2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 7 of 13

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

At 70,000, this truck is becoming too expensive to own

Faults:

My original plan for this truck was to own it until it was paid off. That's next month. I will have had the truck 5 years then. Well, it was too late. Last month, my clutch fan went at 69,500 miles at a cost of $743.

Yesterday, the differential went. After doing some research, I am finding that this is a common occurrence with 2003 Trailblazers. It seems to me that GM should be recalling the clutch fans.

General Comments:

The clutch fan and differential should not have broken on this truck. There is a problem with the Chevy Trailblazers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2007

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT EXT Vortec 5.3 V8 SFI from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Vortec 5.3 V8 SFI Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance71300 miles

Summary:

Not reliable for this kind of money

Faults:

Starting - ignition problems (multiple occurrences)

Battery (delco) went out in 1st year.

Transmission problems.

Wind noise.

General Comments:

Ignition switch problems have occurred multiple times. The dealer originally could not diagnose the problem so they replaced the shifter etc. only to find that that did not solve the problem - problem: not able to remove the key from the ignition or at times not start the car. 2 years ago they replaced the ignition switch and now the problem is back. Not a reliable vehicle!!!

Transmission is clunky on shifting. 4 wheel drive, but I am concerned that I am heading for major trans. repairs. I have maintained this vehicle meticulously.

WIND NOISE - WOW. What a joke. The 2 front windows were so noisy that you thought you were outside. I had to buy some custom window deflectors which solved some of the problem.

The junky delco battery failed after 1 year. How can GM put this type of junk in their cars?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th November, 2007

20th Nov 2007, 15:19

I forgot to add that my radio buttons are peeling and of course it is not covered by Chevy. This was supposed to be a premium BOSE system. What garbage.

2nd Jan 2008, 13:35

I thought I would add more information related to the latest problems with this vehicle (2003 Trail Blazer EXT, 73000 miles). I just had the ignition switch replaced for the 2nd time since the vehicle was not starting especially in cold weather. You would turn the key and it would not crank - the radio, lights, etc. would come on. The problem still exists so I am back to the drawing board. I'm done with GM & Chevy.

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Not good

Faults:

Rear windshield wiper & fluid didn't work.

Emissions issue which caused the car to stall.

Rear taillight recall.

Ignition E fuse blows 2-5 times a month.

More I can't think of...

General Comments:

This car has had issues from year 1... My trailblazer has been in the shop about 10 times in 4 years...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2007

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

I'd buy another in higher trim next time

Faults:

Front Struts. Replaced after much debate at the dealer by warranty.

So far it has been a solid performer with no issues. At 85,000 miles it is ready for some basic maintenance like plugs and possibly a transmission filter. The brakes seem a bit on the weak side, but have been the same since the day I bought it 20,000 miles ago.

It is a 4X4. I prefer the 4WD system on the Isuzu Trooper much better. That truck had a more solid feel in bad conditions, but it could be down to the Firestone tires that were on the Trailblazer when I bought it.

General Comments:

I am surprised by the amount of compliments I get on the vehicle.

Gas mileage is about 17mpg the it gets well over 300 miles per tank on long trips.

The heater is great. The AC isn't.

Not the most comfortable for drivers over 6 feet on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2007

13th Dec 2007, 01:22

Updating my last comments. The truck has over 88,000 miles now. It's still running strong. I had the transmission filter changed and do oil changes every 3,000 miles. I finally replaced the Firestone tires with Bridgestones and it made a world of difference in the handling and braking.

It still feels a little sketchy in the snow compared to some other vehicles I've had. It seems to hold it's value okay, but I think I'll hold on to it a while longer.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 48 reviews