1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V8 from North America

Summary:

A very comfortable smooth riding car

Faults:

Replaced the fuel pump.

Replaced the pressure hose of the power steering system.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable car with its smooth ride and cloth pillow seats, which have no rips. There is nothing like the comfort of a full size American built car!

The engine delivers decent performance considering the small factory two-barrel carburetor. When you really hit the gas it shows its true v-8 heritage, kicking down the transmission and shooting forward nicely.

All the windows and air conditioning work very well, and the vinyl landau top is in great shape.

The paint is shedding its clear coat, so I would like to re-paint sometime.

Handling is great and the car is very solidly built.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue from North America

Summary:

My car is a major headache

Faults:

Right now, I am trying to find out what is going on with my car. I have replaced the alternator and the Battery several times. The battery keeps going dead although I have put new ones on.

General Comments:

I wish someone would give me some advise about my car. I have taken it to several repair shops and they have told me that the alternator is bad or that the battery is bad. After having a new altinator and several new batteries put on it, the problem persists. Can someone please help me?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

13th Nov 2002, 20:03

Its your syilanoid!!!

22nd Apr 2003, 11:05

Try changing the starter. I have an 86' Chrysler fifth avenue and the starter has gone out on it. When this happens it will drain your battery faster than you can turn the key in the ignition. If that's not the problem then it could be a bad connection either on the starter or the battery. On my car one of the wires came loose on the battery and it wouldn't even try to start, once I got it connected now it is up and running.

21st Mar 2004, 11:47

I have heard of problems with the ammeter in the dash. Just an idea!

17th Sep 2004, 09:36

Try checking your muffler bearings and automatic power shut off switch under the hood.

14th Dec 2005, 10:12

I think it might just be a bad connection so clean both positive and negitive terminal's on your battery.

9th Jan 2006, 05:17

Check your voltage reglater.

19th May 2008, 20:31

I had the power antenna kill my battery; it was broken and if it fell (a bit of tape around the base held it up) the motor would try to retract it. That took a bit of time to search down.

17th Mar 2009, 07:31

Or it might be the fusible link that runs on the drivers side of the car. I had the same problem, but bypassed it on an 87.

26th Nov 2012, 05:53

Change your voltage regulator. I have an 88 and I had the same problem. I put a new voltage regulator in it, and she ran perfect! These are bad ass cars! Once you get all the ticks worked out, you won't get a better car unless you go back to the fifties!!!

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 5.2 318 from North America

Summary:

Offical pimp car

Faults:

Rebuild the carb, that's all (knock on wood).

Eats up gas.

General Comments:

I'm 18 and I love to pimp it. It rides so smooth and quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 11:07

Okay, this is scary. I'm 20 and bought my 5th Ave in 1999. Almost the same on the mileage. I got mine with 119k and it's at 134k now. It definitely is a pimp ride. My friends may not have agreed at first, but once I showed them the interior, they did a 180.

Great car for rollin' on the strip. I just had the rear end go bad on me, but I do have a heavy foot. Other then, it's a great car. Luxury wise, no other car even comes close.

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V8 from North America

Summary:

Well worth every penny of the $2,300 I spent on the car - very dependable!

Faults:

Replaced faulty oil sending unit.

Replaced rusted out crossover air pump tube and valve assembly.

Replaced leaking fuel pump.

Replaced muffler.

NO major repairs, mostly just parts that would have worn out with mileage and/or age...

The paint on the roof had to be repainted as it was fading. The trunk's paint is fading as well. Many vehicles (Ford, GM and Chrysler) have had this problem for a long time. The paint problem is minor (even if it looks bad), as the reliability of the vehicle is most important to me. Will get the trunk repainted someday when I get the money to do so...

General Comments:

Am VERY happy with my Fifth Avenue!

It's been very reliable and the repairs have been very few!

Gets good gas mileage for a 5,000 pound car (25 mpg)!

The leather seats are very comfortable.

Am the FIFTH owner of this car and it's had good care from the former owners (thank goodness)! The interior looks BRAND NEW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

4th Aug 2004, 15:06

Good review and I can agree with most of what you said.

Can you tell me your secret to 25mpg so I can try it on mine? Is that highway or city mileage?

Thanks,

Rocmt2000@yahoo.com.

28th Jun 2005, 17:19

I'm curious about the fuel mileage, also. Is that the stock setup of the 318/2 bbl carb? I get about 20 mpg highway only, cruise set to 65, no more. But in town driving she sucks gas more than the 24' straight truck I drive for work. (the big diesel truck gets about 12mpg)

10th Mar 2006, 21:43

Ya, I get about 20-21 on the highway also, but lousy city miles, what was Chrysler thinking only putting an 18 gallon fuel tank in?! I too would like to know how to get 25 MPG.

11th Mar 2006, 12:36

The best mileage I ever got in my 318 2-barrel was 22.1, and that was a long trip on a flat, straight road doing 55 mph on a windless day.

8th Apr 2007, 13:11

I had my 5th for 10yrs. but sold it recently and miss it! The deal with MPG is this- the ancient choke system gobbles gas while the car warms up, if you make a lot of short trips you will get 13mpg. Also the lean burn computer system gets old and can't hold the timing right- gas waster here too. Finally, if you want mid 20'sMPG don't go over 55-60MPH, these cars are geared for what used to be the maximum speed limit. Finally, the 318 is hard on the oil, it gets black after just a few thousand miles- I felt better running Mobile 1 Synthetic 5w-30 and changing every 7,ooo miles or so, think I got a little better MPG with the good oil. Hope this helps and HAPPY motoring in your mighty 5th. Ave. -Rob.

1987 Chrysler Fifth Avenue 318 V-8 from North America

Summary:

A reliable and affordable mid size luxury sedan

Faults:

Mostly things that you would expect from an old car with a high mileage.

General Comments:

Very reliable and comfortable, quiet ride. Plush carpet is very nice. Just as reliable and comfy as my old Grand Marquis, but much cheaper and easier to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000