1991 Chevrolet S-10 Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Blazer 4.3 vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

The integrity of the body is very questionable, but the engine will never quit

Faults:

O2 sensor went bad at 125,000.

Complete exhaust system twice.

Repaint 3 times by Chevy for bad primer problem.

Mag wheels corroded after 3 years.

Rusted out repaired 4 times (around the wheel wells).

Head liner is now coming down.

New computer at 145,000.

Electronic dash went out twice and was replaced twice.

General Comments:

The 4.3 is just about the best engine in its class, it is the only reason why I keep the car this long. I still feel it will last another 50,000 or more. Now that I am having transmission troubles (shifting between 25mi & 35mi), I just don't know what direction to go in?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

29th Jan 2003, 09:09

Yeah, I would go ahead and buy a transmission from a junkyard and, put in the blazer. It would be cheaper than buying it new from a GM dealer. But my 89 blazer is still running strong with 300,000 on it. It's a 4.3 throttle body with a 5 speed transmission.

Thank You,

deal_45680@yahoo.com.

21st Oct 2004, 09:09

I have a 1991 Chevy S-10 Blazer. It is a great first car, my mom doesnt, trust it, but I do. After 13 almost 14 years it's still running great. there is a possibility that it may have a dead cylinder, but other wise it runs great, except when the engine gets wet (rough start). It is hard to start in the cold weather, but I have faith in in it and it always starts.

6th Jan 2005, 14:08

I have a 91 s-10 blazer with 173,000 mile on it spent about $1,500 on since I bought it in 94 mostly the water pump and a bunch of little thing. But it made through being rear ended by a 18 wheeler (His fault!) I love the truck and I will keep it till it dies.

11th Feb 2005, 20:26

I bought a 91 blazer with a 4.3 liter engine @ 2 yrs ago from a used car dealer. after getting new rotors, front brakes, alternator, and tires this truck moves!! the only thing bad about the truck is the placement of the spark plugs, ugh!! DO NOT TRY TO REMOVE THE PLUGS YOURSELF, take it to a shop, costs a little more, but saves a lot of aggravation. anyone else try to change the plugs? the plugs on mine were the originals I think. 140k and still goin, but now I have a problem with the radiator (i think). just flushed it 3 weeks ago and the reservoir has dark nasty stuff in it, kinda like oil. anyone else have that problem?

Nchotwheels26@hotmail.com.

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Tahoe 4.3 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.3 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A very solid truck all around, well worth purchasing

Faults:

Replaced alternator at 95,000 miles.

Replaced water pump at 104,000 miles.

The latch on the center console broke.

The paint is flaking off of the body because of a factory defect with the primer.

Rear window shocks have worn out.

General Comments:

Overall the truck has been very reliable.

The paint is a factory defect with the primer and Chevy put a limit of 5 years or 50,000 miles on getting it fixed, but the problem did not occur on my truck until it was 6 years old.

The interior is very spacious.

The truck rides nice considering it has 4 wheel drive.

I have never gotten into any snow or mud that I could not get out of with the Blazer, and I am only running all terrain tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

1991 Chevrolet S-10 Durango 4.3 T.B.I. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.3 T.B.I. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance246000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

No better value in the compact pickup market for the budget conscious

Faults:

I replaced the alternator twice - once in 1994 and again in 1999.

I replaced the exhaust twice - the first time in 1996 from the catalytic convertor back and the second time the complete exhaust in 1999.

Otherwise only the usual maintenance type of repairs such as re lining the brakes and a couple of ball-joints were performed in the seven years I owned this truck.

General Comments:

Being a first generation S-truck from the snow belt, of course there were some surface rust problems... but light rust repair and a paint job took care of that in the fall of 1999.

For seven years, this truck was indeed my best friend and left me nowhere. It started, ran and drove like a champ no matter what the conditions, and hauled whatever I cared to load in it!

Unfortunately, as I am a technician at a local Ford dealership, I was "coerced" to sell my little Chevy and replace it with an older Ford Ranger. What a mistake! After replacing its engine in less than three months and about 5000 km (3000 miles) I am left with a less than appealing sense of ownership. Needless to say, I'm currently shopping for another Chevy. I highly recommend these little trucks, particularly with the 4.3 engine if you desire a reliable compact pickup. As the ad says, "Like a rock".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews