1990 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Carb Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A future classic - Citroen's original hot hatch

Faults:

As expected, all 4 wheels corroded.

The pistons in the rear brakes went.

Apart from wear and tear, nothing really bad.

General Comments:

I'm impressed - fast and reliable.

Doesn't corner as well as some people think, my girlfriend's Ford KA handles better. But they are getting on a bit.

You must fit a PiperX filter and if possible a full system with 4-2-1 manifold, you will notice it.

These cars do need looking after - I change the oil every 2000 miles, HT's every 6000 miles etc. Be careful where you park them - they dent like a Coke can!

Good examples are becoming hard to find, it will be a future classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2002

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 twin-choke from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 twin-choke Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Cheap and bloody quick off the start

Faults:

C.V. joints.

Drive shafts.

Brakes.

Side mirror adjust rod snapped off.

Radiator pipe burst, messy.

General Comments:

Wicked little car in 1st and 2nd gear. So quick.

Uncomfortable if you are tall, like me.

Most things that are made of plastic rattle or squeak. Bloody annoying.

Lovely noise from the engine if you put on a K&N bolt on air filter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Great fun and largely reliable

Faults:

The mirror adjustment handle broke.

Electrics are very unreliable.

Loss of fluid from the front left brake.

Dash lights went in the first week of ownership.

General Comments:

Immensely fun to drive in the city - no-one beats you at lights.

Tinny, easily dented - wouldn't trust it in a serious accident.

Evidently not hard to steal - just had it nicked after 6 years of excellent service!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles

Summary:

Lightweight box of fun

Faults:

Head gasket blew.

Radiator had to be replaced.

Radiator pipes had to be replaced.

Hand brake stuck on in cold weather locking one of the rear wheels.

Brake caliper needed replacing.

Wheel bearings had to be replaced.

Dodgy electrics (windows, brake lights).

General Comments:

My car may have been an example of a lemon, but it was extremely unreliable. It was so much fun to drive though that this made up for it.

Interior is cheap and plasticy, and body wise this is not a strong car. Brakes are quite poor. None of that matters though - the essence of this car is that it's huge amounts of fun, light, fast and the engine sounds great and begs to be spanked!

Handling is fantastic!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance70600 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

High performance - low cost racer

Faults:

Nothing as yet, the previous owner didn't need any major components replaced.

General Comments:

Shoddy build quality on the interior. Central locking, electric windows, heater, windscreen washer all stopped working and had to be fixed.

Wine bottle holders instead of speakers??? Bad interior.

0 - top speed in no time, seriously good fun to drive, beats most hot hatches especially Novas. Will give anything a run for its money.

Bird puller.

Low insurance bracket, cheap to run/buy.

Always sounds like it wants you to go faster.

Light as a feather, good handling and cornering

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2001

18th May 2001, 17:39

You've summed up the axgt in a nutshell there... mine kicks ass!

There even better modified though!

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

Fast but crap

Faults:

Well the clutch cable snapped.

The electric window decided to stop working.

The gear linkages went and the brake pipes split, which was dangerous.

The boot only started opening when it felt like it.

The head gasket blew, then one month later it went again taking the cylinder head with it.

I also found that the engine mountings were loose.

And it needed new shocks. Other than a couple of air-locks, I think that's it, but I could be wrong.

Oh yes the seats no longer lift up unless you are the world's strongest man.

General Comments:

This car is more than fast especially on acceleration.

However mine broke down about 3 times a month so I didn't feel the full benefits.

This car is made out of paper foil - probably why it's so quick, however if you crashed you'd probably die.

No too bad on fuel, but you spend more on fixing it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

27th Mar 2001, 08:58

The seller either saw you coming or you have exceptionally bad luck! I've owned 3 AX GTs with no trouble at all. I even crashed one at 65 MPH into a Volvo and walked away unscathed. You are unlucky my man, unlucky.

14th Apr 2003, 06:41

I agree with the first comment, I've had 2 AX GT's and had nowhere near as many problems as you list. They must have seen you coming mate!

26th Jun 2007, 20:49

I'm sorry to say you would probably die in crash. I crashed one at 25 into a Land Rover who decided to do an emergency stop, and the car was trashed at only 25mph. The Land Rover was fine.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews