2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 18 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It was a dream until 76000

Faults:

1st: A/C kicking off randomly (since purchase)

2nd: Water pump blew out around 20000.

3nd: Engine will accelerate above 30k while in park or neutral. While in gear it is obvious that it is doing the same. You need to stand on the brakes to get the car to stop. The dealer ship has been less than helpful. They cannot find the problem. After hooking up a computer they created a log file that basically told them that the RPM was higher than normal. I am seriously questioning their intelligence.

Has anyone experienced the latter problem, and if so what has your experience been?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 20:33

I had the same problem with the RPM's running high in park. I replaced the AGR valve, and it fixed the problem.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37200 miles
Most recent distance38400 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Ticking time bomb?

Faults:

I've only had this car for a week and the second day I had the car, I heard a rattling noise coming from the struts. I took it to the dealership and they had to replace one of the strut bearings. On my way home I was listening for the noise and there was a less severe rattling noise coming from the passenger side. I'm really disappointed in the service I received from the dealership. They replaced one side and not the other.

General Comments:

I love this car, it's fun to drive. But after hearing what kind of problems my brother had with his and what kind of problems everyone else has had, I'm very nervous about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

14th Nov 2003, 22:18

I have a 1999 Malibu.I have spent nearly $5,000 on it now. I would sell your car now before you have to spend on repairs. The Malibu is the worst car I have ever owned. I have finally paid off the car and I'm getting rid. The resale value is a joke too.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This car is why people buy imports

Faults:

Engine noise caused the dealer to replace the engine at 3,000 miles.

Replaced the front rotors, pads and calipers 3 times.

A rattle in the front end. Three trips to the dealer and 2 sets of struts later it's fixed. The dealer used Good-wrench struts the second time.

The rear struts were replaced 3 times to stop the annoying squeak.

The engine idled rough so the dealer did 3 tune ups and replaced the fuel filter twice. The engine has been more smooth lately.

The paint sucks! You can scratch it with a feather.

I just started to get the turn signal/ hazard switch problem today. I hope the recall covers it.

The car sometimes jerks forward a touch during cold starts.

General Comments:

This is a very sporty car for the price and with the right tires.

Chevy needs to listen to their customers and get it together. Until they do, it's Ford and Dodge for me.

Thank heavens I have one of the most understanding repair shops around. I have paid nothing out of pocket and have always been given a loaner when requested.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Good overall economical and reliable vehicle, but be cautious of poorly engineered braking system

Faults:

Brake rotors had to be machined and pads replaced after two years. One year later rotors had to be replaced. Mechanic said he has replaced rotors and had rotor problems with other 2000 Malibus brought to his shop.

Rear windows don't stay rolled completely up, leading to wind noise.

Car is fairly noisy on the road. Lost of wind noise and road noise.

General Comments:

The car is economically priced, handles well, and is generally reliable. However, the front brakes wear prematurely and are an unnecessary hassle and worry that shouldn't be necessary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I love my Malibu!

Faults:

Like everyone else, I too have had to have the rotors replaced because they were warped.

There is an intermittent short in the CD player. At times it refuses to play CD's and says "error" on the display, yet while empty it will spin and the laser will move back and forth whenever any button on the radio is pushed. Also almost all of the lights on the radio no longer light up.

The fog light on the driver's side keeps burning out. The last one only lasted 2 days.

The brakes tend to make noise even when there is nothing wrong with them.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my Malibu. I abuse it badly and forget to take it in for much of the maintenance it needs yet it always starts right up and runs well.

The interior is very comfortable. Every passenger I have had in it has made comments on how much they like the inside of the Malibu.

It has very good takeoff power and is great for passing other cars on the freeway. The overdrive is very responsive.

The driver's side cup holder is the absolute worst cup holder ever. If your drink doesn't end up in your lap during a turn it will definitely end up on the floor when you try to use your blinkers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2003

4th May 2007, 21:44

I totally agree with the driver's side cup holder. It doesn't work very well. Thankfully, there is many others!

15th Jul 2010, 19:56

Not only have I had too many ice coffee drinks poured onto my lap on the way to work, by the poor craftsmanship of the cup holders, but I have something wedged in the cup holder and cannot remove it to retrieve my item! If anybody knows how to do this, please email Emarie724@gmail.com. The owners manual does not even tell you how to remove the cup holder.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews