2002 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland


An economical pocket rocket


Passenger seat would not lock in position after tilting the seat forward. This was repaired under warranty, but should really have been picked up on the pre-delivery inspection.

During cold weather I noticed that the windows would mist up badly. After a bit of a rummage around I found the carpet in the drivers foot well to be wet. A leak was traced to the bulkhead seal which was again repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

It sticks to the road like s**t to a blanket.

Performance is more than adequate and fuel economy is good as long as you don't drive like a dick all of the time.

As it is only in group 7 the insurance isn't too bad.

As I only paid £7344 (in black, including mats, locking wheel nuts and delivery) for the car, it is one of the best bargains I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2002

15th Dec 2002, 20:46

Had the same probs with misting up. I cleaned the windows, some the dealer didn't do! sorted it. I found the VTR quite slow really, VTS is the one to have except for the ins group-14!

As for the way you drive it-they're designed to be driven by dicks!

2002 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A very good car, shame about the crease


The car itself is a good all rounder.

I have bought 2 one for myself and one for my partner, after 2 weeks motoring we noticed both cars in the driver side rear quarter there is a crease in the panel. Cars are going to be looked at by dealer. This seems to be a common enough fault. The worst crease is on the saxo furio. This may be because it's a lighter color and more visible.

General Comments:

If anyone else has this problem then please make a comment on this site.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

27th Dec 2002, 11:44

I Bought my VTR in September this year and I also have a crease in one of the back panels. Also underneath the pillar at one of the doors there is also a crease/mark visible only in direct sunlight, but you do have to really look for that one though.


7th Jan 2003, 07:12

Yes my saxo vtr, gained these creases on the rear panel connected to the back arch, almost straight away, I went to the dealer they said it's a common problem and nothing can be done.

9th Feb 2003, 11:12

The crease in the rear panels is supposedly where the 'glue' fixing the panels has contracted 'sucking' the panel in. I have had these re-fixed on my VTR and all is fine. This is a design fault.

26th Mar 2003, 10:47

Yes you are correct. I noticed this on my VTS after a few weeks, and was convinced it had been involved in an accident and was a poor repair job. Only after seeing a number of similiar panels alike I realised it was a manufacturing fault. However if is not as easy to see on mine, only in direct sunlight when the car is shining!

2nd May 2003, 02:44

Hm.. 2001 VTR appears to have developed these creases on both sides as well.

Is it worth asking Citroen body shop to fix them? Or will they just fob me off with the 'common problem' answer?

Not too obvious in shade, but quite obvious in sunshine.

4th Jul 2003, 04:01

My 2002 VTR has the creases as well, but they only appeared after I took the car to a hand wash. I think the creases are caused by the extremely thin nature of the metal in that area which buckles when pressure is applied to clean the panel.

21st Aug 2003, 12:59

I bought a Saxo Furio brand new at christmas 2002.

And yes mime has a crease too on both sides I am currently taking legal action and will up date you all.

9th Feb 2004, 03:39

I have had exactly the same problem with my 2002 vtr. The dealers fobbed me off about that's the way it is meant to be.

It is only visible in direct sunlight, but somewhat annoying.