1997 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Worth every penny

Faults:

The transmission went at 190 000km, but nothing else has went wrong.

General Comments:

I love my Chevy Silverado. It is so comfortable and is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. It has awesome horsepower, and has never disappointed me.

It is great to drive off road and in the city. It's just the right size. I never want to go back to driving a small car again.

1997 is definitely one of Chevrolet's best years. It's design is unique and attractive. This is one truck that demands attention. It is awesome for both winter and summer driving. In the cold it heats up in under 5 minutes, and during the summer the A/C is instant.

I would recommend the 97 Chevy Silverado to anyone looking for a tough reliable truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7 350 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 350 gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 miles
Most recent distance251000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A powerful workhorse that will last as long as you need it too

Faults:

When I bought the truck all the rubber joints and grommets in the front end were wasted (most likely from all the miles). I spent about $200 on new ones and rebuilt the front end myself.

The only reason it cost so much is because the big one on the bottom of the ball joint have to be purchased with the ball joint, you can't get them separately.

The only other problem is the inside door handles quit working about a week ago and I haven't yet fixed them.

General Comments:

This truck has all the power I need and some more. I use it as a daily driver and as a work to truck and have never wished for more horses under the hood.

I find the truck to be very comfortable even on long trips and has plenty of leg and head room for me and I am 6' 2".

Even with 250K miles on it this truck runs and handles like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7L 350 Vortec from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Best truck on the road

Faults:

My windshield wipers will occasionally stop working or will stay on when I've already shut them off.

My transmission went out at 106,000 miles.

My oxygen sensor is going out and causing my check engine light to come on frequently.

Sometimes in the middle of a turn, the wheel will pull quickly in that same direction.

General Comments:

The most comfortable vehicle I've ever driven or rode in (including cars).

Even with the things I've had to replace, I will never own anything other than a Chevy Silverado.

The quick-engaging 4-wheel drive is so convenient and easy to work.

It is the quietest truck I've ever heard.

This truck has so much power that I hate not using it more for working and pulling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

26th Nov 2003, 14:36

I also own a 1997 Z71 with a 5.7L Vortec and have had the exact same problems you have. There was recall on the windshield wipers which I didn't receive until AFTER I replaced the circuit board. I was lucky enough to get 171K miles on my transmission before I had it rebuilt. My truck now has over 179K miles and only needs a set of rear springs which I plan on replacing soon. I haven't figured out what causes the steering wheel to pull quickly like that yet and neither has my mechanic (unsolved mystery). It truly is the BEST vehicle I have ever owned and that includes Mustangs, BMW's, and Mercedes. Mike.

13th Dec 2003, 12:03

I have the same steering problem as noted above.

I was doing on-line research to see if it was unique to my vehicle. Apparently not.

I have taken it to several mechanics, including GM dealerships, and they have no answers.

There was also a glitch in the ABS. The cure was to simply disable the system. The truck drives much better without ABS anyway, particularly when towing.

I also wish that I could work this truck more than I get to. Toughest truck I've ever driven, and I've driven them all, through work or other means.

31st Jan 2004, 19:22

Have the speed sensitive steering sensor checked out. This is a common problem and the parts cost is about $65.00. It's a collar that goes on the steering column.

4th Feb 2004, 16:43

In concerns to your problem with the steering sensor, it is a recall issue which the dealership will handle for free. It was deemed dangerous and can be fixed. Mine has been fixed and all is fine now!

I have a '97 Z71.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 35 reviews