2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 10 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A little pocket rocket that will surprise bigger fish

Faults:

None as yet because I collect the car in 3 days.

General Comments:

When I test drove the VTR it seemed quite rapid but I didn't really get the chance to open it up.

The handling was superb, there was no body roll at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2002

21st Jan 2002, 15:23

I assume you will be updating this review? Oterwise how can you possibly comment on the reliability and running costs of the car?!

24th Jan 2002, 05:19

My husband bought me a new VTR for Christmas only because he wanted it!! However, I've taken it under my wing and I love it. It's fast, responsive and although I'm no spring chicken, when I get behind the wheel, I feel like a born-again teenager! The only downside I've come across is the spongy brakes but these seem to have settled down and now I have total confidence in the little devil. GH.

25th Jan 2002, 09:40

I too found the brakes a bit spongy when cold, but when warmed up they became really responsive. So much so that my Dad had a drive and nearly put me through the windscreen by mistake. When driven very hard they never faded once.

9th Feb 2002, 11:12

Same person that wrote the review- I've now had the car for 2 weeks and I love it to bits! The handling is superb and every time I put my foot down, a great big grin forms on my face! I find the manufacturer's 0-60 MPH time a little inaccurate. I believe it's quicker, I've sped away from many a BMW and Mercedes! Top little motor!

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1895 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

For the price there surely is no car to touch this little Citroen rocket

Faults:

Clutch needs adjusted. Gear change a little sticky sometimes.

General Comments:

This little car is great fun to drive and the handling is sublime.

It really is a performance car and demands respect when driven hard. Acceleration is bordering on scary. Plenty of torque to be had which is nice considering the engine is only a 1.6 16V.

Economy is perfectly acceptable and it is by no means a fuel guzzler.

I have had 3 Citroens and have never had any major issues as regards build with any of them. My VTS needs a slight clutch adjustment, but that's all. Everything else is working quite nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A top little motor, well worth its weight in gold

Faults:

Not a great deal went wrong with the car.

Interior passenger door lock began to rattle within the first week.

The speakers blow if you turn the volume up higher than setting 7.

It was 2 months old and I had just run it in, it was parked outside my place of work when an elderly gentleman drove his automatic into the back of it, which then shunted it down the road into 5 other cars. I was amazed to see that his car and all the other cars were only slightly damaged while my Saxo had been destroyed. The damage costs were £4500 in parts and £2000 in labour. The car is now a "total loss" and I am still waiting for the insurance (1 years free with Citroen) to sort it out. Needless to say they I am happy with the car, and the dealership, but the insurance service is terrible.

Is this car fragile?

General Comments:

Acceleration is incredibly quick and it sticks to the road like mud to a blanket.

It looks great, smells great and drives.. well you guessed it.. GREAT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2001

16th Dec 2001, 09:48

Did the Citroen insurance give you a courtesy car as it was the other driver's fault? Thankfully I have had no problems, but initially contacting the insurance people by phone was a nightmare. Free, but at what cost in time and inconvenience. Will be going to Direct Line who in the past have been excellent.

17th Dec 2001, 10:13

I had a prang in my 2001 VTR last month causing over a grand in damage inc. labour. I also have Citroen Free insurance. They take forever to answer phones, are very friendly and polite, but once I submitted the quote for the repairs I heard nothing after being promised someone would call. 9 days later I called them they still don't know whats going on, "seems to be some confusion about this" they said. By the end of call they authorised the repair.

27th Mar 2003, 05:54

I am 20 years old, I am looking at buying a VTR in the next few weeks, but the insurence is at 1400 pounds, can anyone tell me which company is the best for insurence?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews