2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT Ext V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Smooth ride and great power, but there's a problem with Ignition E fuse

Faults:

Idles rough sometimes, but that doesn't really bother me.

Main problem started a couple weeks ago when the car would not start. I had power to everything, and thought that maybe it was the ignition switch or starter. Had it towed and mechanic replaced a fuse and everything was fine. Drove it for another week and the same fuse blew 2 times within a mile and car has sat since. The fuse that is blowing is the Ignition E. If anyone knows what is causing the fuse to blow, please let me know. Any help is greatly appreciated.

General Comments:

Love the ride and power of the V8.

3rd row seats and DVD player are great for the kids.

Overall, this is a great vehicle, if I can get this problem corrected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2008

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer XLT V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic

Summary:

The not starting is the only issue I have had with the vehicle

Faults:

2003 Chev TB NOT STARTING. Everything works, but you turn the key and nothing happens. My truck was sitting for the weekend and I would try to start it every few hours. I decided to check online. Well, I read through all the comments - yellow wire, theft control, sticky relay, loose wire, etc. I attacked the ones I knew I could handle. I checked all the wires and made sure they were tight - they were. Then, just behind the battery is a relay/fuse box. I removed every fuse to insure one wasn't blown then put them back. Next, I removed every relay to perhaps magically reset it. After replacing them I crossed my fingers and tried to start the car. IT STARTED!!! So, my advice is to... cross your fingers! After checking the relays, of course. It worked for me, but I don't know if it is a solution.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT from North America

Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Most recent distance31000 miles

Summary:

Would never buy a GM vehicle again

Faults:

Fan clutch on my 2003 Chevy Trailblazer went; cost me $700.00. I had the extended warranty from GM and they told me it was not covered. I made a formal complaint to GM and they offered me free oil changes for a year. They can keep their free oil changes. After 30 years of buying GM I am done. My next car will be made in Japan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

OK

Faults:

Water pump and O-rings replaced

Tail-lights replaced multiple times

Now the engine sounds like a jet taking off... cooling fan possible culprit.

General Comments:

Used to love, but getting annoying with these problems that should be recalled by GM!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2008

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT 4X4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Will not buy another GM vehicle

Faults:

I bought this SUV brand new in Jan of 03.

Right off the bat I had problems with the radio. A couple years went by and nothing else.

Now I have a gas tank leak; there is a crack in the filler neck. This is a very common problem, and it is a very flawed design. My husband JB Welded it and seems to be OK for now.

Also like many others, my fan clutch went bad. Total repairs for the thing were $1,800.

I called GM; they said I had to take it to their mechanic and they MIGHT help out. Why haven't they recalled these items? My mechanic didn't want me to leave with the car because it was so dangerous to drive; one spark and it would have been over. Does GM care about customers at all? I couldn't afford repairs. I wonder how many are out there just like me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2008

2003 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT EXT 5.3L V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.3L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Starting problems - multiple times. Very problematic.

Wind noise is very bad.

Multiple recalls, but of course GM won't do anything about the ignition problem since it is not safety related. What a joke. The customer is not important.

Radio buttons on Premium Bose radio are peeling.

Delco battery failed in 12 months.

General Comments:

Starting problems started in 2005, they returned recently (late 2007) and it has been very troublesome this time. Mechanic replaced ignition switch, but starting problem is still occurring.

I have had it to 2 Chevy dealers, and they cannot diagnose the problem. No trouble codes appear related to this problem. I am very reluctant to start replacing items on this vehicle.

I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone due to the reliability issue - we never know if it will start or not. Also, GM Chevy does not seem to care nor do the dealers. They just want you to leave it with them to see if they can figure it out. Time to buy a Honda or a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

13th Apr 2010, 19:05

You should get them to replace your main relay. It should fix your starting problems. Main relay; also called fuel injection relay.

23rd Apr 2010, 03:14

We have a 2003 Trailblazer. The front differential went out in 2008. We had it replaced with a used one, and that one went out within 6 months. To make matters worse, we had a warranty for 1 yr OR 12,000 miles, but they said because we bought used tires, it caused it to go back out. I wish the dealership or GM would've let us know this. We had to pay $3200, and they don't want to honor their warranty. I think we should have to suffer for their mistakes. If either of them cared anything about us as a consumer, someone should let us know. Because it is not in the manual either.

I would like to know how many differentials went out on this truck. I wish everyone would report this to NHTSA or the Office of Defects Investigation. So they can investigate the situation.

24th Apr 2010, 06:41

"To make matters worse, we had a warranty for 1 yr OR 12,000 miles, but they said because we bought used tires, it caused it to go back out."

That can happen. Using tires that aren't worn down equally or that don't have the same tread can cause differential damage. For example, if the tires don't have an equal amount of tread left, whichever tire is smaller is going to have to turn faster in order to move along with the rest of the car. That's basically like driving around in a circle all the time.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 48 reviews