2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 6 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19555 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles

Summary:

Very high performance

Faults:

Front right tyre needed to be replaced.

Drivers side door had a bad rattle, but has stopped for some reason.

The biggest problem at the minute is that if you stop at traffic lights or in any traffic the rev counter has a mind of its own and starts jumping all over the place, called the dealer and was told that the ecu unit needs reseting. This will be done in the next few days thankgod.

General Comments:

The car is great.

Its very fast and can beat most cars.

I have done about 6000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

18th Mar 2004, 02:07

I have owned a Saxo VTR for 2 years now, and I love it! It may not do 140mph, but try keeping up with it on the twisty B-roads!!!

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

High performance car - Very low performance dealership

Faults:

How I wish I had read around on the web before purchasing a Citroen Saxo. Seems there are nothing but problems out there - and mine is no exception to the rule. Juddering when idling, rattling noise from engine, strange noise from brakes... sound familiar?

Starting with the dealer, who when I purchased it promised to switch back and front tires around, but only managed to switch one - causing terrible wear on one side. This was then replaced, but only with a cheaper model of tire, as apparently, the more expensive version, and the one originally fitted when I paid for the car was not available anymore.

I have had nothing but trouble from the dealer, and the aftercare support is quite simply horrendous. Backtracking, unobtainable paperwork, ineffective repairs. Never, ever again will I be wasting both my time and money with Citroen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

2001 Citroen Saxo Furio 1.4i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4i 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Nice name, nice looks, nice inside, BAD performance

Faults:

The passenger seat is loose, but makes the ride more exciting for the passenger.

Wasn't ticking over correctly.

General Comments:

This car looks nice still sporty, but just without the alloys, but when some are brought the car looks just as good as a VTR.

The performence is quite slow 0-60 in 11 seconds its below most little sports car even a Clio 1.4 beat me. My foot seems to be right down on the accelerator all the time for it to get going. Top speed isn't much good even it was about dead at 100mph. When taken the RPM over 30 its get very very loud as if I'm killing it.

This car is o. k for someones 2nd car or a girl racer as my girlfriend likes it, probably because of the interior,like the bright yellow locks and gear stick.

The seats are also low to the ground which adds to the sports feel and they are very comfortable!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2003

11th Aug 2006, 19:12

Only 100mph and noisy after 3000rpm? My Furio is 6 years old now and is still very quiet. It will do 100mph no trouble, and go on to 120 if you have a stretch of motorway long enough. Maby there is somthing wrong with yours?

12th Aug 2006, 04:01

I can't believe this little 1.4 will get to 120 mph under its own power, maybe if you had a long enough stretch down hill. But realy 120 mph is reserved for the VTS, even the VTR won't do 120 let alone the furio.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

106 Gti Slayer

Faults:

I had a problems with the airbag light it stayed on all the time and there was a problem with my Steering it clicked on full lock, all after 4,000 mils. But the dealer sorted this out quite quickly.

General Comments:

The VTS is good fun it handles great and seriously rapid, it can beat a 106 GTi with ease trust me!

Only problem is the insurance, group 14 why? It isn't twice as fast as the VTR (Well maybe it is!!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

2nd Jun 2003, 06:40

There exactly the same car.

8th Jun 2003, 17:13

It's just Saxo drivers. I overheard one in the pub last weekend saying his standard VTS "did a TVR Griffith" off the lights the other night.

I presume he woke up shortly afterwards.

15th Jun 2003, 19:27

Yeah, my dad has a TVR Griff (one of his previous cars was a 106GTi (engine was on its way out (big end) at 9000miles!). He mentioned that a few Saxo drivers have tried it on. He also said that the Saxo driver must have put his brakes on, because when he put his foot down, the Saxo became a dot in his mirror. I have a Civic ESi and whilst its close, it does beat the VTS and is more reliable too. Get one of them!

RAW

17th Jul 2003, 05:26

They are the SAME car! How hard can it be to understand?

7th Aug 2003, 16:18

I've got a VTS, "Y" Reg. I had problems with the airbag light staying on too, but got it sorted out. The only thing that worries me about the car now is the temp gauge showing a bit high when going round town I wonder if this is normal?, anyway, considering selling it soon.

28th Dec 2005, 18:55

"It can beat a 106 GTi with ease trust me!"

It can beat a TVR with ease too!!!

Seriously, they are almost the same car, so saying you can beat it is like saying you could beat another Saxo...

11th May 2010, 04:50

One difference is the handling; the 106 GTi was voted 3rd best front wheel drive handling car, and the Saxo VTS wasn't even in the top 10.

11th May 2010, 09:47

Is it not true that a 106 and a Saxo are basically the same car? Isn't the GTI the same as the VTS with regards to engine, gearbox and suspension?

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews