2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 14 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance322 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Too early to decide

Faults:

When first starting the car, the engine sounds sweet, however after a short run the engine sounds like a diesel. Does anyone else suffer this fault?

General Comments:

Still running in the car, but performance and comfort are quite good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

24th Oct 2001, 02:13

I've also noticed that from cold the engine runs smoothly but after about 5 minutes of running (up to normal operating temp) it sounds as if the tappetts are rattling away! Not what I'd expect from a new car.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission VTR Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance163 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Great car, great speed

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I was wondering if some people could help me.

There are no problems with the car, but just a few questions for the experienced owner.

The temperature guage is usually on half way while driving and my previous car (Ford Fiesta 1.1i) only hit half way when stuck in traffic.

Is this normal?

Also the fan comes on most times after driving and is quite loud, is this OK?

The car is great though and goes really quick.

Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

19th Jun 2001, 08:47

This happens on my VTS and if you read previous posting then this appears to be a common problem. It's normal and is another quirk of the VTR/VTS along with the magical fuel gauge.

Great cars, but I'm selling mine next year to get a Boxster as I'm tired of people in XR2's trying to race me even though not much beats the VTS from the lights.

Waiting for enraged postings from the odd few.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance750 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

Well good car for a well good price!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet, not even passed the 800 mile mark so I'll need to keep my eyes and ears peeled to see if anything happens.

The only annoying thing I've noticed though, is the fact that the fan keeps coming on about 5 seconds after I turn the engine off!!! It never seems to come on when I'm driving!! (mind you, my musics up to loud for me to notice if it does, ha ha).

I've only had the car for 1 week and knocked up 750 already!!!! I think I better calm down a bit eh?

General Comments:

Generally a top quality car, it's the mkII version and it actually turns quite a few head believe it or not! The performance is excellent compared to my last car, a Rover 100 Knightsbridge SE. I had to rally that car to get some decent speed out of it, and that totally guzzled the petrol, but with the VTR, the performance is there when I need it, so there's no need to rally it, therefore it hardly drinks any petrol at all!!! I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

27th Jun 2001, 06:49

Had the same rev problem on mine, although this was generally when the engine was restarted (thus still warm).

The dealer fixed it for me on my 1000-mile service. You need to let them know that it is happening and they should be able to fix it for you.

Just to let you know, it hasn't happened since and my car has now done just over 3000 miles.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance400 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap, fast, fun and damn sexy, very good value for money

Faults:

Nothing.

Power steering seems very loud though. Only 400 miles, so remains to be seen. I have faith.

General Comments:

This car IS seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

Very, very pleasantly surprised.

Takes on most comers in the same class.

Dash illumination is really cool.

Good looking car. My next one will be a VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2001

15th May 2001, 15:49

You've only just got it and you want a VTS, give it a chance? I think you're easily pleased, any way good luck!

23rd Aug 2001, 13:59

Well I've now done nearly 4000 miles and I'm still very happy. The only problem I've had was that on a hot day, due to expansion and a mirror cut slightly too big, the passenger wing mirror fell out of its surround. I took it down to my dealer who fitted a new one, there and then. My local dealer seems more than willing to give me a decent service. Would still recommend this car to anybody. :)

2nd Mar 2002, 16:35

To be honest, I don't agree with the power and the handling.

I drove the Saxo before my Saab was uprated and the 0-60 time was close, but mid-range, the Saab ate it for breakfast.

Power, for me in the Saxo just didn't excite me.. yeah, quite a torquey engine, but has no guts where it matters (mid-range). It is quick for a 1.6, and it weighs as much as a matchstick, but just not fast enough.

Although saying, it's a good handling little motor, a little harsh and a lot of body roll. It just didn't stick to corners very well at speed.

If you want handling from a small car, go with an original MINI! None of this BMW stuff!!

I own a Saab 900 turbo 16s with a 240bhp engine upgrade and full racing suspension, will beat a 285bhp Impreza on the motorway, out-handle just about anything on the road.

This car is so fast, it is unbelievable and cost me less to buy, insure and upgrade than a Saxo.

But if you like the Saxo's, fair enough. They just don't excite me.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews