2002 Citroen Saxo forte 1.1 from UK and Ireland


This car is not worth a penny


Brakes are not up to scratch, airbag dose not work, the whole car is really poor and unreliable, This car was not worth the money that was paid. Also Ctroen insurance are not very helpful when trying to deal with them.

General Comments:

This car is really uncomfortable and is like a tin can. (easy crushed)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2005

6th Mar 2005, 04:12

Brakes are fine and do the job for the weight of the car otherwise the manufacturer wouldn't sell the car would they? And if the car is really uncomfortable then why buy it in the first place...

11th Jun 2006, 15:29

True comment, my saxo is very comfortable, reliable and brakes are sharp as anything. I guess that is your opinion on the particular car you had, doesn't mean all saxo's are the same.

12th Aug 2006, 11:39

The saxo's brakes are spongy so it makes them feel crap. But they are actually very good in my opinion. Try stopping as fast as you can from 60mph on a FLAT road, and you will be surprised.

2002 Citroen Saxo Desire 1.1i from UK and Ireland


A fantastic small car


Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I picked this car up from the dealer in March 2002. Having already owned an R reg Saxo, I was offered a good part exchange deal.

First of all, the bad points:

Servicing can be extremely expensive - the first service was free (to make sure that the car was running OK). The 12500 mile service cost over £150, and the recent 25000 mile service cost over £250 (thought that price included new brake pads).

Spare parts are easy to find, though aren't always cheap. Genuine Citroen parts are extremely expensive. E.g. £120 for four 14" wheel trims. Someone ripped/kicked off my driver-side mirror one night, it cost £85 to replace at the Citroen garage (excluding the colour panel!)

The front seats can become a little uncomfortable on long journeys.

The brakes are quite spongy, both on this car and my previous Saxo. Drive a Saxo, then drive a different car, and you will certainly feel the difference.

The interior dash seems a little tacky, it could be better.

The car becomes quite noisy at any speed above 75MPH.

Power steering is noisy (you can hear it).

The good points:

Good fuel economy.

Quality engine.

Excellent handling, and excellent acceleration for a 1.1 engine. It can reach 100MPH without any problems, though anything over that would be pushing it (unless you're going downhill! :-) It is often underestimated by morons in larger cars - the whole "I don't want to be stuck behind a small car!" mentality means that they will do anything to get in front of you, even if you're going 90MPH+

Great looking.

Good resale value - though it could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

26th Jan 2005, 06:23

My Sister purchased a Used CN52 reg Sept 02 Citroen Saxo 1.1i Desire 3 DR Artic Steel with only 18,500 miles on the clock and it had the silver dash kit, Citroen Sport Gear Knob, Pedals and fuel Cap included for only £5,000. She purchased the car from a local Citroen Dealer in April 2004.

The Citroen Dealer wanted £120 for a 30,000 miles service. So I made a few phone calls and a local garage who is VAT registered can do the same service for a small sum of £78. Which is great.

The Wheel trims are a nightmare. They are to thick for the tyres. I just spent £13 on a new one for my sister. The wheel trims were better on My V reg Feb 2000 Citroen Saxo 1.4i SX Auto 5 Dr Poseidion Blue.

2002 Citroen Saxo Desire 1.1i from UK and Ireland


Nice little first car, but too many problems


Had the car 2 weeks and got broken into.

Front brake are grinding when I stop.

Struggle to put it in reverse.

General Comments:

Then after 2 months the front pads went so got them replaced £58 And drove it after a few days it makes a grinding noise when I brake. took it back to garage and they charged my £50 for brake service to remove dust and grip, then drove it out of garage and it still grind, took it back and they said nothing was wrong with it and I just had to keep bring it back to clean brake dust.8 times I have been back in 2 months. I have been told it needs new disc's by a friend, but the garage don't think I do!!!

Wanna take it to another garage, but the garage I go to is where the car has its warranty with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th February, 2004