2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 11 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Real fun to fly

Faults:

The RPM fluctuated when idling after the car was warm, especially with a high electrical load, sometimes as much as 1500 RPM. Dangerous if it drops as you pull away from a junction though the engine never cut out.

General Comments:

In the dry the car was quick and the handling was very predictable, a true joy to drive on twisty roads.

Driven with a light right foot, 45 miles per gallon can be obtained for the daily commute, but it's a true test of willpower to go slow.

Thrashed hard for 6500 miles, the car displayed none of the quality problems stated in some reviews.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2001

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

Problems with the gears

Faults:

I has to get a new clutch as changing gear was difficult.

I still sometimes have trouble changing gear when the car is cold, and often makes a clunking noise. Does anyone else have this problem?

Apart from that the car is fine.

General Comments:

The car runs very smooth, and has nice acceleration and top speed.

The cabin is very basic, but well set out.

Overall, a nice car for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

30th Oct 2001, 05:22

The gear change on my '98 VTR is very notchy and clunks into gears. Most of the time selecting reverse takes a few attempts. I recently had a peugeot 106 courtesy car (which is basically the same) that had only done 10k and the gears were exactly the same.

30th Oct 2001, 07:28

I test drove the VTR and VTS and both had fairly "sticky" gear shifts. I commented on this to the dealer who replied, "I don't see what your talking about". I bought a 2001 VTS and the gears are generally OK from 1-5 but reverse sucks badly at times - even when your foot is rammed against the floor it still grinds. My girlfriend has a 'P' plate 1.1i and her reverse is also pants. Never noticed a difference during cold weather conditions.

CS.

1st Nov 2001, 09:45

Yup.

I have a 2001 VTS and I've had to get the clutch adjusted on my numerous trips back to the dealer. Everything is sorted now and it's a very quick car.

Stuck on a set of 16" TSW EvoR alloys for added effect, rub the arches when reversing though!

Gear change is crap, getting into reverse is still a pain, and it's jumped out of gear a few times. French cars are not renowned for smooth boxes though.

12th Nov 2001, 10:01

Same problems, my 98 VTR doesn't like fifth that much and tends to jump out when dropping revs on the motorway, also just had to pay £350+ to get my head gasket replaced at 55,000. Common problem, I've been secretly told by the man behind the desk!

Ed.

20th Dec 2001, 06:47

Bought my car, a Saxo VTR, as new in OCTOBER 2001. It was OK for the first few weeks. But now can't get into first quite often when cold.

In the process of booking it in now.

Any idea's what is wrong (clutch cable)?

15th Jul 2004, 16:04

I own a saxo on a y plate 2001 model I have just had a problem with the gear lever gone very sloppy and cannot get any gears any idea???

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa Sport

Summary:

A steal at 12k, pity about the build quality.

Faults:

After 6500 miles (approx) the oil has hit minimum levels - had to top up with 1 litre. Phoned Citroen with my concerns - they claimed this was normal. No oil at 6500 miles normal??? Has anyone else had this "problem"?

A grinding noise from the front left wheel area after 2 weeks old was corrected at the first free service - when I asked what the problem was and what they did to fix it I was told all the mechanics were on lunch!!! - I haven't bothered getting back to them as the problem has been resolved.

Loads of rattles in the cabin - back left seat belt, front left seat belt, left airbag area - quite poor build really.

General Comments:

Excellent performance and handling overshadowed slightly by the constant rattles and squeaks - I generally play my music loader now!

The dealer kept me waiting for ages while he "spoke with his manager" as I haggled a respectable price for my previous car. Had a little trouble getting the colour I wanted initially, however did keep in regular touch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 09:54

Hi.

I've got a 2001 VTS with 6000 on the clock. Your no-oil is suspect and mine is fine as far as I can make out. It's been back to Citroen Glasgow 4 times under warranty, but they sorted everything out. It seems that some Citroen dealers are excellent and some are crap.

I'd ask your dealer to check your engine. They have to, take your case to Citroen if you're having grief.

Seat belt hangers rattle in mine too, I've had them adjusted three times but they still rattle.

I do play my music a bit louder too, but I've got a Suzuki GSXR600 which makes the most amazing howl, so I'm half deaf now.

Doh!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews