1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Reviews - Page 5 of 14

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS 3.1 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

I believe it to be one of the nicest cars ever built by General Motors

Faults:

Most normal things that can go wrong with any car you own except for a couple items.

I had to replace the alternator.

Ran a little on the hot side and found that the thermostat needed to be replaced.

The drivers side window will sometimes not close and reason is still unknown.

GM made a distributor hole in the 3.1 engine and although not used, the seal will leak a little oil and need to be replaced.

The front bumper plastic grille opening buckled for no reason and plastic chrome trim there has peeled a little. No reason for this and think GM should replace.. but they won't. (what ever happened to real chrome and metal)?

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable with leather seats. I have driven and sat in Lexus seats that weren't any better. Has a very rich feel to the interior.

The car handles very well and even more so since I changed the stock LS size tires to the larger Z34 tires and handling is even better now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2005

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 3.4 Liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.4 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Previous carFord Maverick

Summary:

Reliable, but not worth the money

Faults:

Power steering hose busted and melted my shifter cable, 3 vacuum hoses, and both of my heater core hoses.

Weird clunking noise when you go over bumps and rail road tracks.

Power seat stop working mysteriously.

General Comments:

Great car none the less.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

29th Sep 2011, 20:09

That clunking could be a ball joint or CV joint.

1995 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Z34 V6 3.4 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance85695 miles

Summary:

A money grubbing, well put together hunk of junk

Faults:

Since the first week I had the car, things started to go terribly wrong.

I noticed a clanking noise like a rock in a tin can when I drove it. I went to get it checked out and the mechanic said that the filter in my catalytic converter was hard and I needed a new one. Thinking I would come out cheaper just to go to an auto parts store to get it and pay the mechanic for just the labor was a BIG mistake.

The car still burned gas heavily and the engine made the whole car shake whenever I accelerated. Also, my RPM was going up to 4. Other than that, it was fine to drive...Until, a couple of months rolled by and I found out I needed another Catalytic Converter because the one I thought I was saving money on was too small and it was burning cherry red. They also told me I might need 2 fuel injectors, but needed to put it on a machine to be certain... I passed.

When the winter came, the car began shutting off when I put it in park, sometimes not turning back on until I let it sit for a while.

One day while driving, I noticed that I had no heat and that my car was smoking under the hood. Turns out, I needed a water pump because antifreeze was leaking and spraying into and onto the engine.

Now I'm at another loss because the car is not accelerating properly (after stopping at stop signs and/or lights, the car only goes 10-20 mph tops before kicking into gears) and this time they said it was the transmission. The transmission people said it was the catalytic converter blowing exhaust back into the engine, and the catalytic converter people say it's fuel injectors, two cylinders in my V6 are bad, I'm only running on four and I need another (you guessed it) Catalytic Converter.

Costs:

Catalytic Converter#1- 45 dollars

Mechanic to fix it- 50 dollars.

Catalytic Converter#2- 125 parts and labor.

Water Pump- 65 dollars

Mechanic- 50 dollars.

Major Tune up- 135 dollars.

Estimated cost of Fuel Injectors, Catalytic Converter#3 and labor- 480 dollars.

Estimated Cost of PRNDL clutch and Torque Converter for trans- 300 dollars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

21st Apr 2005, 16:46

That's a shame that you think it is a poor car... I myself own one and I think its the greatest car I have ever owned... i keep the oil changed and have regular tune-ups and the only think I have had to replace in the past 4 years I have owned it is a set of spark plugs and the tires... i myself give Chevy a big thumbs up on this car! and would recommend it to any of my friends!!

4th Jun 2005, 23:29

MY two year ordeal with a 95 Z34 Monte Carlo resulted in 4 new fuel injectors, timing belt, timing belt idler pulley, power steering pump, power steering high pressure hose, power steering pulley, alternator, an oil leak that couldn't be found also the transmission was slipping. I let the bank take it back.

14th Nov 2005, 11:05

First of all if you don't notice 5 plus liters of coolant has leaked out of your car, you should not be allowed to drive. Second when you overheat your car because you run it out of coolant to the point where it is smoking you will have all the problems that you have described. Water pumps fail. It happens with all makes and models. The 3.4L is a well built motor, just hard to work on. In other words the things you are complaining about are your own fault. Take better care of your vehicles so in future we all don't have to endure your whining.

2nd Jun 2006, 19:25

It sounds like the valve body has gone bad. My Z34 ran rough, would shake, bang gears, not shift right, rev like a banshee and driver's side window would not go up. Whenever there is something wrong the driver's side window stays down. Fix the problem and the window goes up.

28th Mar 2012, 16:48

I was thinking of buying a 1995 Monte Carlo Z34. But the guy says it has no brakes.

It has the 3.4 engine in it. It rides good, and the oil looks good. Also the transmission fluid looks good, and it shifts on time. It has 166,000 miles.

I don't know if I should get it with the brake issue?

20th Jun 2012, 10:42

Hell ya, that's right, take care of your car a little better.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 49 reviews