2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 23 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Buy American, just don't buy Malibu

Faults:

The turn signals began to sporadically make a horrible buzzing noise and would often times not work at all starting at 28,000 miles.

At 48,000 miles, I started loosing coolant which was caused by a defective intake gasket.

At 60,000 miles, the fuel pump would work on and off until it didn't work at all.

At 74,000 miles, the head gaskets on both banks blew.

General Comments:

My Malibu began life with me as a great, reliable car. When the odometer began to reach my warranties limits, it's reliability went downhill.

I have been extremely disappointed in this car due to the serious problems I have had.

I blame poor engineering and a corporation that does not heed warning, listen to customer complaints or reactions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

12th Nov 2003, 14:24

I have the exact same problems with my malibu...buzzing sometimes when the turn signals are activated, and sometimes the damn things don't work at all...does anyone know the solution to fixing this problem? I have been avoiding taking it to a repair shop because I refuse to spend more money repairing this car. However if its just something minor ($200), then I will take it in.

12th Nov 2003, 19:56

This problem has been investigated, and it is under a recall.

11th Mar 2004, 14:40

At the current moment. The recall is in affect. I just had my Malibu taken in and fixed. The turn signals work fine now. When you go in give them your Vin. number. They well look it up in the computer and well find the recall and won't charge you for it.

23rd May 2004, 13:06

New engine at 100,000 - Radio, CD, Clock stopped working.

Odometer is not working nor is the Fuel gage. Nothing but problems. I will never buy a Chevy again. Malibu has been nothing, but one problem after another.

19th May 2006, 17:22

Check your relays in the fuse box. I had a problem with my fuel pump and it was my fuel pump relay that didn't work.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A good performer with a few engineering problems

Faults:

Warped rotors at 20000 miles.

Warped rotors again at 45000 miles.

Back right tail light improperly sealed.

Leather seats wear out too soon.

Power window control module on driver side is loose after 30000 miles.

Main gasket leaking coolant at 47000 miles. Luckily I had extended warranty to cover repair.

General Comments:

Dealer would not fix warped rotor problem after 24000 miles even though I had an extended maintenance policy.

They called it "normal" wear and tear.

Dealer would not fix loose power window control module calling it a "trim" part. Would fix only if it failed electrically.

Very roomy for a car of this size.

Good engine performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V^ from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V^ Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

An enjoyable car that does everything well

Faults:

The heater control module has failed 3 times.

The leather on the steering wheel & the driver's seat peeled.

General Comments:

Overall, I am very satisfied with my Malibu LS. For a 6 Cylinder car, I average 23 MPG city & 32 MPG on trips.

The car has a lot of room for a smaller mid sized vehicle.

I would buy another one, but would not opt for the leather seats as they do not seem to wear well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

I would not buy another Malibu

Faults:

We have had to replace the brakes and rotors on the car and now I'm having problems with it shutting down when you drive down the road. They are saying it is the fuel pump.

General Comments:

I feel like that Chevy needs to recall these vehicles we had confidence in the Chevy manufacture in buying there product I think they should fix there problem. I do like the mabilu, but I have replaced parts that should have not been replaced with what miles I have on this car. It's crazy that a car this nice and priced nicely also giving these kind of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

25th Apr 2005, 11:59

My Malibu had repair done on the fuel system (pump & lines) 3 times within one year so I definately understand you. They definately need to do a recall.!

6th Oct 2005, 07:38

I had the same problem with the 2000 Malibu shutting off during driving. I had to replace the fuel pump. Now I'm having a problem with the turn signal lights now working at times.

14th Oct 2005, 00:32

I have a 2000 Malibu and it was only apx 80,+ miles on it and my transmission has went out, altanator, brakes several replacements, and now I think I'm having problems with my fuel pump... I regret having this car.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews