2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 17 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.4 V6 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Gas Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

The Malibu is mud in the face of the GM Corp

Faults:

Warped Rotors at low mileage-Twice.

Replaced Brake Pads-Twice.

Hazard Light Switch Replaced.

Passlock System going out-won't start

It was towed twice. Sometimes it will start and sometimes we have to wait Ten minutes for the theft light to go off.

Overheating while A/C is off and in Traffic.

Water Coolant Reservoir cracked.

Injectors had to be cleaned due to sluggish acceleration.

General Comments:

Most of the problems we have had with this car were under warranty. Now the warranty is out. The Passlock Theft system is what we are having problems with now.

Anybody that reads this must call the GM help line and report all claims.

I reported my claims, but he said that there were not enough claims to do a recall. So people report if you can.

I had heard thru my Dealer and GM that they have recall for Malibu's coming up. But I don't know what it is for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 09:31

I also had to replace the Hazard switch - but GM, to its credit, reimbursed me for the repair after they issued a recall on the problem. I have also had a pulsating brake pedal and had the rotors turned twice in the last 12000 miles (last time 3000 miles ago and the pedal pulsates again - although it stops fine) the car has 60,000 miles with NO OTHER problems.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carGeo Storm

Summary:

Great car that leaks too much

Faults:

My intake manifold gasket was replaced at 68000 miles.

Car started leaking at 50000 miles.

Replaced the front brake pads at 45000 miles.

Dealer serviced the car at 32000 miles because the driver's side door made a loud squeaking noise and sounded as though the door was loose.

Replaced water pump at 52000 miles.

And car still leaks not as much as before, but it still leaks.

General Comments:

This car was great when I bought it and it seemed like a reliable car it only has too many problems.

I agree that GM needs to recall the Malibu and they should offer a better warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Standard standard from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission standard Automatic
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Reliant

Faults:

1. Front Brakes warp. Had pads and disk replaced at; 12,000, 24,000, 37,000,and 72,000 miles. I am a mature driver that does not slam on the brakes, but slows down for a stop, therefore my brakes should last longer then this.

2. Intake manifold is starting to leak. The corner garage quoted me $880 including six hours labor to repair it. He suggested I try a stop leak product.

3. Heater lever may click back and forth between internal air and out side air. The problem started at 37,000 miles when it was out of warranty, so I did not repair it.

4. Re-glued left and right rear tail light gaskets and rear window gaskets.

5. Just two days ago, ALL dashboard instrument warning lights stayed on after starting the car. The lights finally went out, except the theft light after I drive about a mile and stepped on the brake. The theft warning light however stayed on until I arrived home and turned off the car. When I restarted the car, the instrument panel lights were normal.

General Comments:

Good driving car around town and on the hi-way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2004

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 2.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Maybe 2004 will be Malibu's year

Faults:

Ever since buying car used at 36000, radio face has always been hot to the touch.

Brake rotors and pads replaced at 45000.

CD player broke at 60000.

Brake pads replaced at 65000.

Car began "lurching" at 70000.

Plastic track on power driver seat broke at 75000.

Turn signals at 80000: sometimes they work, sometimes they don't.

Car shakes at speeds over 70mph.

General Comments:

So far my '00 Malibu has been good. I fear when big things start breaking, however, the shizznit will hit the fan.

Plastic track for power driver seat broke; big deal, seat still works so I am happy.

Car shakes at speeds over 70mph;again, no big deal. I'm sure it has to do with the brakes throwing the wheels out of alignment.

I agree the brakes have issues. When I bought the car used the rotors were fubar; the prev owner probably ignored the inherent brake problems. Replaced with cheap rotors/pads and the pads were a problem immediately. Bit of advice - by more expensive pads. I bought better quality pads and have not had a problem since.

The audio system blows; ever since I got the car, the radio face has been hot to the touch.I'm expecting it to burst into flames any day now. CD player kept shutting down due to over-heating and then broke all together.

What brought me here was the lurching and the turn signals. Car recently started lurching and missing @70K so I figure the transmission is due to fall out if I don't get it fixed. The turn signals are the most recent problem; they messed up around 80K. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. A few quick cycles (on/off) of the hazards helps get them working sometimes, so I figure there is a bad switch that shouldn't be too costly to replace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2003

6th Apr 2004, 21:53

Owner's update:

1) I am at 95k miles and car still performs great

2) Brake pads changed @ 65k are still hanging in there

3) Still shakes at speeds over 70mph occasionally

4) Fixed the problem with the flashers; hazard switch was replaced at a cost of 50 bucks and 5 minutes

5) Gave up on radio; still hot to the touch after prolonged use, but it hasn't burst into flames yet

6) Still seems to be missing sometimes, but not convinced it is the trans; haven't taken in for service yet

7) Serpentine belt change is coming up.

7th Jun 2004, 09:23

In the 2000 Malibu the hazard switch had been recalled an I got it replace for nothing. My blinker wouldn't work until I messed with the hazard switch. I would get my money back from the dealer.

18th Jun 2004, 13:54

I know why the car shakes at 70 m.p.h. My 2000 Malibu did that and what you need to do to get it fixed is to get the wheels rotated and balanced. I think we spent about 200 dollars on 2 new tires and a tire rotation from Discount Tire Company.

6th Dec 2009, 21:44

A word of advice, get rid of your 'bu before you hit 100 thousand miles. I can tell you from experience that that is indeed when the s**t hits the fan, and the problems get much more frequent and much more serious.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews