1991 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 2 of 11

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.8 V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired239000 miles
Most recent distance244000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Die-hard engine, truck nicknamed 'Cockroach'

Faults:

The alternator has been replaced, and that is all.

General Comments:

Absolutely fantastic. The truck has had two owners before me. An elderly couple bought it brand new and took care of it religiously. They sold it to my uncle who gave it to me.

The only thing that's been replaced is the alternator and it runs perfect. I believe the engine will never fail, and I'm happy as heck I didn't get a Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2009

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.8L TBI from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.8L TBI Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Absolutely the cheapest commuter car (truck) on the road

Faults:

The truck developed an oil leak around the distributor that uses about a quart of oil about every 500-1000 miles. The radiator was replaced at 145k and again at 254k miles. The heater core was replaced when the truck had 175k miles. It was also tuned up at 100k and 200k miles. The hydraulic brake line that runs from the master cylinder to the rear axle of the truck was replaced at 143k. The Oxygen sensor was replaced at 150k.

General Comments:

I drive this truck daily 135 miles (round trip) ~32,000 miles per year. While not the most luxurious vehicle, it has proven very dependable. It gets a religious 28mpg hwy.

I attribute much of the engine longevity to series III truck oil that I began using at 50k miles. I use Rotella 15w-40 getting great service. I fully expect to get over 300k on this 2.8l engine. There are two things 2.8l (or any engine with a 60 degree block) doesn't like: no engine braking, and no high rpm's. The block design doesn't like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2008

1991 Chevrolet S-10 2.5L from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

This truck is most likely the best vehicle I will ever own

Faults:

Replaced a pilot bearing, because in the first 2 years I had it, I spun the tires at every red light.

I put new brushes in the starter about 100,000 miles ago. Still has the original starter.

Painted it in 2004.

Seats are worn, but to be expected at 230,000 miles.

Has a cracked windshield.

Has a problem with the hydraulic clutch. Haven't had time to work on it yet.

General Comments:

Gave $6000 for the truck 17 years ago. Still runs strong.

It's not fast, but it pulls well. Over the years, I have used it to haul rocks, dirt, gravel, my ATV, and even drag 15" dia. x 12 foot logs out of the woods back home.

The main downfall is that the cab is small. It's a little cramped on long trips, and this truck has seen its fair share of those.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2008

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer 4.3L V6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance200047 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Its beyond words, how much I love this truck; outstanding to say the least

Faults:

I bought the blazer with a bad engine. It smoked when floored and at start up.

Replaced starter at approx. 150000 miles, and again at 180000 miles.

Right engine mount.

Replaced engine, along with: water pump, distributor, spark plugs/wires, fuel pump, battery, clutch plate, clutch slave cylinder, K&N air filter all at 175000 miles, approx. 40000 miles later.

Cat- converter at 182000 miles.

Tires, brake shoes, and brake discs.

Acquired new stereo.

A hole appeared in the radiator and fixed it with some epoxy.

Right blinker release gadget stopped working.

Electrical problem with the dome lights posed a problem, but fixed it with an alternative toggle switch at approx. 189000 miles.

Replaced one headlight.

Roof started to sag at 194000 miles and after spray adhesive and super glue wouldn't work, I stitched it up.

4x4 vacuum actuator broke at 197500 miles.

Driver seat is starting to rip on the bottom cushion.

And new wiper blades complete the list of all that has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I bought this blazer with a bad engine. It smoked when floored and at start up only. I didn't notice any power decrease at all. thinking it was the valves that were bad, I tried to replace them, but when putting it together, I screwed up the timing. I tried several times to fix it, but to no avail; I eventually gave up. It sat for a little over a year until I eventually replaced the engine with a rebuilt at 175000 miles. I put about 40000 miles on that bad engine and had absolutely no problems what so ever. second guessing the blazer, (bad decision) I bought a real cool 2000 Toyota Tacoma Pre Runner TRD. I tried to repair the engine in the blazer while driving the Tacoma. A little over a year later, I had to get rid of the Tacoma because at that time, I was living in San Diego, CA and I couldn’t afford the car payments. That’s when I replaced the engine in the blazer so I can continue using it. Ever since than, I have put almost 30000 miles on this new engine in 10 months. I took a 31 state road trip and nothing went wrong. I just recently went over 200000 miles about a month ago and still running hard. I love it!

I have driven this blazer hard ever since I bought it and every time it has never let me down. I wouldn't trade it for the world. I will keep it forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

14th Jun 2010, 21:33

Today is June 14, 2010 and I am commenting on my own survey.

Since the last report, I have put brakes, catalytic converter, ignition control module, new rear window shocks, new alternator with belt, stereo (previous one got stolen) new tires.

I have 230000 miles on this blazer, and I still beat the crap out of it almost every day. Just once did it let me down. I have been to all but 9 states, and I still get people that think it's still cool.

Two years down and still many years to go. Did I mention that I love this truck? I love it!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews