1991 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired234000 miles
Most recent distance246000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

I love this little truck!

Faults:

Nothing other than normal wear and tear. Truck is in remarkable shape for it's age and miles.

General Comments:

2.8 Liter engine runs great!

Solid little pick up truck.

Almost 250,000 miles and does not burn a drop of oil!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

1st Dec 2005, 09:57

It's nearly 2006, and I'm still running this little truck!

Thought I'd post a follow-up. She's clocked 277,000 miles, and still running strong! New starter in 2004 cost me $35, she cranks like a new one now. Cab corners rusted out and holes appearing above rear wheel wells, but that is what happens here in Indiana. This truck is STILL the best $300 I ever spent.

1st Mar 2008, 17:42

March 1 2008:An update on my little S10 - She's hauled about 12 ricks of firewood this winter... still going strong with 285,000+ miles! Going to have put new plug wires, plugs and rotor on as it's prone to hard starting when it's damp out. Several people have tried to buy her, but she's worth more to me than they would be willing to give.

9th Oct 2011, 10:45

October 9, 2011 update on my S-10 (291,000 miles) : Still have her, and still use her to haul firewood. Once day last winter, when my wife had to run to town (in a hurry), it was the only vehicle in the drive (out of about 4, all newer) that would start.

Replaced the driver's door handle last year. She needs a few other things (exhaust work, possible shocks), but I've proposed doing those things and using her (again) for my 84 mile round trip to work. My wife thinks I'm crazy.

This truck STILL burns no oil... AMAZING!

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe Extra Cab 4.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Dependable Truck

Faults:

Over the course of my 11 years of ownership I have replaced :

Two alternators,

Two water pumps,

One set up motor mounts,

One starter.

Smoke clouds on startup happened just after the warranty expired at 36,000 miles. This is due to worn valve guide seals.

The Driver side, inside door latch return spring broke at approximately 100,000 miles.

Replaced upper and lower control arm bushing and ball joints at 180,000 miles.

The paint was applied too thin and oxidizes easily. Primer is starting to show through on the roof.

The original tires only lasted 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

The engine still runs solid, has good oil pressure and I do not need to add oil between oil changes.

Except for the recent front suspension work, it has only needed some minor repairs through it's 11 years.

My only complaint would be the worn valve guide seals that cause a cloud of smoke on startup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Tahoe Edt. 4.3 litre 4X2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 litre 4X2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired148232 miles
Most recent distance148850 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Excellent Deal, Awesome Value for the money Highly suggest getting one!

Faults:

For the little time that I have owned this vehicle it is great.

Awesome on GAS!

Comfortable ride.

4 doors are great for room & friends.

Solenoid is starting to work on and off, not bad for it being original.

Other than that this is the greatest $800 paid for a vehicle I ever had.

By the way don't buy a Ford; Chevy's better!

General Comments:

Excellent Vehicle.

Excellent Value - Air Conditioning.

Cruise, Power Mirrors, Power Locks.

Bucket Seats in front, bench in rear.

Full-Size Spare (Which is rare these.

Days)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2002

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance188239 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

An all around great truck

Faults:

Both seats have started to wear after 10 years of punishment.

The water pump stopped working at about 150,000.

The paint has started to chip, just like all other 1992 s-10 models, because of a poor primer used by Chevy.

The fan control switch stopped working at about 70,000 miles.

I have had to buy about 1 or 2 new starters.

General Comments:

This truck is a wonderful automobile.

The little 2.6L V-6 puts out enough power to pull a 15 boat and trailer.

Reliable transportation even after 100,000 city and highway miles.

No problems with transmission or drivetrain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews