1991 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 2.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

A very dependable, strong little truck for the money

Faults:

My fuel pump relay has went bad.

The brakes and clutch needed replaced at 185000.

General Comments:

This truck has held up better than any other truck I have ever seen.

No rust, dents, or major scratches, very decent truck for a 1991 with 198000 miles.

This truck is not a luxury vehicle, but it accommodates for the typical daily driver.

A great truck for beginners, or younger drivers.

Very dependable, it has always got the job done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1991 Chevrolet S-10 2.5 liter 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

It is very reliable, and has a unique look to it

Faults:

You have to change the emergency brake cable once a year.

General Comments:

This truck is extremely reliable and I have never had it break down once. I will be sure to buy an S-10 again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

1991 Chevrolet S-10 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance275000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

Old Betsy just can't be killed

Faults:

My water pump needed to be replaced at about 150000 miles.

The clutch was replaced at the same time.

The body on this truck definitely below par. It is rusted completely through in many spots, and the paint has all, but completely fallen off.

General Comments:

I trust this truck like I would my mother. It has never once left me anywhere.

This truck has been a newspaper vehicle for about 10 years. I run a paper route that is at least 75 miles every night (365 days a year). I also drive it to my college classes (almost 30 miles away) at least 3 times a week.

I'll drive this truck until it simply won't go no more. Then I'll debate whether to rebuild or not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

20th Dec 2005, 00:06

My s10 has 207500 miles on it and it keeps going. I have only had to replace the water pump. It still has the original clutch. It is a sweet little dependable truck, and it is not giving up yet.

16th Apr 2009, 00:37

I also have a 91 S10 that was bought brand new and taken care of by an elderly couple. It has 244,000 miles on it and has only had the alternator replaced. It drives as if it will last another ten years.

1991 Chevrolet S-10 regular cab Tahoe 2.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34900 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

Very low maintenance vehicle

Faults:

Heater core has small coolant leak.

General Comments:

Interior needs only the bucket seats out of a Blazer to be completely comfortable.

Paid only $2,900.

The 2.8L V6 may only have 125hp, but it provides plenty of spunk.

Put 2,500 miles on it in four days for a road trip, had absolutely no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer Tahoe 4X4 4.3 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carSubaru Justy

Summary:

Great SUV, powerful, sporty

Faults:

I bought this SUV a few weeks ago, so I will list what it needed when bought.

I had to have the rear main seal replaced, it was leaking pretty badly, but for 197,000 miles it's nothing really.

The throttle body had to be cleaned and dipped from heavy carbon deposits, the central vacuum was really low, so this cured the problem.

All tune up parts replaced.

Oxygen sensor was needing to be replaced, so I did. (code came up)

Replaced the idler arm.

It needs new CV joints, the ones in it are a gonner!

Replaced the noisy idler pulley.

Replaced hoses, thermostat, and flushed cooling system.

General Comments:

I bought this truck for a mere $800 cash from an original owner. It needed a serious wax job and a good cleaning (black paint is impossible to keep clean). It was cared for pretty well, the owner just bought a new Jimmy, so they didn't need this one. I just put another $600 into the truck, but it runs and looks really good, and it's worth it to me. The owners were very up front with me on the repairs needed, which is rare.

I feel safe in this truck, since I just sold my 1990 Subaru Justy (that is the smallest little car I have ever driven). It's much more solid, and 100 times more room.

Very comfortable.

Good looking SUV. Very rugged appearance.

4 wheel drive, need I say more? Love it.

Drives very well on and off road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews