2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 24 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 SFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Nice car, but watch out for the engine!!

Faults:

Had rotors Turned at 61,000 kms due to pulsation when braking.

Engine Light keeps coming on for engine misfire that the dealership says they really can't do anything with, which could be related to the item below.

"Scored" pistons at 61,000 kms.

General Comments:

Overall, I am pleased with this car.

It handles nicely, has good "get up and go" for a sedan, and nice interior. I've always been a fan of GM's interior controls and locations.

Much of the maintenance I've done on it has been regular wear and tear. It has never left me stranded...yet.

The one item that makes me mad is that I took it in for a "ticking" noise the engine was making. They told me it was due to "scored" pistons and that they'd have to tear down the engine... a $3-4K job. I've subsequently heard that these engines have undersized pistons, which is what is causing this problem once the engine gets a bit of wear on it. I tend to believe that because the dealership indicated that if I went ahead with the engine repairs, they would put better pistons in it. Gee... why didn't they put better pistons in it to start with instead of me having to fork over $4K for repairs?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu sedan 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carSterling Sterling

Summary:

I am so disappointed that Chevy manufactured a car with so many problems

Faults:

Brakes replaced on all 4 wheels within 2 weeks of purchase.

Front brakes replaced and rear drums turned after 10,000 miles.

Electrical problems after 16,000 miles. Radio stopped working. Turn signals stopped working. Dash lights stopped working. Air circulate stopped working. Battery leaking and finally died. Draw was discovered on battery even when car was parked. Computer replaced.

ERG valve caused check engine light to come on. ERG valve replaced at 24,900 miles.

Intake manifold leak discovered at 24,900 miles. Gasket replaced.

A/C compressor does not turn on. Taking car into dealer Monday.

General Comments:

This 2000 Malibu ran great for about a year. I can't believe Chevy has made such a problem car. My warranty expires in August and I am currently looking at Honda Civics. I want to trade in this lemon before the warranty runs out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2003

22nd Aug 2003, 17:21

I am happy someone Malibu was better than my new one.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 SFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Excellent sedan value for the price

Faults:

Front brake pads replaced at 35000 miles. Rotors could be turned, but decided to replace anyway due to Malibu's front brake reputation. New rotors & semi-metallic pads improved braking feel tremendously!

No other problems.

General Comments:

I thoroughly enjoy driving this car.

It continues to get excellent gas mileage and performance/handling continue to keep me entertained.

Original tires still have decent tread left, although I will likely replace soon.

The factory CD/Cassette/Radio has enough power for the aftermarket JBL speakers I installed. I listen to the stereo quite loud on my long commute and it doesn't distort.

I have done some minor performance modifications, but wish there was a bigger aftermarket scene for this car. Can't let the imports get all the attention!

In my opinion, you cannot find a better car with the same list of standard feature, engine, etc. for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu sedan 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired4600 miles
Most recent distance4700 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Got at a good price, but hope it is not a lemon

Faults:

The 2001 Malibu makes a squeaking noises on bumps, which seems related to suspension. Also, the brake is not quite sensitive, I have to push hard for a stop.

General Comments:

The interior design looks pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

I spent way to much for this quality of car

Faults:

Two months after purchasing this car we had to have the engine replaced due to a term GM classifies as piston slap. There is no fix for it so they put in a new engine.

We also had to have our heating controls replaced because they quit working.

The rotors had to be replaced due to a manufacturers recall.

We are now experiencing the same engine noises that we had when we bought the new car. This new engine only has 7000 miles on it so I am not impressed.

General Comments:

All GM vehicles with the V6 turbo or higher between the years 1999-2002 have what is known as piston slap. If you are experiencing this problem they will try and tell you that it is not a reliability issue and will not effect the longevity of your engine. But if your pistons are not fitting or gliding properly in the piston shaft how can it not be a reliability issue or effect the longevity of the engine. I would never buy another GM or Chevrolet product again. They have not dealt with this situation properly or profesionally. They will also tell you there is no fix for the above problem.

The only good thing I can say about this vehicle is when it is running properly it handles very well.

It is roomy enough for three car seats in the back. And the trunk spacious enough for two strollers, a diaper bag, and a cooler for a picnic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

27th Oct 2003, 02:37

What are you talking about? there is no such thing as the V6 turbo in the Malibu's. And if the pistons did not fit perfectly, A) there would be no compression. B) Pistons would either seize, or the engine would burn oil.

Please, oh PLEASE, learn some mechanics before yammering on like some secretary from microsoft.

30th Oct 2008, 09:33

You probably have not come to this major issue yet, as very soon the seal will start leaking and you will get coolant in your engine oil.

This problem occur around 110,000 Ks and it will cost you an arm & a leg to get it fixed, as the mechanic has to completely remove everything to have access to replace this seal.

6 Hours to do the job and 10-16 hours to dismantle and put them back if they do it well.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews