2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 2 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo Forte 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64187 miles
Most recent distance73810 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Glad I chose this instead of a Corsa

Faults:

Typical things really; rear wheel bearing and brake disks replaced - I think most Saxos are known for having spongy brakes.

The heater is unacceptably loud when the the blower is turned on full. I don't know if it's a fault just with my car, or if all Saxos do this.

No other problems.

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with this car. Before I purchased the car, it had being slightly modified. Fitted with VTS arches, alloys and a CD player.

I have since had an Urban X back box and sub fitted, so it's quite a smart car really. Sounds alright too!

Performance... Well what can I say, it's a 1.1 8v. It's not going to win many races, but if I give it some, it accelerates quite well up to about 80. After that it feels a bit strained, although I did get 105 out of it on the motorway.

Handles well. Fun to drive.

Build quality could be better. Don't think it would hold out to well in a crash!

The pedals are close together, slightly offset, not a problem once you get used to it.

The seats get a tad uncomfortable if you're driving for long periods.

Very economical, as are most cars from this class. Cheap tax and reasonable insurance.

When you take everything into consideration, I think this is one of the best used superminis around. It's no sports car and isn't stuffed with fancy gadgets, but it's nippy, fun, cheap, and mine has being very reliable.

Being a bit of a speed freak, I just wish I had the VTR or VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

24th Aug 2007, 11:55

Get a standard, low mileage VTR. You'll enjoy it.

26th Aug 2007, 08:58

Yeah I wouldn't really want one that's been played about with too much. VTR's are generous on insurance too, group 7.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Saxo's are great cars, but need better immobilisers!

Faults:

My immobiliser will not turn off, to allow me to start the car.

I use the car regularly throughout the day, and then all of a sudden I'll get to try and start it to drive away to my next destination, and it will not start; The orange key symbol shows on the dashboard.

I take car to the garage through the RAC, who leave it over night, and it starts normally first thing in the morning. This has happened 3 times now in the last 2 months. I have been advised to get a new battery, new fuse board, which I have had done, and also had water redirected away from the car under my bonnet by a Citroen garage.

The minimum time I have left it after the car will not start is 1 hour and a half. It then starts again on first try.

I also have a Clifford alarm fitted. When I unlock the car with the key fob, I am given 1 minute before the Clifford immobiliser kicks in. I turn the ignition so that the battery light come on, I then press the unlock button and the whole dashboard lights up before I can turn the ignition on.

The Clifford immobiliser seems to be working as when I press the button, all the symbols light up on the dashboard, but the key symbol flashes. My manual tells me that this is a fault/error with immobiliser.

Anyone please help! Any advise will he greatly received.

General Comments:

The car runs great. I have had few problems with any parts.

Have replaced the exhaust and radiator, which I expected to have to do within a year or so of purchasing the car.

The car does leak water, which garages have told me could be anything. The water is always on the driver and passenger floors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

4th Aug 2007, 18:11

Hey, I have a Saxo 1.4 with a similar problem. When I put my ignition on, the immobiliser light flashes, not letting me to start the car. But sometimes it will start first time. Do you know what it could be?

5th Aug 2007, 11:03

I have a Ciroen Saxo 1998 (Expose 1.1) and the orange light with the key symbol also does the same on my car! It just flashes when starting and you can't start the car. Then when it decides to go off the car can be started again. It's weird!

Any help would be useful if you know how to rectify the problem!??

Cheers.

Ben.

14th Apr 2008, 12:30

Got a '99 VTS with exactly the same problem; I take the key out of the ignition, lock then unlock the doors, put the key back in the ignition, and hey presto! Works every time with me.

Dave, Aberdeen.

25th Jul 2008, 14:13

Hi original poster - I have exactly the same problem - did you ever get it sorted - tried the lock/ unlock bit but it never worked.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews