2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 22 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

A decent value

Faults:

Squeaky brakes as usual.

A/C light flashes on and off when outside temp is over 90deg. F. Will get new board.

Wear on leather steering wheel. Not peeling yet.

Engine does knock a little. Not sure why.

General Comments:

Overall, I like the car. It drives well.

Sound system is good with no real problems.

Sun-roof makes the drive more relaxing.

Gas mileage is a little lower than claimed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

6th Aug 2003, 12:13

Your engine noise is a result of pistons 1-4 not being properly glazed from the factory. This will not result in any performance issues-it will only cause your engine to have an annoying "piston-slap."

I had my engine replaced under warranty at 34,000 miles due to this problem, and after my new engine had a few miles on it, the noise was back.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Good value with some small problems

Faults:

I also have had the same problems with the A/C not working on 1 or 2. I found this site looking for a fix to that problem, now I have.

I have another problem to add, hope some of you can help.

The turn signals seem to stop working whenever they choose. The only way I can get them to come back on, is when, and I found this out by trial and error after exhausting all other ways. Is to push in the emergency flasher button really hard, seems it's making a connection, bridging flasher/turn system together and the allowing the turn signals to work.

Have also checked all fuses, etc.

Can anyone help?

Am replacing the brakes soon. Just like everyone else!

General Comments:

Other than those couple of things all seems to be working fine.

I feel like I am one of few, who are enjoying this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

15th May 2003, 12:28

Hi Steven,

I've got the same problem with turn signal. I fixed it myself (or you can ask your dealer to replace emergency switch with relay, if your car still under warranty)

There is some unreliable contact on this unit, I removed it from dashboard and started to press around it (to find loose contact). I found it very soon and soldered (You cannot see any fault visually, just bad contact) Since repair it works well. It takes not a lot time to find this contact and fix the problem.

Good luck.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A sporty, yet cheaply made car

Faults:

I've had to replace the brake pads twice the rotors once because the car was shaking at about 50 m.p.h.

I just recently replaced the tires because the Firestone tires that were on the car when I purchase it were terrible.

The engine makes a loud tapping noise when I start the car up in the morning.

The blinker occasionally won't work, so I have to use the hazard switch to get it working again.

The low coolant light kept going on and off recently and I added some coolant, but leaked over (no fun).

1 and 2 on the fan setting doesn't work.

The passenger door make a rattling noise.

And occasionally the rear passenger speaker won't work, which stinks because I love to listen to my music loud.

The gas mileage really isn't that great, considering I do a lot of traveling.

General Comments:

Hopefully I won't have any other problems because I still own over $10,000 on the car.

I do like the amount of room I have because I'm 6'9" and need all the space I can get.

Good luck to all the other Malibu owners out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

8th May 2003, 21:46

WOW, your review actually sums up the EXACT problems that are currently going on with my 99 LS, I got the car May 1st of this year for my birthday, and already all of these reviews are really scaring me, especially due to the fact that my car has 87257 miles on the odometer. The absolute first thing I will be doing, and you should too, is get a mechanic to check out your intake manifold gasket. Many people have had damaged engines due to the Dex-cool coolant leaking into the engine.

Good luck.

Tom.

27th Dec 2003, 00:41

That's weird, the hazard/turn signal is the exact problem I am having... if I get an answer I will try and give you a heads-up. (I'm getting pretty good at using the hazards to get the turn signals working while changing lanes on the freeway)

Same with the rear speaker; passenger side. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Plus the radio is always hot to the touch and the CD player kept shutting down due to over-heating and then broke all together.

30th Mar 2004, 19:49

I just got a recall notice for the turning signal for the 2000 Malibu though I haven't had any problems with it. When I bought the car at 25K miles, the blower didn't work on 1 or 2 and they fixed that...don't know if it was under warranty or recall. You might want to check on that.

My brakes...I'm at almost 62K and just replaced them for the second time plus the front rotors. The brake place convinced me to go with ceramic brakes... claims they won't fall apart like the others. I sure hope so.

2nd Nov 2005, 12:14

I have fantastic mileage with my malibu, drove 426 kms and burned only 26 litres of fuel, that is with the cruise set at 105 km. speed limit is 110 km. but 5 km diffrence is nothing. When going over 100kn or 60 mph you lose 10 % fuel mileage for every 10 mph anyway on any vehicle.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews