1986 Chevrolet Nova 1.6L L-4 from North America

Summary:

Futuristic Nova Super Sport!

Faults:

There were and still are, not that many problems. Only brakes and carburator problems.

General Comments:

It is a very nice and dependable car. I would like to keep it and upgrade its performance to a customized Super Sport.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1986 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Go and go and go and go

Faults:

Quite a few things in the last year but you have to see that this car has many many miles on it. The only major problem this car has had though was that the tranny went out about 185,259, that cost a fortune but it was worth it, the car still looks fairly new considering all it's been through. I don't think the transmission would have gone if it weren't for my heavy foot trying to force an economy car to be something it wasn't.

General Comments:

I'm not sure if this is a Geo for the fact that mine is the only one that has Geo on the back of it that I've seen. On the title it also has Chevy.. course I've seen Spectrums the same way so I don't know. It just might be a Geo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2000

27th Aug 2004, 10:43

Your car could not be a Geo because it is a 1986 model. Chevrolet did not introduce Geo until 1988. In addition, the Nova was never made as a Geo.

18th Feb 2005, 22:27

Actually, Chevrolet didn't release Geo until 1989, the only year that the Spectrum was made.

8th Mar 2005, 19:57

Yes, your vehicle is actually a Chevy Nova. They were manufactured from 1985 through 1989. They have a Toyota power train in them-that is why they go and go and go. They are basically a Toyota Corolla in Chevy clothing. I have an 87 Nova with 160,000 miles on it and she still runs great-doesn't use a bit of oil.

9th Feb 2006, 15:39

Hey! I've an 86 Nova - nicknamed the "ToyoLet" because it IS a Toyota underneath!

Just rolled through 339,000 miles! Mine has a 5-speed and I add 1 quart of oil about every 2000 miles! Plugs burn clean and no leaks! My 5-speed transmission is getting "tired" though and I'm having some trouble with it popping out of 5th gear if I decelerate and re-accelerate : (

I'll be selling it soon for real cheap - but it's been a great car for me! (Bought it with 282,000 miles on it in June 2000.)

Averages 28~30 MPG (combined City/Hwy) if I drive above 65 MPH - gets 32~36 MPG if I keep it below 65 MPH!

These for geared for back when the max speed limit was 55 MPH - I'm sure that's the reason it isn't as efficient at higher speeds!

I had to put a clutch in it back in Oct 2000 - had new axle assemblies done at the same time ($1090.00). Added a water pump last April 2005. I've replaced the alternator once with a used one ($25 salvage yard) and then changed the brushes in that one a few months later ($6 - order brushes for a GM). Had to put a used Windshield Wiper Motor in it Oct05 ($25 at the salvage yard).

I've driven from Western Montana to Little Rock, AR and back twice and just took a round trip to Melbourne, FL Dec05.

Good car - but great care by previous owners (2) helped also! The old ToyoLet is just getting tired!

1986 Chevrolet Nova 1.6 from North America

Faults:

Nothing but the usual things brakes, belts, battery.

General Comments:

Real dependable car - it should be since it's the mechanical twin of the Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 1999