19th Nov 2006, 18:00

I currently own a 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer. At 45,000 miles, the “service 4wd” light came on. Having only used the four-wheel drive feature on the truck approximately 10 times, I thought it unusual to have to repair this part. I contacted Chevrolet and explained my problem. I was told that because I do the fluid maintenance (i.e. oil, coolant, brake and transmission changes) myself, that they would not assist me in paying for the replacement of a computer part. I am still not sure what oil changes have to do with the malfunction of a computer part.

Now, at 70,000 miles, I too have the jet engine under the hood. I had a diagnostic done, and was told that I have a problem with the fan clutch. After reading the comments on this site, I feel fortunate that my Trailblazer made it as long as it did. This, being my first experience with Chevrolet, will be my last. Their product and customer service doesn’t hold a candle to their foreign competitors.

20th Nov 2006, 11:20

I too have a 2002 Trailblazer LT and 120k I have the jet engine problem and it is as per my client/mechanic the fan clutch. If you try to turn the fan manually when the engine is off normally it should spin easily. if not it is the fan clutch and don't be fooled by any other speculation by the dealership. If you are mechanically inclined or know someone who is you can save 300+$ doing it yourself. Chilton sells a manual that has schematics take your time and watch your knuckles. It is sad that GM has not recalled this yet and no wonder they are doing poorly. As far as your fan "blowing up" if not fixed. Not true unless there are defects in that. Inspect carefully and ask anyone you know so as not to help Gm collect on this pathetic problem.

22nd Nov 2006, 14:27

I also have a 2002 GMC Envoy with 74,000 mile and the fan clutch just went out. I have other recalls to be fixed next week. Hopefully they will soon add this to the recall list. My 1st estimate was $600 - $700. We bought the fan clutch and serpentine belt from a parts store for $250 and hope to get the labor done for $250. This is my 1st GMC vehicle and since I've only had it 9 months I hope this isn't the start of things to come.

26th Nov 2006, 07:26

Same here with a trailblazer 2002, problems with the water pump, who knows what will be next, guess it will be the fan clutch, hope GM do justice and recall and fix this problem,



30th Nov 2006, 20:08

I am another dissatisfied Trailblazer Owner. 75,000Km on my 2002 Trailblazer and there goes the Jet engine Clutch Fan. I bought a lubrico warranty and they don't cover this part go figure. estimates for just the clutch fan assembly range from 899 retail to 512 wholesale plus installation. My 1994 Toyota is still running with just an alternator replacement. Guess what I am trading my Chevrolet for. I have contacted GM Canada and am awaiting their phone call. Does anybody have an issue with there 4 wheel drive jumping in and out when it rains? thanks Jeff.

2nd Dec 2006, 08:22

2002 Trailblazer LS 62k... Fan Clutch is roaring and this truck has had problems related to "check engine" and "service engine soon" lights from day 1.

I'm not paying $500+ for a fan clutch replacement that is a known issue, no way. My question is: Why can't the fan assembly and fan clutch be replaced with an aftermarket electric cooling fan that has a thermostatic switch?

I had many Datsun Z cars with an inline 6 cyl that had the same issue and the $100 electric radiator cooling fan was the cure. This was 15 years ago of course... so the parts are probably $150 now, but I cannot see the logic in replacing parts that GM knows are defective with other parts GM makes for the same purpose. What's the saying??? Fool me once...

If anyone knows a reason why I cannot go to an aftermarket fan with a thermostatic switch, let me know please. I will post an update after the replacement if no objections are raised.

2nd Jan 2007, 10:51

68,250 Miles and I too need a Clutch Fan on a 2003 Trailblazer and it will cost me $880.00.

10th Jan 2007, 20:06

I have a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer LTZ and I am experiencing the same horrendous noise under my hood. It started out just being intermittent and now it has started and won't go away. It seems to take away some power too, but it may just be the horrible noise that makes you not want to step on the gas too hard. If you plan on doing the repair yourself shop around for your part because it varies a lot in price. Make sure you don't get an "electric" fan clutch. I almost made the mistake of buying an electric one on Ebay. My brother is a mechanic and will do the repair, but he says it doesn't look to be too time consuming.

I also have about an inch of water in one of my taillights that I had fixed in a previous recall - back to the dealer I go!

My outside temperature sensor has never worked either. Not sure if that was a recall, but the fan clutch should most definitely be.

With all of that said I still really love my TB, it has the luxury of a nice car with the practicality of a SUV.

14th Jan 2007, 11:30

I was going to buy a Trailblazer... this site has changed my mind!! I am going to look at Toyota. Thanks for your honesty... don't EVER believe the US automakers will change the way they do business - what a shame!!

17th Jan 2007, 23:06

I too have a 2002 Trailblazer with multiple problems and it only has 58,000 miles on it. The first week that I drove it, the dash electrical went out. Minor fuse issue, but a pain none the less. Besides the multiple recalls these have been my major issues: Rear wiper frequently disables; 4WD issues; jet-like engine sounds (fan problem). One month after my extended warranty expired my 4WD service light went on. Turned out I needed the 4WD modulator replaced ($500). After multiple complaints from myself and my husband, our dealer agreed to refund us the majority of our money minus our previous deductible. However less than one month later my service engine soon light went on and I immediately took it to a local garage. Turns out the fluid in the 4WD was empty and bolts were missing from it, rear differential fluid was empty, and my transmission fluid was empty. Sounds like a coincidence? Less than a week later the jet engine "whur" from the fan which normally calms down after a few minutes is now continual with acceleration. It seems as though I will lift off into space or the engine is going to blow. Back to the mechanic it goes. I have always owned GM my entire life, but I will never own a Chevy again. The products are unreliable and service is less than acceptable. Living in the metro area with an awful economy and dwindling sales, you would think GM would be a bit more concerned with those who are selling their products.

I have tried to file complaints, but have gotten nowhere. My entire family works for GM and they don't even know how to file a complaint. If anyone knows how please post reply.