2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 17 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance700 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Very sexy

Faults:

After a day or two of owning my Saxo the paint on the right of the bumper started to peel off, but has now been re-sprayed. Apart from that nothing, the odd rattle on the passenger side, but it's nothing to worry about.

General Comments:

The VTR is very quick, it will keep up with most car's, it sticks to the road on bends, inside the car there is a bit too much black (could do with some chrome).

I would recommend buying one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

23rd Mar 2001, 11:55

My Saxo paint also came off the driver's side of the front bumper.

Power in my W reg I think is pathetic, really slow, I've now got a K&N induction, Mongoose exhaust stainless and I still think it's PANTS.

4th Apr 2001, 08:15

If you think the VTR has pants power (which it doesn't all things considered), then get a VTS like mine (if you can insure it)!!!

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance410 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo VTR

Summary:

Quality is not the best, but excellent performance

Faults:

Seems to be a lot of rattling coming from the doors and dash, my VTR seemed better built than the VTS.

The car cut out on me at some lights for no reason, I was low on fuel but I'm sure I had at least 10 miles left in it.

General Comments:

Good performance, having owned a VTR I appreciate the extra power. The VTR was quick up until about 3500rpm and then flattened out, the VTS takes off at about 4000rpm and keeps on going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

7th Feb 2001, 07:40

Sorry, but I'm afraid I don't agree. The Saxo VTS is miles better than any other performance car in its class!!!

11th Feb 2001, 19:24

I disagree, even though I own a VTS I actually test drove the VTR, and for quality I think it was better than the VTS.

14th Mar 2001, 13:50

Oooh, the infamous cutting out for no reason at the traffic lights! sorry to tell you, I had the same problem, 1 year on and 16 visits to 2 Citroen garages (3 of which were 1 week long) I still have the same problem. Plus I think I will now be getting a rather large legal bill coming along as the court battle commences!

Hope things work out better for you than they did for me!

Kef.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance400 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Ride the lightning

Faults:

Low rumbling vibrating noise coming from the engine compartment, very noisy hydraulic tappet cam followers when started from cold.

I hope to get all this sorted at the first free service.

General Comments:

I'm still having to abide by the manufacturers handbook guide at the moment and I don't go more than 2 thirds on the rev counter, until I got 800 miles on the clock.

But apart from that the performance and acceleration is awesome, very scary.

Sticks like glue on the corners, I have never driven anything that handles like this before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

30th Jan 2001, 17:58

I have a VTS and it seems to rattle a lot from the dash and doors, anybody else have the same thing?

My VTS is a 2001 model with 410 miles on the clock.

1st Feb 2001, 22:49

Getting a bit of a rattle from the passenger door when standing still.

2nd Feb 2001, 17:47

I have a very, very annoying squeak coming from somewhere in the cabin of my 2000 VTS. The dealer doesn't want to know. Pity, 'cos it's really spoiling what should be such an enjoyable experience.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews