2001 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 4 of 17

2001 Citroen Saxo 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Excellent drive, very fast, but doesn't have the strongest bodywork ever, so try and avoid crashing

Faults:

Nothing major has actually gone wrong with the, that would not be expected and that also couldn't be rectified.

I have had a new clutch and gearbox, which wasn't cheap, but is an inevitable problem that will eventually occur with most cars no matter how new.

Lately the car has been stuttering whilst in motion, and only when the accelerator is down.

I beleive this is due to often running on low fuel (seeing as I spent over £800 on the clutch and gearbox), and left over substances from the fuel have been regurgitated through the fuel filter and through the engines system.

This could be easily rectified with either a new fuel filter or a thorough clean of the fuel filter itself.

The problem can be prevented by trying to keep the fuel level as high as possible.

General Comments:

Other than the minor problems with my fuel filter, the car has ran like a dream.

It can take off as well, leaving many trailing cars in it's dust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

25th Jul 2006, 12:02

You are joking right, 53000 and a new clutch and gearbox are inevitable replacements?

I got over 63,000 out of a Metro clutch, gearbox and waterpump, and that was still going when I sold the car, and that was a real BL pile of crap, still better than french built cars it seems.

I drive a Honda Civic now, so I know about true engineering genius without the vain badge snobbery that goes with it.

26th Jul 2006, 16:50

My Citroen ZX is still on its original clutch and gearbox.. at 147,000 miles.

11th Dec 2006, 07:51

I get a knocking noise on the rigth front wheel most of the time.

2001 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance60884 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Great machine until modified

Faults:

Loose body mouldings.

Temperamental Engine management fault.

Rear axle failure.

Squeaks and rattles that are almost impossible to identify.

General Comments:

Very quick, hot hatch (0-60 7.5 seconds) And surprisingly I've had 136mph out of it.

Overall money well spent. Shame rear axle went, due to the car being lowered (as Citroen advised)

The bill was estimated at £1250. In the end I sourced a second hand vts axle for £235 complete with suspension arms, which took me 7 hours to fit. Which was great considering Citroen quoted me 8.8 hours at £58 an hour!!!

Excellent car, but beware, when lowered it puts stress on the pin bearings in the rear axle. Good rear axles will be in demand soon as around 70% of all vtr/vts are lowered. ONLY TIME WILL TELL!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2006

2001 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Does what is says on the tin..

Faults:

Power Steering pipe perished - meaning ALL fluid was lost from the power steering resevoir in less than 5 minutes. Apparently this is quite common on this case as the steering arms rubs the pipe when on lock....

General Comments:

Overall the car is not bad at all. It's very economical and therefore cheap to run, though being a small car it is quite noisy.

Handles very well but to be honest the brakes could do with some serious beefing up - there is not much bite when you hit the pedal. Also, on my one there is no ABS, I have not had a car without ABS since '99! Would've thought all cars had that as standard by now!

The boot is not up to much - you can't even fit a golf bag (with clubs in obviously) flat on the floor - so you have to take out the parcel shelf.

Build quality doesn't seem that bad. When I close the door I get a nice "clunk" not a 'ting' which you get on some Renaults. The interior seems to be holding up well (no creaks) despite the car being given quite a hard life b me, as most of my journeys are down potholed country lanes. I avg about 42mpg per tank, but on a 250 trip to Lancashire, I averaged 52mpg - this is diesel territroy and I must admit this surpirsed even me. 250 miles and I could hardly put more than £17 worth of fuel in....

I needed a cheap car to run and this has done the trick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

16th Jan 2006, 06:52

Further to my above report on the Saxo - I have to add a couple of things I missed out.

The seats of the vehicle are fine on a shorter journey, but on a 200mile+ trip, you will find yourself stopping - not for fuel or food, but because you are SO uncomfortable.

Also, had my spare tyre pinched on Friday night (as it is stored under the car in a cage) not pleased. Yes I could have paid £90 for a security thing from Citroen, but reckon that it should come as standard... Still doing 45mpg each week on short runs...

24th Jun 2009, 16:47

102,500 miles and still going strong. This thing is as reliable as an Ox! Avg 45-50mpg, both rear swinging arms need replacing (according to the MOT centre) but it still passes! I've had two Citroens and they've both been great.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 56 reviews