the brakes changed 1 week after I purchased the car. The Chevy dealer was not friendly about it at all.. Two months later the water pump went out. All the rear lights (brake, reverse) went out.. The windshield wipers come on, but cannot be turned off unless the car is turned off. The check engine light kept coming on. I have had to repeatedly replace the brakes. The radio cannot pick up any stations.

General Comments:

This car started falling apart the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

10th Jun 2004, 13:13

I agree, I have had (3) water pumps put on this car, the brakes are constantly squeaking and now my engine lights stays on. I would not recommend this car to anyone!

1999 Chevrolet Malibu Base 2.4L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance49500 kilometres

Summary:

Well rounded car

Faults:

Rotors have been replaced twice.

General Comments:

When I first heard of this car the 2.4L engine concerned me, but after driving it for nearly 3 years it has been nothing short of superb, I have driven a Malibu with the 3.1L V6 and prefer the feel of the 2.4L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1999 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

A cheap piece of junk

Faults:

Lately the brakes have started to go bad which I thought was way too soon for only having 28,000 miles on it.

The shocks & struts are going as well.

The transmission feels like it's slipping.

And I have started to notice a lot of internal noises.

General Comments:

I have had this car for two years and until now I have not had any major problems. It is fairly comfortable, handles well and was a pretty affordable choice for me.

These problems concern me though because it is only 2 years old and especially since I have read other's comments about similar problems. I am losing faith in Chevy if this many people are having these problems and they aren't doing a thing about it. Is there anything we can do?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

26th Feb 2002, 12:51

Well, My grandmother has this car and it is doing perfectly for her after 3 years. (Except the brakes)... she loves her car it has a WONDERFUL ride... and is very stylish!!! I disagree with you! so there!

16th May 2003, 20:51

I have owned a '99 Malibu LS for over 4 yrs now. The only problem that I ever had was a small oil leak at the sensor on the bottom of the oil pan. It took all of about 10 minutes for the dealership to replace. Had to replace the brakes at around 32000 miles. Not complaining. Replaced tires at around 46000 miles, but that's because I like to have TOO much fun with the power this car can provide. Anyone who has had any problems with one of these cars must have just been a bad fluke. I've know several people that own the same year & model & none have had any problems at all. Awesome car. Just wish they would have made the 270 HP engine standard about 4 years sooner.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 122 reviews