1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 4 of 8

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired266 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Wonderful car for the money!!

Faults:

The brakes needed to be replaced at 20,000 miles.

The rims bend extremely easy!!!

The turning radius isn't very good.

General Comments:

Otherwise I absolutely love the car and have no regrets of buying it.

It's a totally sporty great car. Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Lxi 2.5L 24v DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L 24v DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Performance engineering and drop-dead gorgeous styling!

Faults:

The body panels started stick out and had be fixed shortly after I got the car. The brakes vibrate at high speed (100+ mph) which apparently is a design flaw and there is nothing you can do to fix it!

General Comments:

This car is a perfect compromise between performance, luxury and economy. The engine signs and 2500 rpm, and I do about 25 mpg combined.

It handles exceptionally well (it has a 53%F/47%R weight distribution) and the engine does not hesitate when you ask more of it.

Too bad they did not make them stick shift, I don't understand why they made this car with so many bell and whistles (believe me, there's a lot of them) but failed to make a stick and option.

Its nice to have peace of mind of Japanese quality and the style of Chrysler all in one car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

11th May 2004, 19:37

Hi there, I was wondering about how much it costs to get the side panels fixed. I have a 98 Sebring Lxi and one of the panls came off and other one is also sticking out a little bit. Could you please give me some info about the costs etc? Thanks a bunch.

Regards, Pam.

21st Apr 2009, 12:36

I have a 98 Sebring LXI. I changed plugs, wires, cap, rotor and the car still has a miss at about 45 or 50 miles per hour. Run goods, just that little miss! Need help!!! elika0661@yahoo.com

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance65999 miles

Summary:

Despite all of the mishaps and problems I loved this car; It was my baby!

Faults:

Driver's side door handle broke.

Passenger's side door handle broke.

Ball Joint Recall.

Rear-view mirror busted twice due to night vision.

Sunroof was loose and popped up under pressure.

Front was too low. This caused me to bottom out many times.

Brakes squealed even when new brakes were placed on the car.

The low profile tires were very expensive to replace.

General Comments:

This car handled very well.

It was very luxurious with all the features included.

It was very reliable.

The car looks sporty on the outside and beautiful on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Unreliable!

Faults:

Passenger and Driver door panels have fallen off twice.

Driver door handle broke off.

Battery is replaced too often.

Rims are bent extremely easy, leaving me with flat tires.

Sunroof leaks.

Brakes constantly squeak.

Brakes and front rotors are replaced every 4-6 months!

Leather interior takes forever to cool off with the a/c.

Sometimes car won't start and dealer says 'nothing' is wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is a nice sports car, but not worth all of the hassles I've experienced. I was better off with my 1990 Acura because it NEVER left me anywhere unlike this Sebring which leaves me anywhere at the drop of a dime!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2003

17th Feb 2005, 11:50

The side door panels are covered under a recall. They will fix them for free!

6th May 2005, 01:03

I really like the Sebrings, but I like something bigger. The Sebring is a nice work of art in a vehicle.

I can relate to some of the problems you had with your Sebring. I had a Ford Focus ZX3. Nice car yes, but too small, and the steering wheel isn't even aligned with the drivers' seat which is odd. I used to have problems with it stalling when I'd try starting it. Ford found no problems. The transmission was a joke, it never would shift like a new car, and yes I bought the car new. The transmission would almost jolt into gear instead of shift. Cruise control had a large pause when I'd set the accelerator.

Fuel mileage started going down at around 20,000 miles and at around 29,000 miles the engine started to drive like it was just chugging along either while accelerating while passing or just with the cruise control set.

I got rid of it and got a Chrysler PT Cruiser. I have a car I love now and will never go Ford again. I know too many people with problems with Fords.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews