1991 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance245146 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Best damn truck I have ever owned

Faults:

Replaced radiator in 1997.

Replaced clutch at 197,000 miles.

Replaced transmission at 212,000 miles.

Roof lining is falling down.

Driver seat is worn out.

Factory shocks are failing.

Wipers won't work on low speed.

Tape player doesn't work.

General Comments:

For all of the punishment this truck has been through, she still cranks up every morning and lights the tires up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

1991 Chevrolet S-10 2.5L 151 Ci from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 151 Ci Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

GM made it, it's crap

Faults:

Cracked head.

Cab mount.

Shocks.

Cracked exhaust manifold.

Connecting rod broke in number 2 cylinder.

Throttle body.

Oxygen sensor.

Two studs broken off the left rear axle.

Shakes at 55mph.

General Comments:

I do all of my own mechanic work so I know what was really wrong. And everything was done right.

But that's what you get when you buy General Motors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

2nd Sep 2001, 20:14

If you treat the truck right, it WILL treat you right. My 1991 S-10, 245,000 miles, never had ANY major breakdowns of any major part. I love my truck and hope to be buried in it someday. If you don't like it, get rid of it.

25th Feb 2003, 18:49

I bought my 91 S-10 with 79,000 miles on it, it now has 0ver 186,000 and I have had no major problems. Basically the only problem was a cracked exhaust manifold. I have pulled trailers, and crossed mountains. It's been great. Give me a Chevy any day! Alan Stonecipher Corpus Christi, Texas.

16th Sep 2003, 18:14

Lol I traded a snowblower for my 91 s-10, changed wheel cylinders, brake lines, has 183000 miles on it, has 2.8 v-6, will burn the tires off the truck, rides like a caddy, I love this truck.

12th Jun 2007, 08:35

Apart from the fact that it rides like crap, I love my 91 s-10 blazer more than anything. I bought it at 139000 miles at 16, now have 210000 miles and am 19, and it still runs like a champ, with good maintenance you can't beat them, and to all those trashing newer (95+) blazers, just buy one with over 100000 miles, cause at that mileage its probably not a lemon or has had the bugs worked out.

22nd Jun 2008, 15:10

Let me know when you come across a Ford that doesn't need a transmission or a power steering pump 2 years after it rolls off of the showroom floor; all those years Ford has been making cars and trucks, and not 1 of their so-called engineers can come up with a part that actually works, and more importantly lasts like bowties equipment, yes I love my Chevys.

9th Oct 2009, 18:33

To the commentor above me: my 1999 Explorer didn't need any major work throughout the time I owned it.

To the reviewer: sounds like the previous owner (s?) treated your truck like crap.

19th Jan 2010, 11:55

I bought my old 90 S-10 for 500 dollars. It had 204,000 miles on it. Died on me at 218,000. Sold it to a guy for 100 bucks, and he replaced fuel pump, and it's still on the road. Last I heard it had 250,000 miles. 2.5L is one of the best motors ever produced. Sounds like the crap has been run outta yours, and it hasn't had routine maintenance done.

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer 4.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 miles
Most recent distance186200 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Distinguished styling, performance enhanced, and very well engineered

Faults:

- Water pump.

- Rough idle in the mornings.

- Transmission filter clogged up.

- Goes through light bulbs like water.

- A little bit of a rough ride.

General Comments:

- I love this truck.

- This is my second one and I do not intend to ever get rid of it.

- The exterior styling is simple yet, distinguished.

- The interior cabin is near perfect.

- Everything is within reach.

- The only thing I do not like about my S-10 Blazer is that it does not have power windows or door locks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

1991 Chevrolet S-10 2wd 4.3 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carPontiac Fiero

Summary:

Great little hauler

Faults:

Tires, brakes, nothing abnormal.

General Comments:

Love the truck, added bucket seats from a Blazer, love it more now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Tahoe 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Most faithful and reliable companion

Faults:

Repaint (recall).

Standard maintenance - I use Mobil 1 synthetic oil.

Alternator.

Water pump.

Rebuilt transmission.

Squeaks and rattles a lot.

Interior stuff falls off.

Somewhat rough ride.

Brakes go out very quickly.

General Comments:

Starts up every time. Gives me warning before anything breaks down. Haven't been stranded yet. Engine is still very strong after 145k miles. Would never sell it.

Sadly, wouldn't buy another GM because the interior is worthless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Tahoe 4.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Am

Summary:

A reliable utilitarian everyday workhorse

Faults:

All minor: Emergency cable snapped, hood latch cable snapped, driver's door armrest ripped. That is about it.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle in 1996 with 92,000 miles thinking that it would hopefully last 2 to 3 years. To my delight, it has been almost 5 years now and I cannot see buying another vehicle. This Blazer has been so much fun to drive that I am going to keep this vehicle until it finally does wears out, and the way that it is going it could be a while....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2001

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Sport 4.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great vehicle for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have added a lot to my Blazer, it runs great still and I plan on keeping it until the wheels fall off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews