1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Sporty, with a luxury feel to it

Faults:

My lower control arms needed to be replaced.

My right front speaker crackles.

The transmission seems to slip a bit, sometimes hard.

General Comments:

The car handles great, looks sporty. Has a classy look to it. It gets up to speed fast.

The interior has comfortable leather seats, and nice wood trim.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Waste of time and money

Faults:

The car is good for showing off, but not good for anything else. It takes too much money for gas as well.I've never had a car drink as much gas as my Sebring did. The headlights went out and had to be replaced and the driver's side door handle came off for no apparent reason. The car drove awful. The wheels made the whole car shake even after I had four brand new tires put on it. The leather interior started to crack and sunroof started to leak. The starter had to be replaced at about 35,000 miles, and the parts are very expensive.Also, I hate the tires. They are 16" and cost too much money.I've had to have brand new tires put on 3 times since I've had it. And this car is never driven fast or used for anything other than pleasure purposes.

General Comments:

I would never purchase another Chrysler Sebring LXI. I sold the car and didn't get very much for it at all, even after all the repairs had been made on it. My opinion is its the worst car I think I've ever owned in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

7th Feb 2005, 13:02

I enjoy the Chrysler Sebring Lxi very much. I have taken excellent care of it and it has not caused me any major problems. It is indeed costly to fix, but it is a very nice car to have.

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LX from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

My brakes went bad at 10,000, and I've had my rotors replaced 4 times and turned several more times.

My passenger side door panel fell off.

My driver's side door handle broke.

My passenger's side door handle broke before I could even get my driver's side handle replaced. It broke on the outside and the inside.

General Comments:

Handles well, looks good.

Looks are deceiving. Terrible car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

14th Feb 2004, 09:16

I I have owned a Sebering since 99, so far have been lucky. Except for the fact that both of my door handles have broken and the car hasn't hit 65000 miles yet. I'm afraid I will be replacing them again in no time.

24th Mar 2004, 00:07

I own a 1996 sebring and my outside passenger door handle broke as well. But other than that, its been good considering it has 165,000 miles now.

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

Nice looking, but too much trouble

Faults:

I am currently using my 2nd replaced transmission.

I finally took off all the rims that came with the car because they were always getting bent. I replaced them with a cheaper kind from American Racing so they are cheaper to replace, but I haven't had to replace these yet. Anyone want to buy 4 rims?

It rides like a truck. You lumber and bounce over the bumps in the road and it is very noisy.

The side panels, one or the other, is usually loose due to attachment clips falling off.

General Comments:

I like the performance i.e. the pick up and go. I like the sun roof. I like the recent models that have a less high back end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

I was better off with my 91 Thunderbird

Faults:

My door panel fell off. We had it fixed and about two months later, the buttons fell down in the panel.

My gas-line had to be replaced.

Two speakers went out after getting them replaced before we bought the car.

The driver's door handle broke.

The car shakes really bad at red lights.

The brakes are extremely loud and can't be fixed.

The windows leak in car washes.

The front end is way too low. I've messed it up 3 times already.

General Comments:

The car looks very nice, but it's not a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

9th Jan 2002, 06:26

Wow, with all of those things wrong, you would think you may have noticed something before you bought the car.

14th Jan 2002, 15:34

You don't understand. After buying a Chrysler, a self-destruct button is activated. The button has never been found, but it's there, believe me.

31st May 2002, 20:51

What is wrong with these darn side panels. Hasn't Chrysler seen a pattern of some kind? I have a 96 Sebring LX and it has been nothing but a waste of my hard earned money. My passenger side door panel fell off a week after purchasing the car from a Chrysler dealership. When I went there to see about getting a new one they told me that it would be $175 for the panel and an additional $150 to have it painted. I also had to replace the brakes 3 times, all the belts under the hood, and the thing bottoms out every time I go up or down a driveway. Do yourself a favor and stick with a Honda.

24th Sep 2002, 14:55

Sebring LXi Brakes:

Have the technicians check the specs of the ROTORS. They might be TOO thick (so, the are always in contact with the brakes which leads to unnecessary brake wear).

Good luck.

4th May 2003, 23:27

Man I feel sorry for you, but it's not the car or the manufactures fault it's the person you bought it from. I own a 97 sebring lxi (110625 MILES), and after reading your problems the only thing that I side with you is the front end nothing else. I haven't experienced the problems you have and I drive the car everyday.

20th Dec 2004, 11:05

I bought my Sebring about a month and a half ago and I have already spent a little over $900 fixing random parts and the worst is yet to come. My check engine light has come on and I was told it has something to do with the transmission.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews