2007 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2007 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 6.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance27198 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Another big piece of GM junk!

Faults:

Things that have gone wrong - at 20000 the 4 wheel drive quit working.

Knocks when I start it, which the dealer said the warranty won't cover.

At 24000 the fuel pump quit.

The transmission also quit shifting into overdrive at 27000.

General Comments:

The truck was maintained well. Yeah, it's just like a rock; meaning it doesn't move and sits in the shop being worked on most of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2009

2nd Nov 2009, 10:49

To the poster of the review;

I'm curious to know how your previous Dodge Ram Pickup compared to this Z71?

2nd Nov 2009, 17:18

Wow, how typical. This is the exact reason why I would never buy from GM. They're junk.

2nd Nov 2009, 20:54

I agree with you, a truck this new should not have any of these problems. I know because I work for a GM dealer and we fix problems like these on all the newer GM trucks. I would go with a Dodge or a Ford before buying one of these trucks.

4th Nov 2009, 08:57

"like a rock" that is very clever - hmmm I wonder if that's what GM meant?

4th Nov 2009, 13:13

I have had very good luck with mine, have 34,000 miles on it.

And with heavy towing as well. I like the ride better than Dodge. The Ford F250 is also a nice truck and I drive my company truck at times as well. On the open road it rides well, but I like the Silverado more. The imports are too small and not a consideration.

30th May 2011, 07:27

I bought a 2007 Silverado 6.0L VortecMax new.

I have nothing but problems with shifting. In the winter time it shifts better and runs with more power. In the summer time shifting is very sluggish and shifts down very slowly. It has been into the dealer 4 times with the same problem.

Now I am having a hard time pulling a 25 ft. Pontoon boat. It won't pull faster than 60 MPH and the temperature runs 20 degrees higher.

Very disappointing. Any ideas?

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD LTZ 6.6 turbo diesel Duramax from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6.6 turbo diesel Duramax Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Excellent truck, best of everything: Engine, transmission, interior, and exterior

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck. It has had a recall for two items but not an issue. One was reprogramming the computer, and the other was a fuse for the windshield fluid heater.

General Comments:

The truck has been great. Runs excellent, pulls like a mule on steroids. Excellent paint and interior.

We purchased the LTZ model with the leather package. It really looks great.

The Duramax has been great. I did a lot of research on the engines before purchasing. The Ford and Dodge had problems with the PDF system in their trucks. Duramax was the only one that seems to have it figured out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2009

2007 Chevrolet Silverado LT 5.3 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Lousy and unreliable

Faults:

Truck has left me stranded in the woods twice. The first time the dealer didn't know what was wrong, the second time they replaced the battery and it seems to work.

But I will never own another Chevy. Every part of the vehicle rattles -- dashboard, window, door locks, seat belts. But of course the dealer only drives it down the pavement and can't hear them.

It's a truck. And it comes with the off-road package. So it should be able to handle taking it off the pavement every once in a while.

The ground clearance is terrible, too. The four-wheel drive sounds terrible, and it sounds like the transfer case is going to rattle out of the bottom of truck any second.

General Comments:

Oh, and don't get me started on gas mileage. The only reason I went with Chevy is fuel economy. I have friends who get 19-22 with theirs. Not mine, it's lucky to get 16 on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2009

28th May 2009, 22:07

Agreed. My Silverado is out the door tomorrow, and I cannot wait. Mine is actually a 2008, its got 15,000 miles and is by far, the worst vehicle I have ever driven. I bought this one on a whim after always owning Rams. Never again. New Ram, here I come!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews