2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 21 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

The Malibu is a horrible car! Waste of money!

Faults:

Sometimes the car will not start. The driver side window sticks and makes a loud noise when being rolled down. Speedometer off and gas gauge is broken, realized gas gauge was broken when I ran out off gas on the highway! Paint is chipping off the hood of the car in several places and is rusting through and I had to have the trunk repainted a few years ago for same reason. The a/c button won't stay on re-circulate-always wants to switch back to outside air. I have had the fuse replaced, but it did no good something has to be wrong with the fuse itself. I know another Malibu owner and they have this problem also. My radio worked fine one day and the next was all stat-icy and is now dead all together! Plus the cd player won't eject the cd half the time. The transmission started slipping over a year ago and is getting worse by the day. Battery corrosion is very bad-my husband had to clean it off a lot and that is not even the original battery that came with the car.

General Comments:

I called Chevrolet about all my problems and how many times the car has been in the shop and they said that since the car is out of warranty I was basically outta luck.

I asked Chevrolet if they get any calls from other Malibu owners and they said the only ones they get are from people praising the car! Yeah right!

They need to recall these cars very badly, but won't because that would put Chevrolet out of business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

12th Oct 2004, 18:45

How well does the writer of this review take care of her car?...I guarantee not very well at all. a car will only be as good as the owner maintains it.

29th May 2007, 12:29

Why does not chevy face the facts, that the car is garbage???

2nd Feb 2010, 19:28

Worst car I ever bought, and disappointed they didn't reimburse me like they did people in other states for the intake gasket going bad because of the coolant oil is in the water. Thanks for nothing GM, you may have changed names, but I know you are the same company.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 kilometres
Most recent distance92000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

A practical and economical family car

Faults:

There has recently been a pronounced chugging in the engine that starts immediately and does not seem to really go away -even when the engine warms up. It sounds like an old diesel engine.

There is also a very distinct rattling noise coming from right under the gear selector in the center console. It's a high-pitched tinny sort of noise.

One horizontal strip of the rear defroster does not heat up -resulting in an annoying line of ice in the back window during the winter.

General Comments:

Overall I have been very happy with the 2000 Malibu. After owning it for 19 months and for over 60,000 km there have been very few problems.

I do not expect the reliability of a Camry or Accord, but so far that's what I have got so far.

The engine chugging was attributed to faulty design of the 1-4 pistons. The guy at the Chevy dealer told me he had printed up a stack of info sheets on this problem because of the frequency of the complaint. He told me not to bother getting it fixed because of the cost ($2000 Canadian).

It's not a major problem, but it is annoying.

Has anyone else (who would like to do something about it) run into this problem?

J.olsen@uleth.ca.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Distance when acquired21000 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Faults:

Shakes at 100km and up. New tires, brakes, wheel alignment and balancing. Re-balanced several times. Rims are fine.

Any ideas? This is driving me crazy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

15th Jun 2003, 19:57

I'm no mechanic, but a friend of mine had a Buick La Sabre with a vibration at the same speed. The dealer finally found the problem in the engine crankshaft.

19th Jun 2003, 22:21

Same nasty front end vibration with our "01, especially on speeds above 110k. After 40km on tires interesting wear pattern shows up on inside of left front tire. Dealer replacing front tires, blames primarily Firestone tires, coupled with inherent front end problems of this model. He indicates same problems with all of their recent Malibus, they replace tires on most between 40-60,000 km.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews