1990 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1990 Citroen AX 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Diesel engine should never have gone into production

Faults:

Everything, head gasket problems mainly.

General Comments:

Engine is a rubbish design. Just asking for problems - diesel with aluminium block and wet liners causing head gasket problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

31st Aug 2001, 13:39

I have a AX 1.4 TRD and I have the same problem with the head.

11th Jul 2005, 15:46

I'm from Italy. I have bought a car (if we can say it's a car) like this in the 96's and I have changed its engine two times. Actually it's seem to require a new engine every 60.000 Km; about one time every three years.

Nowadays I use it just for carrying my children to school and when I return at home the temtperature's light has became red.

I think that an engine like this should have been withdrew from the marked at the beginning.

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 twin choke petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 twin choke petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Nothing since I've had it (touch wood).

Seems very reliable

General Comments:

Very nippy - I leave SR's around the town. Body is very flimsy. Safety is very poor. Pretty comfortable though but revs high once you get past 60. Twin choke gives a nice little kick-in at certain revs. Looks good, average handling and moderate braking. Economical as well when not ragging it.

For the price and insurance bracket it is one of the best small sporty cars about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Good all round car.... good to impress the ladies

Faults:

Brakes tend to be limited, the stopping time is poor compared with the acceleration.

General Comments:

Quite a good car - with exceptional performance - I would recommend this to anyone who wants a small nice looking car with lots of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

31st Dec 2000, 23:11

The Citroen AX GT is a wicked little pocket rocket. I have had mine nearly three years and it has been very reliable even though I have given it a good thrashing!!

22nd May 2001, 10:27

I've had my AX GT for 10 years now! It's never broken down and still blasts off the line better than anything else in its class. Handles motorway driving easily too. I love it (I also own a BMW 3 series 1.9 16V, but I prefer the AX!)

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles

Summary:

Top hatch!!! What are you waiting for??

Faults:

Nowt!! Touch wood!!

General Comments:

Canes all the normal boyracer's cars (205, 106, XR2, GTE, SRii etc.), funny as f*ck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFord Escort XR3

Summary:

XR2 Beater with no effort involved

Faults:

Head gasket blew, electrical problems. Fuel filler hose has rusted so it won't lock, Doh. Electric windows don't work as well.

General Comments:

I quite like the GT. It is fairly rapid. Still get whipped by anything bigger than a 1.6 though. Handles like a shopping trolley but it's OK once you get in a straight line and boot it. Mines running at 80 bhp. Get a Janspeed Manifold and system, K&N and a rolling road tune and you're looking at 100 bhp.

Which is what I am planning next. Use the alloys off a Saxo and you've got nice handling too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2000

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance68750 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa 1.2 LS

Summary:

Cheap to buy, cheap(ish) insurance, loadza fun, but watch out for spares and repairs

Faults:

Only had the car about 6 weeks and all ready all the brakes have had to be replaced, the starter motor died, had a problem with the carburettor, the oil and air filters have both been replaced and so have the spark plugs.

General Comments:

From my experiences with the car (which are somewhat limited) it seems to be very quick for a 1.4. Quite economical as well - as long as you don't rag it. Far too many rattles and things falling off inside but that's only to be expected with a car this age. Still well worth the money if you're a young driver looking for something more sporty than your little 1.0l Nova or 1.2 Corsa (as I had). For me it was a toss up between the AX GT, 106 XS and the Nova SR 1.4. Think I picked the right one of the three. It blows the pants off the SR and, at half the price of the XS, is a steal. Ride height is way too high but is it worth sacrificing comfort for looks??? Of course it is!!! Just wear that extra pair of pants for the padding - U never know they might come in handy for your passenger - 0-60 in 8.7 secs is hardly snails pace and could prompt even the most hardened passenger to dirty their pants...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews