2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Crew Cab LTZ Vortec Max 6.0 Gas from North America

Summary:

OK for everyday use... not for towing

Faults:

No issues thus far.

General Comments:

This is a nice driving and riding truck but,... if you want to Tow a trailer as I did look elsewhere. I opted for the larger 6.0 engine to pull my 27' TT (6700lbs) well below the 8500 lbs "claimed" towing capacity of the truck. After making two 150 mile trips the truck has truly shown it's colors... it seldom shifts out of 3rd gear and will only shift into OD on VERY flat ground or going down grades. GM says this is normal... I do not believe that it should not shift to OD at speeds of 70-75 mph with such a load behind. The dealer said I was out of luck and should have come back sooner (manual says not to tow until vehicle has at LEAST 500 miles) so I went to 1000 to be safe... kept it too long I guess. Like I said a very nice truck for everyday driving, but get a 2500 if you want to pull anything over 5500 lbs.

Paul.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2007

9th Jul 2008, 14:23

Dude, you should never tow in OD.

1st Oct 2008, 14:36

I can't speak for the other comment but I tow in OD all the time and have clocked THOUSANDS of miles this way. That truck should have the 4L80 trans and the big rear end and probably 4.11 or 3.73 gears so towing that weight shouldn't be tough. Running in drive at 70-75 would likely equate to 3500-4000 RPMs all the time... for me that would be unacceptable, just my 2 cents.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado LT 1 4.8 from North America

Summary:

Not up to Ford quality, but a comfortable ride

Faults:

Pros:

Ride is very comfortable.

Extended cab rear windows are powered and provide great additional ventalation.

Dealer service has been very good.

Cons.

Sheet metal on body is very, very thin. Bed rails had over a half dozen dents after dealer installed bed liner. I find this to be TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE for a truck of any kind that would be used for any reason.

Head liner is not insulated sufficiently. Rain noise is so loud that you can barely hear the radio when it is raining.

Wheel wells are too large and make the side view unattractive.

4.8 V8 provides less torque and power than would be desireable.

Actual body (New Body) size keeps getting larger, but adds nothing to its usability. Difficult to clear when backing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th September, 2007

17th Jan 2011, 17:44

You bought a 4.8... barely a V8! You should have thought about that.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4x4 LT1 New Body Style 5.3L Flex Fuel from North America

Summary:

This was a mistake. I wish I would have looked into a Ram, or even a Ford

Faults:

Only 2400 miles... Been to the dealer three times and has to go again.

- Coolant bottle loose under the hood. Dealer ordered another one and installed it. Still loose!

- Left tailgate strap has no tension on it, I'm afraid that with a load on the gate, the tailgate will warp!

- Circuit breaker access box is located on driver's side floor right where your foot needs to be. Not only is this uncomfortable, but I'm concerned what will happen when snow covered boots come in contact with the electronics. Cover has already broken off.

- Bed is not square on the truck...3/4 inch larger gap on passenger side. After 100+ years of building trucks, you'd thing Chevy could get this one right.

- * Drive line clunk from day one. Sometimes when I'm already stopped. Sometimes when I take off from a stop. But it always does it. Pitiful!!! *

- Brakes are extremely touchy! It's nearly impossible to stop smoothly!

- Unfinished edge on back of headliner. Material looks frayed. Another shame that GM didn't add a $3 trim piece.

- OEM tires pick up every little pebble in site. I've already got 30 stone chips on the rocker panels.

- Factory CD player is noisy. The OEM door speakers are terrible!

- Sheet metal is very thin. Hood buckles just from waxing it. Bed would dent very easily. Not a good work truck.

- The material on the seats pick up every little piece of lint and dust, and it's near impossible to clean them. I've had to cover them in towels.

- Bumper moulding above trailer hitch is bowed out. Obviously a design problem.

General Comments:

I'm very sorry that I didn't buy another Ram. I'm 6ft tall and always owned regular cab Dodge trucks. I found them to be roomy, and bigger than I needed.

In this Silverado, I've got the seat jammed all the way against the cab, and I still feel like I'm falling forward.

I bought into the hype of this truck being the Motor Trend Truck of the year, and didn't even drive a new Ram.

The cab space in this Silverado is way smaller than that of my '99 Ram. GM never did care about making a nice regular cab truck. They always want people to spend $2500 more to upgrade to a extend cab. This is also the most problem prone new vehicle that I have ever owned.

- Fuel economy is good. I average 16.5 m.p.g. in country driving.

- Ride and control are good.

- Seats and driving position are terrible! I am always fidgeting around trying to get comfortable. A power seat might have helped, by GM doesn't offer that on a regular cab. The seats are mounted too close to the floor.

- Engine is slightly underpowered for this truck. There is not enough low end torque. It doesn't start pulling till 3500 r.p.m. Again, GM doesn't offered its largest (6.0L) in their regular cab trucks.

- Do yourself a favor and check out the Dodge and Ford trucks before buying a Silverado!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2007

5th Aug 2007, 21:10

This review is suspect. If the buyer knew the engine was underpowered despite being offered a test-drive, for example, the initial purchase would've never occurred.

6th Aug 2007, 19:05

Ah, no. Sorry. Its not a fake. If you're in northern Ohio and would like to come over, feel free. I didn't want to beat the heck out of a brand new truck on a test drive, so I didn't really know how much power this truck would have. Its not slow, just lacking in low end torque. Sit in a regular cab Ram, or F-150, and than sit in a Silverado regular cab. The Silverado is cramped in comparison. I needed a vehicle quickly and this was available. Trust me, it will be traded next spring.

2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD 6.0 gas from North America

Summary:

Outstanding value

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Use the truck to haul a overhead camper and tow a stock trailer or boat. You can't even tell the campers on the truck, still gets 16mpg, rides great, tows and pulls better than the previous several dodge diesels we had with no death wobble, front end failures, tranny failures, injector pump failures, lift pump failures, electrical system failures, no need for air bags and sway bars, no cracking apart bed sheet metal bla, bla, bla.

Tired of buying the latest fad and throwing $$ into it in repairs? go back to the real deal for 1/3 the cost. Silverado Classic HD = #1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2007

2nd Jun 2007, 23:01

I would also like to testify regarding this well-built truck. My '06 2500HD handles a Bigfoot overhead truck camper well, with excellent gas mileage to boot averaging 14 miles/gallon. I've had it for over 12000 miles, with no faults. This really is an affordable, dependable hauling machine!

3rd Jun 2007, 05:38

I tow a heavy boat 200 miles on many weekends to the beach with mine and love my new Silverado as well. The comfortable ride is the best feature. If you have a diesel the addition of a chip can increase your mpg.

6th Nov 2007, 18:49

I find it hard to believe that this truck can outpull a dodge diesel.. considering the dodge has 600 ft. pounds of torque.

31st Dec 2008, 18:01

The Dodge Cummins diesel has 600 lbft of torque. The Chevrolet Duramax Diesel has 660 lbft of torque. I think the orignal author of this review had a gas engine and I believe the gas engine also has a higher torque value than a comparable gas Dodge. I did test drive a Dodge and almost bought the 2500 Dodge, but after I test drove the Chevrolet I ended up buying the Chevy.