2000 Chevrolet Malibu Reviews - Page 26 of 26

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres

Summary:

A big headache

Faults:

There is so much that went wrong with the car: (short version)

Brake pulsation, the rotors were warped, had them replaced on 2 different occasions.

Brakes squeaked, checked 3 times at different locations and was told the brakes are fine and it is normal. The sound disappeared after the last one, but 4 months later it happened again and this time I had to get new brake pads at 30,000km (not covered by warranty).

The engine light kept going on - had then try to find out what it was 3 times.

Both front and passenger windows were replaced. The power windows did not operate.

Back left taillight not sealed properly.

The back seat creaked when someone sits down on it, still working on it.

The fan belt went.

And so on... worst is that GM told me that they expect adjustments.

General Comments:

The car makes too much noise and fuel efficiency is not what they claim.

The service department is a nightmare to deal with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

19th Jun 2003, 22:05

My 2000 Chevy Malibu constantly has the engine light on, even after many complaints to the dealer I was told that nothing was wrong as long as it was not blinking, well it started blinking and shut off. I have only 1900 miles on a brand new vehicle, my state inspection was passed in just April of this year. I'd like to know whom is responsible for my broken down car?

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance21900 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Another GM mistake

Faults:

Within 1 year, 4 of the 6 pistons in the engine had to be rebuilt, resulting in an annoying tapping noise, which the dealer says is a normal characteristic.

General Comments:

I will not accept that the problems I have had with this Chevrolet Malibu LS are natural characteristics of that model. That's like getting half of a product and paying full price for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great value

Faults:

I've only put 7500 miles on this car, so it doesn't get much wear.

The only thing I've had wrong with it is warped rotors. The dealer replaced them, and said that was a common problem with Malibu's.

Other than the rotors, really no problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

The car is a great family sedan.

It has great acceleration, and is very roomy in the passenger compartment.

There are plenty of nice little "extras"

GM added to the vehicle as well, including 3 hidden cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2001

16th Nov 2005, 09:51

For the individual who is experiencing harsh/loud starts in the mornings... try replacing your PCV valve. I had similar problems a year ago, when someone recommended replacing PCV valve. My '00 Malibu does not experience loud starts any longer. Hope this helps.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu V6 3.1L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 3.1L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired32800 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

I am starting to regret buying this car

Faults:

Rotors warped and had to be replaced, was told this is common problem with this car.

Pistons tapping on cold starts, also common problem with this car. Was told the dealer would only replace them under warranty if the knocking exceeded 2 min after start up and mine did.

General Comments:

This car does have a very nice, roomy interior.

The car handles pretty good at high speeds, but doesn't seem to accelerate very quickly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

13th Jul 2001, 19:17

My Malibu accelerates very well. Try not to floor the accelerator. It's not a sports car, but it has pushed my passengers into their seats.

14th Apr 2003, 13:47

Same thing with my car,64000km need a new motor, pistons.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

The 2000 Malibu is a rust bucket!

Faults:

I have owned this 2000 Malibu for 9 months and have only 6,100 miles on it.

There is "all-over" rusting on the finish - front, back and sides - even up the back of the car. GM is saying that the brakes on the Malibu have metal flakes which fly up and out and land on the car's finish causing brownish/red rust spots in the clear coat. GM are not standing behind the car. They say it is not a defect. Supposedly all Malibu's have this problem, but owners of white Malibu's will notice it far ahead of other color cars. There is no known cure for this problem and GM is saying owners must "clay" their cars twice a year to slow down the rusting process! Do not buy a Chevrolet Malibu!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

6th Jun 2001, 19:58

I had a 1997 White Malibu with this rust problem. No one knew what it was. Thanks for your info. Also the car was solid from 0 to 60,000 miles. From 60,000 to 85,000 it cost me $5500 in repairs. I have traded it in and bought a different vehicle. I wouldn't buy another Malibu.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance22600 miles
Previous carDodge Ram 1500

Summary:

Stay away!

Faults:

I have replaced the brakes and rotors now twice in 5 months. The dealership, after being pushed, finally agreed that GM has a problem they have yet to been able to fix. They re-designed the rotors, but that hasn't fixed the problem. They put the RE-DESIGNED rotors on my Malibu 5 months ago and again yesterday! The dealership told me they had replaced these twice now already at no charge to me and the next time I would have to pay!

General Comments:

GM should not be selling a known defected product!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2001

10th May 2001, 21:25

I own a 2000 Malibu and have had to replace the front brakes 3 times and will soon replace them a fourth. The odd thing about my Malibu is that the brakes wear down completely on one side and not at all on on the other. The dealer said that a right brake hose needs to be replaced because it's constantly engaged. The car is in the shop right now for the brakes and for a new fuel injector which makes the car stall while it is going down the road. I've owned this car for a 15 months. The brakes need to be replaced every 6000 miles. I believe that it is a hazard to drive this car. Of course, none of these repairs have been covered under the warranty. Every time I've phoned or e-mailed Chevy, they insist that this is normal wear and tear and will not do anything to repair a problem that is a result of their own poor workmanship. This car is great to drive when it works well. It handles well, it has great pick up, and good fuel economy. I love the car WHEN IT WORKS and when it doesn't drain my pocketbook.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 99 reviews