1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21300 miles
Most recent distance25300 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Overall, this car has been worth the cash I paid for it

Faults:

First thing was the thermostat and thermostat housing, including surrounding hoses. This was causing car to slightly overheat at long stops.

A slight rattling noise started to sound under the car, right below the passenger.

Finally, the recall of the ball joints.

General Comments:

Aside from a little maintainence, this car runs beautifully and is a very pretty looking car. Responds very well to my sometimes heavy foot.

I don't see why so many people complain. Just fix a few bugs and it's a wonderful car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Yes, my Sebring looks nice, but reliability wise it is not worth it

Faults:

The first problem I had with my Sebring was that the compact disc player broke. I could no longer play compact disc's and that was all of three months after I bought the car. I also noticed that the paint was wearing off of the top of the molding on the door. Instead of replacing the molding the repair shop tried to touch up the paint - a four year old could have done better with white out.

The next problem with my Sebring was the brakes. The were squealing incessantly and when I took the car in (with only 25,000 miles on it) I was told I not only needed new brakes, but also new rotors. When I questioned this, I was told that it was normal to replace the brakes at 25,000 miles. To top it off, the brakes continued to squeal and still do.

After the brakes, it was a speed sensor which caused my check engine light to come on. Of course when it was towed in to have that repaired, they graciously informed me of the ball joint recall, and repaired that at the same time.

Now, two weeks after the speed sensor, my driver's side door handle broke. Again, took the car in for repair and was told that it was not covered under my warranty. I guess that car handles falling off is something that just happens as the car gets older???

And the hits just keep on coming...

General Comments:

My car before this was a Toyota Corolla. It was 12 years old with 175,000 miles on it and it ran like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Would not buy another

Faults:

Battery went out 3 weeks after purchasing.

Passenger side door panel fell off.

Brakes squeaked and had to replace the discs.

There is currently a popping noise heard under the car when I turn. Need to get that checked.

General Comments:

Not very happy at all.

I've heard the same complaints from other Sebring owners - same things have gone wrong.

Major mistakes in the building of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXI 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34620 miles
Most recent distance34720 miles

Summary:

The most awesome car I've owned yet

Faults:

Nothing yet...

Cup holder spring is sprung.

Someone scratched it.

Um, no complaints...

General Comments:

I don't know why anyone would complain about this car... basic maintenance will keep it from falling apart.. It is a fine, fine vehicle and mine drives like a Lexus... if you get one that is bad... give it back and get a new one... they are worth it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1998 Chrysler Sebring Coupe LXi 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired438 miles
Most recent distance39300 miles

Summary:

I have no words to express my opinion

Faults:

I bought the car 07-03-98.

Since 10-99, the brakes were the first thing to go.

The sunroof failed.

At 22,000 miles the bottom of the car began to feel like it was falling out, everything from the steering column to the struts have been replaced under this nightmare of a car.

The side cladding on both doors has fallen off and had to be replaced.

The trunk latch will not work to open the trunk from the inside, nor will the key open the trunk easily.

The front panel is too low on the pavement.

The entire back bumper has had to be replaced, all of the original paint came off the back bumper.

The steering in this car is unreal, it feels like it is not safe to drive, and the service departments are on their last nerve.

General Comments:

If you come in close contact with a 1998 Chrysler Sebring LXI... HIDE YOUR WALLET!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

7th Mar 2001, 10:25

Apparently you got a lemon... none of that stuff has happened to mine and it is like driving a brand new car... mine is a 1998 and the only thing wrong with it is the console drink holder spring broke and I think that was about it... did you ever check to see maybe if you did get a lemon? Ask around.

21st Apr 2001, 05:36

Can you tell us what color your Sebring is and did the paint come off the body or just the bumper? Thanks.

18th Jun 2003, 11:51

Dude, I feel your pain, The same thing has happened to me, except the brakes. I did some research and found out the retainer clip toward the front wheel that holds on the door panel had a technical upgrade written up regarding installation, if you ever have to have the panel replaced make sure the service people use epoxy to help hold the clip in. This will insure the integrity for hmmmmm... at least another month... Sorry about your luck Man, I'm going to sell mine to someone I don't like...

29th Mar 2004, 14:22

My 98 Sebring was the second Chrysler that I owned. Unfortunately buying the second one was just as big of a mistake as the first. My first Chrysler, a New Yorker,1990 was bought used when it was a year old. By the second year I replaced the brakes, front end struts, and the trunk pull down motor- By the third year I had to replace the steering column and then the water pump and the distributor as the car would stall any time any place anywhere-The current Sebring has had the "door repair" which lasted about a month and the front struts had to be replaced. The brakes lasted about 2 years and were replaced, the sensor for the fuel pump had to be replaced and now I find that I need new tie rods on the front end- once that is fixed it will be sold and my next car will not be a Chrysler

!

20th Mar 2010, 20:48

Hello, all of these things are normal maintenance. If you don't want to fix any car, take the bus!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews