1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue V8, 318, 5.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8, 318, 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance114572 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Affordable, first car

Faults:

The air-conditioning needs to be recharged.

Right now, the timing chain needs to be replaced.

Some minor rust on the bottom half of the doors.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable car I have ever owned.

I can't figure out why no one makes seats these comfy in every car.

Although not very powerful compared to other cars in it's class, when you have to stomp down on the gas, the car really jumps forward.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 liter Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.2 liter Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance119800 miles
Previous carChrysler 5th Avenue

Summary:

A nice first car

Faults:

Front brakes replaced at 100,000.

Radio replaced at 100,000.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable car that I have ever rode in or owned. The 318 has enough power to move through traffic and around other cars. I bought it from my friends father for $75.00 USD. It has been great for me ever since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

19th Mar 2004, 21:03

The gas needle in my 1986 Fifth Avenue does not work correctly when tank is over half full. What is the best way to get this problem taken care of?

14th Sep 2004, 06:15

How much horse power does a stock 1987 fifth avenue with a 318 2 barrel have, where can I get a replacement cloth top.

17th Oct 2004, 22:59

Any apholstery/shop can replace your vinyl or cloth top.

12th May 2005, 19:59

Stock horsepower is around 140 bhp with the 318 2bbl setup. This is not the key number however. 240 ft. lbs. of American made iron V-8 torque! Let her shift into 3rd gear and just keep your foot on the pedal. It'll pull it out in the end.

18th Sep 2009, 09:33

Yeah the car has a little rust spots, but the thing drives like a tank. It never dies on me, it has a 318 block, which with the proper adjustment to the engine, you can turn it into a 360.

The interior is beautiful, the only thing that is bad about it is the vinyl roof is coming down.

I wouldn't sell this car, they are very rare.

18th Sep 2009, 23:08

With an "adjustment" to the engine, you can turn a 318 into a 360?

Please explain how an "adjustment" can increase cubic displacement, as I would like to turn my Neon's engine into a big-block.

1st Aug 2011, 13:32

Re-bore the cylinders and replace the pistons and rings. While you're at it, replace the cam, the crank, the main bearings, push rods and oil pump. And, while the engine is apart, replace the heads, valves, entire top end. Doesn't sound like "adjustment" to me. Sounds like major bucks and major pain to me. Easier just to drop a 360 in it from the get go.

7th Aug 2011, 13:34

Your fuel sending unit, which is in your gas tank (you can buy it on partstrain.com or other websites). Or very very rare, it is your speedometer.

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 318 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

A very comfortable smooth riding car

Faults:

Replaced the fuel pump.

Replaced the pressure hose of the power steering system.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car with its smooth ride and cloth pillow seats, which have no rips. There is nothing like the comfort of a full size American built car!

The engine delivers decent performance considering the small factory two-barrel carburetor. When you really hit the gas it shows its true v-8 heritage, kicking down the transmission and shooting forward nicely.

All the windows and air conditioning work very well, and the vinyl landau top is in great shape.

The paint is shedding its clear coat, so I would like to re-paint sometime.

Handling is great and the car is very solidly built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Previous carChrysler Fifth Avenue

Summary:

My car is a major headache

Faults:

Right now, I am trying to find out what is going on with my car. I have replaced the alternator and the Battery several times. The battery keeps going dead although I have put new ones on.

General Comments:

I wish someone would give me some advise about my car. I have taken it to several repair shops and they have told me that the alternator is bad or that the battery is bad. After having a new altinator and several new batteries put on it, the problem persists. Can someone please help me?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

13th Nov 2002, 20:03

Its your syilanoid!!!

22nd Apr 2003, 11:05

Try changing the starter. I have an 86' Chrysler fifth avenue and the starter has gone out on it. When this happens it will drain your battery faster than you can turn the key in the ignition. If that's not the problem then it could be a bad connection either on the starter or the battery. On my car one of the wires came loose on the battery and it wouldn't even try to start, once I got it connected now it is up and running.

21st Mar 2004, 11:47

I have heard of problems with the ammeter in the dash. Just an idea!

17th Sep 2004, 09:36

Try checking your muffler bearings and automatic power shut off switch under the hood.

14th Dec 2005, 10:12

I think it might just be a bad connection so clean both positive and negitive terminal's on your battery.

9th Jan 2006, 05:17

Check your voltage reglater.

19th May 2008, 20:31

I had the power antenna kill my battery; it was broken and if it fell (a bit of tape around the base held it up) the motor would try to retract it. That took a bit of time to search down.

17th Mar 2009, 07:31

Or it might be the fusible link that runs on the drivers side of the car. I had the same problem, but bypassed it on an 87.

26th Nov 2012, 05:53

Change your voltage regulator. I have an 88 and I had the same problem. I put a new voltage regulator in it, and she ran perfect! These are bad ass cars! Once you get all the ticks worked out, you won't get a better car unless you go back to the fifties!!!

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 19 reviews