1997 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 305 V8 from North America


The car is not bad, except for a coolant leak


Leaking coolant for 7 years. Can't find the source. Assume it is related to the intake gasket. Leak is found in other GM models as well and in prior model years. It is ridiculous that GM will not fix this under warranty.

General Comments:

Besides the coolant leak, I have been satisfied with the performance of the vehicle. I will not purchase another GM vehicle based on the lack of responsiveness from the manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2008

9th Feb 2010, 00:53

I have also had a mystery coolant leak in my GMC CK1500 5.0. I just put it in the shop for an intake gasket that just let loose last week. Coolant was gushing all over the top of the engine. I did put some Prestone radiator sealer in it about 3 years ago to band-aid the problem, but last week my band-aid got ripped off.

Good luck with your coolant leak, I would start shopping around for a good intake gasket, and a good price to put it on.

1997 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7L Vortec 350 from North America


I love the truck, and I'd buy another just like it if I could


The only problems I've had have been the usual high mileage problems.

My radiator split a seam and had to be replaced, the A/C compressor went out due to a leak in the low pressure sensor which also caused a short in the wires that blew out 3 climate control switches, and I have a minor leak on the transmission, but it's most likely a loose seal or gasket.

General Comments:

As for people who have problems with it shifting hard, make sure your truck doesn't have a towing package before you assume there is something wrong with it.

Also check which transmission you have in the truck. Chevy uses two different transmissions in the 96' and 97' Silverado or C1500.

It has a great stock sound system and runs like a dream. Yes it shifts a little hard if you try to take off slow, but the towing package causes that. Give it more gas and it's not that noticeable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2008

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 from North America


One word - I will get another one just before I retire


This is the first major repair, but it all seems to deal with steering problems.

Just 6 months ago replaced power steering lines and seals. Then 2 months later power steering pump goes. Just replaced that and when I do a cold start there is a terrible whining noise coming from the engine compartment, probably belt problems although drive belt is less than a year old.

This morning, a cool morning -3C, there is a grinding noise coming from under the steering wheel. I suspect it may be the bearing between the column and the steering wheel.

Dealer tells me rack and pinion and that will fix everything for big bucks.

Comments or suggestions please (send them to mrd911@hotmail.com) or post here.


General Comments:

This has been a great first truck for me as a Chevy product.

There has been a few minor problems, but that is just due to age. The majority of my miles are highway related commuting back and forth to work each week (750kms) with a few vacation trips thrown in. I still get good mileage and the body has held up well in our Canadian winters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2007

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Extended Cab 5.0 Vortex from North America


It is very reliable


It does fine and all, but after running for at least an hour, it will shift hard from 1st to 2nd if I stop or slow down.

My service engine soon light came on, but after a while it went off. It still shifts hard every now and then. I thought the transmission was going, but when I got on this site and saw everybody with the same truck are having the same problem, it has to be a defect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

1997 Chevrolet Silverado SLT 5.7L V8 from North America


The Power of a Muscle Car, and The Utility of a Full-Size Pickup


Just regular maintanance items like oil, tires, etc.

Engine now has a strange miss in it that won't go away, it causes raw gas to come out of the left tailpipe.

General Comments:

This truck has been an excellent example of how a truck should be in our family.

We have had no major mechanical problems with the truck and it always performs well when called upon.

The overall feeling of quality and solidity of the truck really makes you feel safe and confident. This truck will hold up well in an accident.

The 350 v8 will really smoke the tires, and on a wet road, you better have something on the bed or the back end just might come around on you.

The paint and the interior of the truck looks brand new, just like it did fresh off the showroom in 1997.

We use this truck to pull our 27 ft. Chaparral speedboat, and it pulls it like it's not even there.

The only downside is that it gets about 13MPG, but that's probably because of the miss, which sends half the gas out the tailpipe.

All in all, I think that these trucks really are great values because they are durable, good looking, powerful, and have good resale value.

If only they put four speeds in half ton v8's...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2007