1997 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 6 of 11

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 4.8L V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.8L V8 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86567 miles
Most recent distance120553 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

It's an overall good truck.

Faults:

The only thing that I have had trouble with is the door handle breaking off. But,it was a quick fix and did not cost too much.

General Comments:

I love my truck. My only complaints is the rear seat room. There is almost no leg room, and the poor interior design. It is extremely gloomy and it has poor colors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

1997 Chevrolet Silverado z71 5.7 Vortec from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Though it's not the most reliable, it's still a great truck!

Faults:

I have had this truck for about two months. So far I've had to replace the entire cooling system, including the radiator and hoses, the belt, flush the system, get a new thermostat, and also replace the power steering pump. All of the sudden it has been making a very strange and loud "whirring" noise after the engine is warmed up. The noise changes pitch with the engine speed, and my mechanic thought it was the power steering pump. It was replaced, but the noise is still there. Now he thinks it might be the power steering box? Has anybody else had this problem?

General Comments:

Overall, I love my truck. I have Flowmasters and a K&N filter, and it has more than enough power, plus it sounds great! It is comfortable to drive in, and I've had it through some very serious off-road situations, and it permored extremely well for being completely stock. The 4X4 works quickly and effitiently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

29th Nov 2006, 11:07

It might be your alternator.

9th Oct 2007, 10:46

I had this noise on my suburban and it ended up being my tensioner pulley. My water pump was replaced at the same time.

13th May 2008, 13:58

Its completely normal they all make that sound normally its the alternator.

23rd May 2011, 17:13

I have recently replaced my power steering pump on my 1997 Z71 and the whining noise may be caused by not having enough power steering fluid in the pump.

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Rugged dependability by Detroit

Faults:

Starter cable nut came loose. Cost 65$ to diagnose.

One spark plug went bad.

That's it!

General Comments:

This truck is reliable. It does almost everything well. I would like to get something with better MPG, but don't want to loose my faithful Truck.

I'll probably wind up spending more on repairs that I save at the pump.

Drives like my couch. 5.0 is a little underpowered when mated with 3.73 gears though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

8th Jan 2007, 12:52

Update:

This will be my tenth year with this truck.

I want to buy a crew cab, but with so many lemons I read about, regardless of make, I can't seem to part with this reliable rig. Since my first post, I have had; the head gasket replaced, (last warranted repair), replaced leaking rear slider that ruined my carpet, (replaced). That's it!!, unless you count tires.

This seems great to me. What more could I ask for?

Now that she's a decade, I'm worried things may start to break, but maybe not.

If I keep her, she'll definitely need some power upgrades, but I don't want to loose my 17mpg average!

8th Jan 2007, 16:14

One of my neighbors still drives a 1983 Silverado he bought new. These things are built to last forever. My in-laws own a company that uses full-size trucks and vans, and some of their fleet dates back to the mid-80's!! Lots of luck with yours, but as for the new ones not being reliable, I don't believe it. We have a 2003 GMC and at 60,000 miles it has never seen the inside of a service facility except for oil changes. GM (and Ford and Dodge too) build GREAT trucks.

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z 71 5.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance133200 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Diamante

Summary:

Generally okay

Faults:

Transmission, Power Steering Pump, Water Pump, Alternator, Fuel pump replaced, Leaking intake manifold gasket... resulting in engine overheating and eventual engine replacement!

General Comments:

Overall I always like the Chevy extended-cab... but at around 90,000 I started experiencing all kinds of mechanical problems one after the other. Now that I almost have a new truck (engine, transmisson, and all of the components that are on the front of the engine.. I am a lot lighter in the pocketbook, but still have no payment. That is good.. but the transmission and leaking intake gaskets really bothered me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2004

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 35 reviews