1990 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1990 Citroen AX Splash 1.0 E from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 E Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A light little speed box

Faults:

The only problem is the weak boot, if you strain it the glass shatters.

General Comments:

It's very fast for a 1.0, it's so much faster than all the other 1 litres and it's faster than a modded 1.2 Nova.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2001

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTi Turbo

Summary:

Three words: fast cheap dodgem

Faults:

Speedo doesn't work (gearbox fault).

Brakr servo gone, poor brakes.

Passenger seat loose and the driver's seat doesn't tilt back.

Rattles inside and out.

Front fogs don't work and the interior light works only occasionally!

General Comments:

Very quick for a 1.4.

Lovely interior, seats are very comfortable.

Handles well for standard suspension.

Gearbox selector is baggy and worn as I imagine they all are.

For under £1000 it's a bargain. Haven't spent a penny on repairs... Yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from Portugal

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carRenault Super 5

Summary:

A kart with 5 seats!!!

Faults:

Ugh! My car has been stopped for 2 years! I had to replace a lot of things: Shocks, shocks, cardan, etc! I spent about 150000 Escudos, that is in pounds £500.

General Comments:

Very, very fast car! I only see TDi's in the mirror :) I love it! Looks like a kart!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

12th Jul 2001, 17:18

And probably the TDIs see a lot of parts flying from your car... one of these days you could destroy a windshield or so.

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

A French flyer

Faults:

This is a long one.

Alternator packed in two times.

Starter motor needed reconditioning.

New fuel pump.

Passenger seat came loose from the floor.

Major water leak from the rear window.

Fuel gauge gives a faulty reading.

Rusted just below the fuel cap.

Needed new headlights.

Centre exhaust snapped in half (going over speed bumps too fast).

Fog lights stopped working.

Cylinder head gasket needed replacing.

Valve stem oil seals needed replacing (using 2 liters of oil every 1000 miles).

Passenger door handle snapped off the door.

Driver's seat starting to come loose from the floor (will have to weld it back down).

General Comments:

Once working properly this is a very fun car to drive, very fast for a 1400 and not bad on the petrol.

I have had so many things go wrong with mine in the last 6 months that I nearly sold it. But now it is running sweet and nothing is going wrong (touch wood).

If anyone is thinking of buying one, here are some of the things you should do:-

Lower the suspension.

Get a new back box.

Put on 15 inch alloy wheels (but remember they're 3 stud).

Buy a K&N air filter.

Then you will have one nice looking, fast car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

27th Nov 2000, 06:44

Your car sounds like a very nice car but I wouldn't touch it with a 40ft barge pole.

25th Dec 2000, 16:51

Does anyone know how to lower an AX GT? I was told I would have problems because there is a torsion bar at the back.

7th Sep 2004, 08:04

I own an AX. You can easily lower the rear torsion suspension, but ensure that both right and left are adjusted to equall ride height or oversteering is unavoidable.

9th Nov 2006, 09:55

Hi how do you lower the back end of a citroen ax gt cause ther are two bolts which one do I do?

9th Nov 2006, 11:16

Take both out.

The back end will fall on the ground, and you can drive around showering sparks everywhere and impressing spotty 16 year old girlies.

17th Nov 2006, 07:07

Hi I was wondering if the bar you take off was the one with the allan key head on it?

1990 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10700 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carFord Orion 1.6 GL

Summary:

A car that will take you to 60 mph in less time than it takes to read this line

Faults:

Warped brake callipers.

CV joints replaced.

Riveted the body kit on because I don't want to lose it again.

Annoying rattles and squeaks.

General Comments:

When you buy an AX GT, buy a bible too, you will have plenty of time to read it when you're trying to go from 90 to 0 mph.

Try to avoid sheets of newspaper and flies when you're driving, they will dent the bodywork.

On the plus side, it's so fast it will make your eyes bleed and it's not the worst looking car in the world either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

2nd Mar 2002, 16:50

Don't worry about newspaper and flies, just make sure you don't sneeze by it. I sat once on the bonnet of mine, took me some time to get the dimples out I can tell you!! but I still love it, even though I would die if I ever had a crash in it.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews